We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Moving Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Cyril and St Methodius Cathedral

St Cyril and St Methodius Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.93*
and up
Prague Welcome Card
Ranked #21 of 920 things to do in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This museum tells the story of brave Czech paratroopers who killed SS-Obergrupenführer Reinhard Heydrich in the Operation Anthropoid. Jan Kubiš and Josef Gabčík escaped to this church and the crypt under the church together with five more paratroopers and 20 days later they died here during fight against 700 Nazi soldiers.
York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Moving Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

The crypt of the Church is where 7 Czech Patriots were masacred by the Germans, after fighting a last-stand batte is very evocative and atmospheric. There are photographs and exhibits and the whole experience is very moving. There is also a little bar opposite the Church on the corner of the street, with wartime photographs of some of the British Paratroopers and servicemen, who helped train the Freedom Fighters.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 650Frequenttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    603
    183
    31
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Magor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Important Site for Czech History.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Before I went to Prague I watched an old film that I really enjoyed about the assasination of Reinhard Heydrich, (it was "Operation Daybeak"). The cathedral interior you cannot fully go into here, but you can visit the crypt where the very brave czech paratroopers spent their last moments fighting the Nazis and just outside see the slot in the wall that the Nazis attacked and tried to kill the paratroopers through. There is a fascinating and very detailed exhibition just below the church from which you can visit the crypt and it is still possible to see the machine gun damage inside the crypt and around the wall slot. Particularly interesting was the information the exhibition gave about the aftermath and the terrible reprisals the Nazis enacted particularly on the residents of the small towns of Lidnice and Leznicky. Such a big sacrifice by so many brave people.
Make sure you visit this, it's a bit out of the way but well worth the trip if you are even slightly interested in WW2 and the resistance.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank matthow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great historical site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Really good place - very off the beaten track though... kind of in the middle of no where (in comparison to other sites in the city).

Want some good backround info before you head there? Read HHhH by Laurent Binet - its a great book that details Heydrich and the goings on at the time. (Though note there are lots of informative boards at the site which also tell the story but in a little less detail).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank icecreamgirl7988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Touching”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We visited this place as part of the WW2 Tour. I found it well presented and very touching. Even though our guide had already briefed us on the History of events that took place there, I could not help but read it through. A must see.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jacktwist00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“quite a history but not very well presented”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

The text explaining the whole story is too tiring to read them all word by word, and I had limited time just 25min before they close. So I got sort of lost half way the story and didnt get the details about what happened, but I was able to grasp the theme of it. Would love more if some other media of presentation is available which would easier for people who are not familiar with the history and all those historical figures and organizations. Surely i was totally moved by the story and the atmosphere in the Crypt. And, it's super cheap comparing to other sites in Prague.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Litsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Cyril and St Methodius Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to St Cyril and St Methodius Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing