We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Communism & nucelar bunker tour”

Prague Special Tours by Ivan Galik
Ranked #125 of 523 Tours in Prague
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Prague Special Tours was established by Ivan Galik,who himself has been a tourguide for more than a decade here in Prague offering tours for Prague visitors with a different focus on this city, more than the general sightseeing but going deep under the skin,or under the ground in some cases providing tours, which in general no other companies have in the offers. Focus on specialised topics with a direct approach made us to one of the fastest growing companies in tourism business in Prague.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Communism & nucelar bunker tour”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our family of four went for this tour and it was really interesting, very good ! The guide Ales, was fluent in English,knowledgeable and engaged in the subject. The bunkier part was quite eerie..thinking a bout all the effort spent in planning for the obvious madness of a nucelar war..

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thomas1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    24
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Another Great Tour”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is our third time going on a tour with Ivan of Prague Special Tours and, once again, we were very impressed. This time we went on the underground tour and it was very interesting. There is a large underground city under the present day Prague which one would not discover without ivan's expertise. We highly recommend using Ivan's company if you want an interesting, informative tour. He has a vast knowledge base of Prague's history and his English is very easy to understand. Thanks, again, Ivan, for a wonderful tour....Vanessa and Charlie

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I'm very familiar with Prague, so coming across this was a great surprise and what a brilliant way to see unusual aspects of the City. Youthful enthusiasm rules rather than dogged experience and this adds to the fun. Go see the nuclear bunker, try and remember the places you've been taken to for underground Prague - hint 'National Gallery'. Well done guys, long may you prosper!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank zebrafin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beer tour and Ghost tour review”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We (my wife and me) did the 'beer tour' second time, yesterday evening. First time, we did in December 2011, so let me start with the first tour. That time all together 6 participants attended including us, and Ivan Galik himself lead the tour. The tour was not just informative, but also interesting and funny too. The atmosphere was great, Ivan is a really cool guy and the others were also a great company for the whole night. At the last stop, we stayed much longer, about 3 hours more. Ivan was very good, factual and funny in the same time, and he knew how to deal with the people. We already knew that the next time we go to Prague we will participate again, and maybe we check another tour as well.

So this weekend we went for the 'ghost tour'. Ivan was in the office when we got there, he recognized us which were quite a nice surprise after almost 2 years. He told us that he might lead the beer tour next day, so we promised to participate again next evening, but we were already sure about that anyway. Let’s go back to the 'ghost tour'. It was lead by a lady, called Dorina. She did her job, however the jokes and the way she communicated was not as good as expected. It was a bit teacher/lecturer style and the tone was a bit strange, felt we were treated like children. The group was about 13-15 people, which might not easy to handle but at some stops we did not hear anything because of the street noise. Her dress was cool though, and two times some other dressed guys came to the group, which might have been more funny, if they would try at least to scare some of us, not just show up and do basically nothing. This tour was a bit disappointing, however if you are interested to listen some legends about Prague, it might still worth a try.

The next day, yesterday, we went for the 'beer tour' second time. Our leader was Jan, a young guy with a great sense of humor, he did the tour really professionally. We visited 3 places again, the first two stops were the same like in 2011, third stop was different. The tour includes basically 4 beers (3 small one, and one large), but you also have the opportunity to buy some others at any of the places. This time the group was huge, 23 people, but at the end we were lucky and found great company, a bunch of guys/ladies from the US, and we stayed 2-3 more hours on the last place, then we also went together for another bar, so we had such a crazy night like last time.

All in all, the beer tour is highly recommended, absolutely worth the price, and it is a great opportunity to meet with new people, and has lots of fun combined with some unique Czech beer. If we go to Prague again, the beer tour won't be missed for sure.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miklos_Flori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Communism and bunker tour”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Very informative and well done tour. David knew his stuff and was most helpful. Top class tour, really interesting. Get you photo with a AK47 is a must.

Paul from East Yorkshire UK

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Prague Special Tours by Ivan Galik also viewed

 

Been to Prague Special Tours by Ivan Galik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing