We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant food, taste of Austria in Prague”
Review of Kocar Z Vidne

Kocar Z Vidne
Ranked #611 of 5,470 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian, European, Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Brilliant food, taste of Austria in Prague”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The modern day Czech Republic used to be part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire, as I explained to my mother when she asked why we were going to an Austrian restaurant on our first night in Prague. We'd arrived late, got to our hotel at around 9pm local time, and were famished. Luckily, this restaurant was only a minute's walk away. The food was exceptional, service attentive and all in all very good value. We had for mains the lamb and a beef option, and for dessert, the Viennese chocolate cake and Imperial pancakes along with homemade hot chocolate. The main were very good, the desserts were terrific. We were going to go back if time permitted; alas, it didn't.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ANS321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    70
    24
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“All perfect ;)”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Nice restaurant, tasty food, very fast and good looking waiter ;)
I love Prague, will be back , see you soon . Thomas

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Happiness in the Summer Sun”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

After sweating it out on our climb to the Prague Castle, we found this treasure in the shadow of the Charles Bridge. The service was friendly and efficient, the food was outstanding and the surroundings peaceful in the crowded city. Escargots was tasty, kid's schnitzel was plentiful and the chicken skewer with rice was one of the tastiest meals I had during 5 days in Prague. You can't go wrong. Enjoy!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank equinoxAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wow.. I just had the best Wienerschnitzel”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I love this restaurant. I just had the best Wienerschnitzel ever.. Warning!! One order is definitely enough for two people. Great beer of course. You have to order the ginger lemonade. It is a non alcoholic beverage. It is extremely refreshing

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dmasdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plzen
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hard day? Invite your partner to quite place with nice kitchen”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Do you like 19th century Vienna atmosphere? Do not hesitate visit Kocar z Vidne, nice delicious kitchen, friendly family service, quite place few steps far from Charles Bridge. Every time perfect, good value for your money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jiri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kocar Z Vidne also viewed

 

Been to Kocar Z Vidne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing