We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite a hotel but not a hostel either...”
Review of NYX Prague

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NYX Prague
Ranked #184 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not quite a hotel but not a hostel either...”
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

As we booked a dorm room, we expected this place to be a little like a hostel - it was very modern and spacious but there were some downsides.
- the lockers in the dorm room don't work. It's a design fault and even when you put a padlock on it it can still be opened quite easily.
- there is no kitchen. Although the soup shop downstairs is very cheap. The restaurant downstairs is quite expensive and had literally one vegetarian dish.
- the bathrooms are terrible. Once someone had a shower it was completely unusable as the floor became flooded. It was really gross.
- there is no common space to chill out later at night. The one common area which is part of the soup kitchen closes at 10 and when we asked where we could hang out in the hotel they said 'in your room.'

On the plus side the staff are very friendly, the rooms are huge, there are other lockers behind reception to store your stuff and the location is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ad413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NahDja, General Manager at NYX Prague, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Ad413 :O)
Many thanks for your review, we appreciate you spreading the word of fusion. As the name suggests, we are fusion! I will look into the items that you wrote in your review, to make sure that we can improve our services. I will also look into the flooding of the bathroom, which is not a standard feature as a service to our guests. Again many thanks for spreading the word and happy travels! All the best from tropical Prague, Nah-Dja, aka The boss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    461
    170
    65
    41
See reviews for
273
436
97
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I never stayed in a hostel before, but this was actually a pretty cool experience. The ambiance was incredible. Cool designs, awesome breakfast included in our stay, walking distance to everything you need. The beds were kinda small but whatever. The shower was spacious. The room was clean. Only bad part was there is NO AC so just a heads up before you book. We had to keep the window open, and since the room faced the street, it was kind of noisy at night.

I would definitely recommend this to anyone visiting Prague (aka the BEST city in the world!)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed in the FUSION HOTEL in Prague from the 12.8-16.08.2012 and we had such a great time!The hotel is only 4 month old so everything is very clean and new.Some light bulbs are missing but thats no deal.It´s a modern minimalistic,thought trough and practically styled hotel.
We had a double room on floor 4.It is very central located and we had a room to the inner court so it was not noisy at all, you can even see some major attractions from the window.The celings of the room is high and the bathroom has a rainshower!

The staff is extremly helpfull and nice, they really go the extra mile! The breakfast is great and the restaurand Epopey serves very tasty food with different action weeks for example- italian cuisine. They have a great bar which turns 360° and you can smoke shisah,dance,chill or snack. They even have a skype box where you can chat with your friends abroad. Wifi is for free !
We found a great deal on the internet so what we all got for our money was very good.
All in all we would come back for sure, and since this is my first review I write I recommend it for sure.

PS:
Thanks again dear FUSION Staff, as well for finding our Passports!
Love from Munich

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PattyPetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Fusion Hotel is a very different hotel than all the hotels we have been to so far. Overall our stay was good and the following was what we liked:

1-Design: It is ultra modern giving the feeling of youth, recently renovated in everything, and also refurnished. Even the colors chosen for wall painting are not common, the 360 bar is nice, the kitchen/Restaurant decoration is quite different.

2-Cleanliness: Room is very spacious (REALLY) and also very clean, we are a couple but the room can take easily 4 adults playing hockey :-) The hotel in general was also clean in all the other areas

3-Location: The hotel is in a perfect location as it is a really central (2 mins walk and you are in the action) but it is a quiet area. Also easy access to public transport.

4-Breakfast: OK but not very special

5-Technology: Loved the MAC touch public computers in the lobby, plus the hotel employees they are all equipped with IPADs :-)

6-Hotel is manned until late night, we arrived at 4am and we found a receptionist.

-=-=-=-=-

And this is what we DIDNT LIKE:

1-House Keeping: Really annoying! This is our comments:
a>The sheets got dirty but it was not changed the following morning. I had to throw it on the floor to make it obvious that we want it to be changed.
b>Toiletries were not refilled for three nights, but what was annoying is first time we asked reception they sent the house keeper, that barged into our room without even knocking, and the second time we asked we never got anything.

2-Air Condition: Our stay was in August and we had very hot days, the room lacks an AC which might be a luxury but opening the windows was really noisy and provokes the privacy as there is a another hotel just across the pavement. Nevertheless, the only way to keep the window open was to fold the curtains which meant light into the room early morning.

3-Room Facilities: The room did not have ANY of the following:
a>Hair Dryer: We asked for one and was promised to get as soon as it is available but during our 5 night stay we didnt get anything. They have shared dryers among the entire hotel guests (first come first serve bases)
b>Privacy: The room does not have even have the door label for Do Not Disturb, we had to request it and we found in our room when we returned back. Also, the door does not have a locker. We called the reception to ask and was provided instructions in locking the door using the card which never worked. Later when we spoke to another receptionist he said that not all rooms are equipped with this feature. So there was NO way to lock and the only thing we could do is to put the DND door label.
Note: The house keeping barged into our room TWICE while we were inside without even knocking.
c>Communication: The room phone has no guide on access numbers, I had to call the reception from my mobile on their external number to know that the extension is 980! We couldnt find a directory in the room like other hotels.

4-Lights: The lights in the room are little in my point of view. In fact, you cannot have any silhouette close to your bed if you want to read or see something. the only 2 lamps working are close to the room door.

Overall we liked our stay and we will go again to this hotel but we hope the hotel gives more attention to this stuff as it will make the stay much more pleasant.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on Panska street to have a less noisy ambience
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LetMeLive_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NahDja, General Manager at NYX Prague, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear LetMeLive_2012.
Many thanks for sharing your fusion experience with the world. Much appreciated. I will have a good look into the comments that you wrote in your review. As for some of your points, we are working hard to get a good room directory together so future guests will not have the same problem as you had. We will also have hairdryers available in all the rooms and we are working on the lights as well. The DND sign should have been in the room and I apologise it was not. Each door is equipped with a button on the inside of the door on the card lock system. This button will will alert anybody that you do not want to be disturbed and will refuse any cards! I will do a new training of my colleagues! All the best from fusion, Nah-Dja aka The Boss.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in an 8 bed dorm. Loved everything and the location was perfect. We were sold tickets for a pub crawl which was the best one we did all of our times during our europe travels. Our bathroom was a little flooded but no biggy and only two of the lockers in our room locked. But would definitely recommend for the young traveller! Thanks Fusion!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reims, France
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

As I come very often to Prague, I was looking for a cool place and I really found joy in this incredible hotel. Rooms are clean, racy and innovative. The team will provide you with a warm and attentive welcome. Book and try out, believe me, you will not regret it ! I've been to Fusion twice and will be back again soon !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, NSW
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This hotel has an edgy feel. The staff are so friendly and have the time to chat and get to know you. It has a sort of backpackerr type atmosphere, young people everywhere, a good placeto meet people but at the same time is well appointed, I loved the. Breakfast room and the layout of the ground floor entry. The rooms are clean and modern, but basic. really good value for money. The hallways aes done with blackboard paint and everything is written on walls with chalk which is illuminated. Soup kitchen yummy and so cheap. Location was awesome.
On the down side, there was no air conditioning in our room and quite stuffy as I was there in summer. the hallways are dark because of blackboard paint, so a bit disconcerting if you are a young female by yourself. floors are painted cement Which felt a bit like a jail cell but that was sort of part of the charm I guess.

Room Tip: Ask for a Room with good ventilation if going in warm weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojoshopaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#67 of 649 in Prague
1,780 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
987 Design Prague Hotel
987 Design Prague Hotel
#168 of 649 in Prague
1,212 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#64 of 649 in Prague
2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel UNIC Prague
Hotel UNIC Prague
#27 of 649 in Prague
1,612 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
K+K Hotel Fenix
K+K Hotel Fenix
#152 of 649 in Prague
1,702 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#72 of 649 in Prague
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NYX Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYX Prague

Property: NYX Prague
Address: Panska 1308/9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NYX Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NYX Prague is perfectly located in the centre of Prague. The pedestrian zone, Municipal House and many cafes and restaurants are just around the corner. You will benefit from very convenient transport connections, just a few minutes walk away from the hotel. The concept hotel NYX Prague features all the modern conveniences you need including free Wi-Fi, delicious breakfast buffet and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your NYX Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing