We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant we always visit while in Prague”
Review of Stara Doba

Stara Doba
Ranked #879 of 5,506 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: European, Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Neighborhood: Nove Mesto (New Town)
Charlotte, NC
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Restaurant we always visit while in Prague”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I wrote a review a long time ago, which seemed to have disappeared, so I am writing another one. This is a restaurant in Prague where we always have a t least 2 meals while in Prague. Great choice of meals, inexpensive, absolutely terrific ambiance, just perfect. We are already planning another visit for March 2013.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    35
    11
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nettuno, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A lovely place in the new town”
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

I visited this place 3 times this week and day after day I can say that it's a place to visit if you're looking for good food, nice beer and a fast efficient helpful service and all for only some hundert crowns!
This restaurant is very close to the "Dancing house" so if after the meal you want to walk around you just have to step outside!
This place is built on 2 levels, a smoker area at the entrance and downstairs a the non smoker area.
I preferred the non smoking area preferring the corner tables.
The crew speaks English, Russian and German.
Very smiley and fast service.
Modern music is on air, making the atmosphere great!
Food is lovely, I tested always different dishes mixing Czech food with international cuisine.
Grilled meat is always available as in Czech tradition with a large selection of side dishes.
An advice for stroganoff steak lovers, the way to prepare it here is slightly different then in the Russian tradition using salty cucumbers in the sauce.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cinghialott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Each time diffrent”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We 've been in this place twice during our stay. First day -on Saturday we were very glad beceause of the quality of the food, prices, atmosfere, and the weiter. We spend there about tree hours, after very long walk in cold day. We decided for this long walk next day , because of the good memories previous day, and.. well. Th same soup and dishes tasted diffrent -in fact- worst. The weitress was more intrested with her friends then with her job.Next time in Prague, we won't go so far from the center just to know, how is today?

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katarzyna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful and cozy”
Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

Great local food at a good price. A very cozy restaurant with great food and good service.

Helpful?
Thank Keld Pilegaard C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
“good local place”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

A really nice place. Low prices, very afordable, and very money-worth (a full meal + 2 beer, cca 7.50 €). Nice summer garder. The waiters are very kind, and don´t mind fixing something to eat at almost closing time. Food might not be exactly "fine cuisine", but if one is hungry, they will help you get back on your feet with a smile. And for ovo-lacto vegetarians, do order "Grilled Kaskavalj with Grilled Vegetables", it´s gonna be cheesy and nice and you´re even going to get a side order of bread basket for free (and even without asking for it). They have nice and cheap beer too (as many other places in Prague), we (young, vegetarian, artists, couple) liked bright Kozel on tap.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Uffe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stara Doba also viewed

 

Been to Stara Doba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing