We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good out of town hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castle Residence Praha
Ranked #251 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2012

When you drive up to the hotel you start to wonder but when you arrive at the gate everything looks great. Everybody was very friendly and helpful and spoke adequate to very good English. The room (air-conditioning) and bathroom (separate toilet) where very spacious and clean enough. The breakfast was varied of an average standard, maybe rather 3 than 4-star. The shuttle to public transport or the Troja-attractions is very convenient and you can get tickets at reception. They have off-road parking and it really is great value for money. We would definitely stay here again on a next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Belgians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 152 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

I recently spent a week at the hotel and had a great time. I found the hotel very nice and a spectacular deal. The staff were always very accommodating and extremely helpful, whether with their courtesy pick-ups/drop-offs at the local tram stop or metro stop, having mass transit tickets available for when you head out, finding a restaurant we didn't have the address for, or providing other random answers.

We had a double room, which was quite large by most European rooms I'd ever stayed in, however maintaining the standard pressed together double bed arrangement. Each bed still had it's own blanket too. This could be a benefit if the person sharing your bed tends to use more than their half of a bedspread. There were no extra pillows/blankets in the room but I'm sure the staff would accommodate if you asked. I would say the general decoration of the hotel is clean, feeling of higher end Ikea.

Mini-fridge was stocked with beverages and a couple snacks with prices prominently indicated. They appeared to be sticker price and not raised to excessive levels.

We ate dinner twice at the hotel, and had coffee/drinks on two other afternoons. Each meal was very good and equally well priced. My first was a really memorable confit of rabbit, with a parsnip mash. Never having rabbit this way before I was really, really, pleased with the sheer succulence of the meat, as well as the intense flavor of it, reminding me of what I wished a Thanksgiving turkey actually tasted like. When I ordered it the waitress informed me that was a common Czech dish-which I confirmed later throughout the week after seeing it or a version of it, on many other menus.

To note, the hotel is not at all in or near the city center. It isn't even a quick walk from the pretty excellent mass transit available in Prague. It is in a purely residential area on the periphery of Prague. They are about 5 minutes or less from a tram stop which will have you in Old Town in less than 15 minutes. Getting back at the end of the night was always more complicated, we were usually looking for the #17 tram, and occasionally misread the schedule, having to transfer at a stop or backtrack. The front desk is occupied 24hrs a day and was able to resolve any doubts though-even picking us up a little after their 2300 cut-off time.

There is parking for the hotel if you rent a car at some point, like I did. They also have free WiFi-though I didn't use it not having a computer on my trip.

The hotel appears very child friendly and over the course of our week we noticed most occupants were families.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MastheadMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

The quietness of the outer circle of Prague combined with an excellent shuttleservice to nearest tram- and metrostation or zoo. Clean swimmingpool and we had a large familyroom for two adults en two kids, large tv and three windows with a view over the garden. With sauna, small whirlpool with music!, bowling, children playroom, good food and friendly service. Very good for families with kids.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoefsmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights at the hotel and it was a very welcome change from the norm. The reception was personal and informative with a true sense for customer care. The rooms are large and well appointed and very comfortable with access to a pool and hot tub on the lower floors. Breakfast and dinner, If you eat there, are in a seperate area from the hotel but it is joined by an internal corridor. We suspect that the catering may be leased out as the breakfast was OK but did not really match the standard of the hotel. The variety was limited and the hot was often just warm where it was not been topped up freshly or regularly. That apart, the hotel is great. They offer you a complimentary shuttle service to the nearest tram station and collection as well. All you need to do is phone the hotel from the tram station. The reality is that it is really a nice walk once you have your bearings as the walk goes along the river.The tram ride into Prague is easy and frequent and all part of the experience of Prague. Definitely worth staying here if you want something different from the normal business hotel. The on site parking is a real bonus. Do not miss out on going to Karlstejn Castle A real gem.

Room Tip: There is plenty of space to relax in the rooms so take a bottle of wine and an opener!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonSteve123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

In our travels, it is seldom that you stumble on a hotel that: 1) customer service and hospitality are truly first and genuine 2) You feel at home even when the home and the home is both chic and classy 3) You are presented excellent value for money. Castle Residence is without a doubt an excellent hotel, one that I can't just say enough good things about. The staff is sincere, professional and go out of their way to insure you are treated with five star hospitality when you are paying substantially less. This is one of those hotels that you will be reading about in Conde Nast or some other well heeled travel magazine that will be touting it as a must to stay at. While you won't find door men and superfluous staff, what you get in return is a visit to a hotel where the rooms are nicely appointed, common areas that make you feel like you are visiting a part of the past, a restaurant that is good value for money and sense that you are in your house and not a hotel. This is definitely not some cookie cutter hotel or high brow bed-n-breakfast where customer service comes second. While you are in Prague (East Side by the Zoo) you are close enough to everything because of the shuttle that Hotel provides to a near by Tram Stop. If you want to try something different, try this hotel, you won't be sorry.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balcony's - ask for one If you have a large group - ask for the building next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcmurrytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We got a very nice family room with a lot of space and fantastic beds. Service was great and the staff very friendly. Good location for city visits and very quiet at night. Restaurant also very good.
Recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dmitriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Gorgeous hotel with extremely friendly and helpful staff. Really made us feel we were living in luxury for a few days. We happened to go in off season, which meant we pretty much had the whole place to ourselves, including the pool and sauna area, which was very relaxing. The room was fantastic, spacious, clean and very classy. Only downside is the location, which is out of the city centre. However the hotel staff had no problem in transferring us to any local stations. Its only because we had a couple of late nights that it made it a bit more difficult to get back, but this was our choice. Definitely recommend this place for a romantic city break. Prague is awesome too.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 4
Chateau St. Havel - wellness hotel
Praha 6
Hotel Schwaiger
Hotel Schwaiger
#362 of 648 in Prague
10 reviews
Praha 6
Silenzio Hotel
Silenzio Hotel
#349 of 648 in Prague
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 10
Park Holiday Congress & Wellness Hotel
Praha 9
Carol
Carol
#236 of 648 in Prague
262 reviews
Praha 8
Alwyn
Alwyn
#180 of 648 in Prague
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Residence Praha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Residence Praha

Address: Kvetinarska 755, Prague 182 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 8
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #251 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: $90 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Residence Praha 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated 18th century mansion is located in the picturesque wine growing area of Prague-Troja. With an easy 15 min. access to the very heart of the famous Old Town, our former wine estate offers the privacy and the space you deserve after an exciting day of sightseeing or a busy working day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castle Residence Praha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing