We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
GJ Residence Na Vinohradu
Ranked #20 of 361 Prague B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Morioka, Japan
1 review
“A Gem”
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for several days. I must say we were delighted with everything--the clean and tidy room, the lovely inner courtyard, the breakfast room, and of course, the owner Jan (who spent many years in the hotel business before opening his own place) and his family. It was our first time to visit Prague, and we were welcomed warmly by Jan and his wife Jarmilla, their son, and daughter Jana (who speaks near-native American English). It is located outside the downtown, touristy area, in a "real neighborhood" with some home-style, neighborhood pubs and restaurants all around. Their maps, printed-out street directions, tram and bus routes were clearly explained whenever we had questions about our day trips (about a 20-minute bus or tram ride into the center of town), and upon our return in the evening, often one of the family members was there to welcome us home and to ask about our day. The fine woodwork throughout the place was also a delight, and I am happy to recommend GJ Residence.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Unher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
83
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Wife and myself, 7 nights in GJ Residence. First trip to Prague...other side of our world...didn't know what to expect for accomodations and transportation. Couldn't have made a better choice. Just minutes away from the center of a mega tourist destination. Away from the crowds and very close to some good places to sit and eat or a supermarket. Jan, and the whole family, are super hosts....will wait on you hand and foot with B&B service and information about Prague. Everyone speaks English. Jan is full of information thru the email before you even get there, he can arrange transportation to and from the train depot or airport along with some of the best tram advise. Don't stress with the noise and crowd in the center of Prague....stay with people who will treat you like family. Neighborhood is safe to walk with families and children around.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kanakaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We chose this place strictly because of the great reviews we read on Trip Advisor. We had never been to the Czech Republic and did not speak a word of the language. This was no impediment to our total enjoyment of this amazing city. The family who owns and operates this charming small hotel always went the extra mile to make sure that we were comfortable and content from the moment we arrived in Prague. Jan, the owner, speaks and writes English well, so we were able to have some of our questions answered beforehand by email.
They arranged to have a sign-holding taxi driver meet us at the train station. Upon our arrival at the GJ Residence Na Vinohradu, we were served refreshments and given maps, tram tickets, brochures and useful information to help us navigate the city.
The room was spotlessly clean. The bed was comfortable. Every morning we enjoyed a hot, delicious breakfast with eggs, sausages, fruits, yogurt, cereal, bread, and lots more. We stayed there a week. Every detail was handled with perfection.
These are very conscientious people who take excellent care of their guests. When we had to make it to the airport for a super early flight, breakfast was prepared at 4:00 a.m. for us and a taxi there by 4:30 a.m.
It IS slightly off the beaten track, in that it is not in the center of the city, but that turned out to be a huge asset. Before and after our sightseeing in the heart of the city, we safely walked all over the neighborhood and enjoyed the great hospitality in local restaurants as well as stores and shops. Our stay at JG Residence Na Vinohradu made our trip! We would definitely like to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizOHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We have stayed here for three days and we had a great time. We came by car and had free parking space. The guesthouse is only 10 minutes by tram to the old city center. Very helphul and warm hosts: they provide you with maps, good advice to show you around and you have a good breakfast very clean and comfortable room at a very good price. We can recommend this place!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 188644Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had stayed 6 days in GJ Residence Na Vinohradu fm 27th April till 2nd May. And the special dish prepared by the Owner himself for breakfast was not once repeated!

GJ Residence is a easily accessible by Tram 17#, or buses within 7 mins walk to the Tram stop or 3 mins to the bus-stop. And the Owner had patiently explained and answered all the queries we had for him every morning. And we find the neighbour was a serene and convenient place with The Penny supermarket within 5 minutes walk from GJ, and best is a break away from the busy tourist city in the night.

We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting this beautiful place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minimushroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Jan is an incredibly kind, considerate and resourceful host. He went out of his way to arrange taxi cabs for us, a laundry service (good quality), and to research for us some of our less common Prague objectives (yoga). We had a very clean and comfortable room. Jan prepared scrumptious fresh breakfasts every morning. We stayed 4 days and loved it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebK643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
navinohraduCZ, Owner at GJ Residence Na Vinohradu, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for your review. We really appreciate your kind words.
Yours Sincerely
Jan Gleza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This was a really great place to stay. Jan, his family, and everyone else we interacted with were very kind and helpful. They even gave us snacks and drinks to bring on the bus when we left. It was out of the center, but it was really easy to get in on the tram, and they sell tram tickets at the hotel. This also lets you see more residential neighborhood with good pubs for beer and food. The breakfasts were really delicious and different every morning, including homemade baked goods. We would definitely stay there again and will definitely recommend it to friends visiting Prague.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett and Bowen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
navinohraduCZ, Owner at GJ Residence Na Vinohradu, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Prague as well as your stay with us.
Yours Sincerely
Jan Gleza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 4
Hotel U Divadla
Hotel U Divadla
#132 of 649 in Prague
573 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,676 reviews
Praha 4
Occidental Praha
Occidental Praha
#205 of 649 in Prague
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Hotel General
Hotel General
#20 of 649 in Prague
1,421 reviews
Praha 8
Hotel Frydl
Hotel Frydl
#26 of 361 in Prague
101 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Dolce Vita Suites
Dolce Vita Suites
#4 of 361 in Prague
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GJ Residence Na Vinohradu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GJ Residence Na Vinohradu

Property: GJ Residence Na Vinohradu
Address: Na vinohradu 217/8, Prague 147 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 4
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 361 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic pension GJ Residence – Na Vinohradu, located on the right bank of Vltava River with excellent transport links - 15 minutes to downtown. Rooms are furnished with stylish furniture and work-table. All rooms include their own bathroom and restroom. Other equipment: free Internet connection (WiFi + Ethernet) and safe deposit. Hotel capacity is 20 beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your GJ Residence Na Vinohradu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing