We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively restaurant with nice staff and good food”
Review of La Republica

La Republica
Ranked #619 of 6,580 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Nove Mesto (New Town)
Description: Traditional Czech restaurant offers marinated sirloin, roasted pork, goulash, smoked meat and fish from our own smokehouse. We offer 50 kinds of beers and live music every evening. Interior has inspired by ages of First Republic (1918 to 1938). Come and enjoy a real Czech classic cuisine.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For our final night in Prague, my wife and I wanted to eat at a nice restaurant not too far from our hotel. Our tour guide had included La Republica on his list of recommended eateries so I made an on-line reservation request the day before, received email confirmation rather promptly.

The place was literally hopping when we arrived, two guitar players on the balcony loudly jamming away to various songs. We were promptly seated, noting that all the other tables were occupied, certainly a good sign!

My wife truly enjoyed her cabbage soup and the large duck salad she then had for a main course. I opted for the smoked sausage, two sets of two linked sausages which arrived luke warm but at least were tasty.

Including a glass of Reisling and still water, we found the 673 CZK charge to be quite reasonable.

So, an overall good way to end our visit to this magical city!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank petergoode2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, Manažer at La Republica, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for writing this wonderfull review. We're glad you enjoyed your time here and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,842)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 1,842 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Being in Prague by business, we have visited this restaurant. High ceiling, live music, massive oak tables, leather sofas - proper atmosphere. Beer is great, especially iconic Crusovice. Food is simple, tasty and solid ... very solid, I would say gigantic portions. Good place, recommended!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank SL-Sergey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, Manažer at La Republica, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for writing this wonderfull review. We're glad you enjoyed your time here and we hope to see you again soon....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019

Despite it being a busy night we received great and friendly service and the food didn't take half as long as they warned us that it would be. Would recommend it for tasty ,casual food and nice atmosphere (great musicians on the night we were there) .

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Nike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, Manažer at La Republica, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for writing this wonderfull review. We're glad you enjoyed your time here and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2019

Stopped for lunch on our way back from a tour. I had the grilled vegetables and my husband had the goulash. Both were excellent with amazing flavor! Prices seem a bit on the high side, but we really enjoyed the atmosphere of the place and they were playing great music! The service was good as well. In our opinion, it was worth a little more money.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank CStewart826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, Manažer at La Republica, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2019

Thank you for a lovely review, we are happy that you liked it here )))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2019 via mobile

Relaxing yet interesting atmosphere which included live music.
We stopped in for a beer and snack and ended up having 3 beers 4 shots of slivovica, (plum, cherry, apricot and pear).
Picked herring made in-house with onions and peppers. A nice size size salad with fresh ingredients.
It came with a good portion of nice European rye bread.
Our waitress ,who had spent some time in Ireland, was very fluent in English, and was very nice and helpful.
We will go back whenever possible and highly recommend this restaurant/pub.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank KoalaNotABear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S, Manažer at La Republica, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2019

Thank you for writing this wonderfull review. We're glad you enjoyed your time here and we hope to see you again soon.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Republica also viewed

 

Been to La Republica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing