We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Essence - CLOSED

Essence
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Essence restaurant is based on a high quality food prepared only from fresh ingredients according to original recipes. The meals are simple and just based on used foodstatuffs and ingredients. Selection of high quality wines, friendly and nice atmosphere, helpful and well-informed service are the basic characteristics. We prepare for you birthday party, corporate party, wedding or graduation in buffet or served meals style. Essence restaurant is located just 10 minutes from downtown and it is very easy to get there. We believe that you enjoy not only fabulous food but also relaxing atmosphere in which you want to return. We look forward to your visit!
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

So I needed a nice place for a little family celebration. Based on reviews here i decided to try the Essence restaurant. I have made reservation calls for restaurants many times, but none other call made me look forward to visiting the place as much as this one. I was able to speak with the chef, customize our menu and everyone was just right mix of friendly and professional.
It was really an excelent experience. The food and the service once we arrived was just flawless. I can higly reccomend the degustation menu, each course lets you try something new and it doesnt cost too much by international standards (about 15EUR/400CZK per person, 4 courses). Definitely the best food in the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaaJa_cz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    17
    3
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one!”
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Yes, this is a bit off the tourist trail, and HIGHLY worth it. The beet caprese salad, pumpkin apple soup and the shrimp/chutney appetizers were outstanding. We enjoyed the chicken/risotto, flank steak/potato and tagtiatelle mushroom pasta for dinner. Oh my - everything was exquisite. For dessert we shared chocolate fondant w/ fruit. We've been here a week and it was absolutely the best dinner we have had. About $25/pp. Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HBKGLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
447 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Second time even better”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Having visited Essence first on my own last summer, this time I had my boss with me. Like me he enjoys good food and cooking and wanted to eat a high quality meal whilst in Prague on business. He was not disappointed! Our 3 course meal was outstanding. Highlights were the butterfly prawn starter in coconut milk with pickled pineapple and ballatine of chicken with risotto. The Czech white wine ("Green") was very good, so good we had a couple of extra glasses as well as the bottle. Service (as before) was charming and helpful. Best of all for us visitors from the UK was the cost of the meal - around £55 for two. Although it is some way from the tourist centre I do recommend that you walk or hop into a taxi or tram and make your way to this "essence-ial" eatery!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Googly2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a special occasions”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We had a great evening with amazing food. Sevice was very nice and attentive. I have to appreciate the atmosphere and attitude of all the staff. Recommend to all who are looking for a place where will be well taken care of

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MichalPurnoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfectly amazing food, but took so long”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

We visited essence as a family, the food was amazing and cooked to perfection however took us so pong to get our food!
But it one of those places where u get amazing food with reasonable prices

Helpful?
Thank MAFEgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Essence also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing