We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish i checked T.A first.. Rookie mistake”
Review of Mike's Cafeteria

Mike's Cafeteria
Ranked #4,271 of 5,534 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: Czech
Neighborhood: Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Stare Mesto (Old Town)
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wish i checked T.A first.. Rookie mistake”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

In a search for a pork knuckle away from the hustle and bustle of town square .. We followed the music down the romantic cobble stone street and thought we'd found a little gem... Unfortunately we were wrong
Service and atmosphere was fine although the pork knuckle was exactly that... The knuckle covered in a leathery chewy bit of skin not a tender piece insite. Lucky they supplied toothpicks... They were probably charged on the bill too though

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 00lisa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    18
    17
    18
    94
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Mike's "Restaurace"”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

It was a quiet Wednesday lunch time, when we made our fatal error. We should have realised when the place was empty. The British frozen food vendor Iceland has excellent customer service. Unfortunately Mike's half frozen pork knuckle does not come with this. We sent our pork knuckles back twice after discovering their antarctic innards.When we (very politely) declined to pay for these polar czech fusion dishes, explaining why, the waiter was extremely rude, and wagged his finger, and told our most diminutive quiet group member to "sshhh!". Our serving troglodite, devoid of manners or charm, declared this was not his problem and that he would called the police. We promptly invited him to do so, as his pork was criminal, the swine!We paid for all of our other cuisine and beverages, and had a debate with the owner and settled at paying for 50% of our pork knuckles. This was quite generous we thought considering we'd only eaten enough to realise our pork was frozen in the centre. Please avoid this place and go around the corner to Zephyr - cheaper and much better food and service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daneglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mike's fault”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a poorly run place. We ordered the Old Czech Teller, wich was recommended. Sausage and dumplings were ok, the rest of the meat was not that good and partly cold. The waiter was friendly but kind of stressed since he was alone while the owner was sitting next to us playing with his iphone and drinking some wine. Two other waiters disappeared into the abandoned (?) church next to this place taking some heavy tools and a plate with raw meat with them... Some guests left unattended, tired of waiting... I totally NOT recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daniogaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice little spot in the old town square”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

After a late venture into prague town we settled on mikes cafeteria service was ok but a little abrupt which we were getting used to by now but we found the food of good quality and the value not bad definitely a good spot for a snack and a basic evening meal and the guitarist was not bad either

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Majordamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“budget food”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

not exactly quality food. would not really advise anyone to go here, this is budget food! there is far nicer places to eat for the same price!.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mike's Cafeteria also viewed

Prague, Bohemia
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to Mike's Cafeteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing