We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Charles Bridge Economic Hostel
Ranked #6 of 686 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Charles bridge is the best hostel I have ever stayed in. I was with a group of 2 other older ladies. The 3 person deluxe appartment was amazing, although could be a little noisy due to the street noise, the 4 person deluxe appartment was quieter but not as luxurious as the 3 bed. the staff were amazing and so kind. The free coffee and water was the icing on the cake.

Room Tip: THe 3 bed luxury appartment is the one shown in the photos with the beams and in the roof space. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 271 of 486 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

I have stayed at Charles Bridge Economic Hostel from 10/july to 20/july and I couldn't have a better experience.

First of all, the staff is really great. They do everything to give you a nice Prague experience. They know places to visit, places worth eating, offer discount on tours. Everyone there is awesome and put serious effort in the hostel. I shared a room with 6 more people, but space was not a problem - the room had enough space for everyone - also, I had a nice view to the Charles Bridge gate and the street.

The location couldn't be better: at the Charles Brigde gate. Walk out of hostel, turn to your left and there is Charles Bridge.

Free wi-fi, free coffee, free bottled water. Well, I can't complain. This was my best hostel experience so far. 10/10 would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I came to Prague for the first time, unfortunately for the short stay of a mere 2 nights, and booked this hostel based on the recommendation of a friend. I could go on forever about how amazing this hostel was but here's a quick breakdown:

Location & Facilities - step out the door and you are right at the Charles Bridge. No I'm not talking about a 5 minute walk or around the corner. I mean it is literally the 4th or so house away from the old town side tower of the bridge. The house itself is very traditional - you first go through a long corridor which opens up into a courtyard, open staircase to the right, tourist information/reception straight ahead and a little booth to buy concert tickets on the left. Behind the reception you'll find a small internet cafe which is free to use for guests, as well as (and this is important) a fridge with water bottles, again free for guests. Which means if you come, like me, in the middle of summer with 35+ degrees outside, you will need hydration throughout the day, and instead of spending insane amounts on overpriced street vendors, you can always just return to the hostel. I only saw the big dorm type rooms myself, which I think are the cheapest option, but even those were great and very spacious, with big windows opening straight to the road by the charles bridge. There's bathrooms and laundry machines (free of charge and they give you powder if you ask at reception) and a kitchen with the dorms, as well as a living/common room with couch and computer.

Staff - The nicest people you'll ever meet. Whether local or foreigner who got caught in Prague by the beauty of the place, they are all so lovely and make you feel right at home. They will carry your suitcase up the stairs, offer you coffee and tea and water, as well as friendly advice if you're looking for a place to eat. They will also give you maps and vouchers for free/reduced tours (like the segway tours), so you will never be short of things to do!

Price - sure there's slightly cheaper hostels, but not many, and they're an hour walk away from the centre (not 0.5 seconds) and you'll spend the difference when buying water bottles on the long walk.

Other - THERE'S A CAT. And her name is Wifi. So that guests can remember it. She's pretty cool.

Short and sweet - great hostel, made my experience of Prague really outstanding!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juliallamarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed 4 nights at this hostel back in June this year with a group of 50 somthing 'lads'. We booked one of the 4 bed private and self contained options. Room itself was fine for our needs - not plush but clean and tidy and had everything we needed. Beds were comfy and shower was always hot. Two things really sell this place.
Firstly, the location - literally a stones through from Charles bridge, in a street with lots of shops and food outlets. Very busy with tourists by day but quiet at night. All the main attractions, both sides of the river, were in easy walking distance. On balance thought that being on the less busy side of the river but only a bridge away from the centre was ideal. Several places to eat and drink within a 2 or 3 minute walk. We frequented JJ Murphy - just around the corner on Trziste St. - where the staff were friendly and the atomosphere relaxed.
Secondly, the staff at the hostel were great - they could not have been more welcoming and friendly. After a hard night on the Staropramen the free coffee in the morning went down a treat as well.
Would definately stay at this place again if we go back to Prague - which I sure we will at some point.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zigmondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hostel was an absolute stand out of my three month European adventure. The hostel itself was charming, well situated, clean and more like a hotel than a hostel. Each area had its own kitchen and common room with a tv and computer. The female dorm was light airy, spacious and had its own large beautiful bathroom and toilet. The hostel is situated in the heart of Prague right near the Charles bridge, a ten min walk from the old town square. But the best thing sounds the hostel was the staff. From the second I arrived, the made me feel welcome, offering me tea and coffee, treating me like an honoured guest rather than a backpacker. I found at many other hostels that you were treated badly due to being a backpacker but the customer service here was exceptional. I will definitely be back. The only improvements needed are a bath mat in the bathroom bc the floor gets wet and perhaps a dryer to dry wet clothes when you're in a hurry. The only drawback to this hostel is being in a busy location, it's incredibly loud at night ith ll the street noise. Bring earplugs.

Room Tip: Female dorm has its own bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bella330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here for two nights during my time in Prague. Located just a few steps off the Charles Bridge. The rooms are clean and spacious. They offer free wifi, free espresso, free bottled water, and several discounts on different attractions/tours in Prague. The staff is very knowledgeable of any questions you might have. I would suggest bringing earplugs due to the location of the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed in the female dorm for 2 nights and were very pleased with the experience! The staff was very helpful and friendly, and spoke great English. The front door is literally a few steps from the Charles Bridge so the location couldn’t be better. The room was spacious and comfortable, and had lots of character. Everything was very clean. The wi-fi and showers worked well. There is a little grocery market across the street that was perfect for breakfast. The pastries were great! It was very secure… We had to use our key card to get into the area where the rooms are as well as into our room. The only disappointment was that Wi-fi the Cat was kind of standoffish . . .totally a cat. :) We also did the Segway tour that is run through the hostel and had a great time!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daphm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#67 of 648 in Prague
2,345 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#11 of 686 in Prague
782 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hostel Downtown
Hostel Downtown
#7 of 686 in Prague
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 3
Hostel One Prague
Hostel One Prague
#4 of 686 in Prague
414 reviews
Praha 7
Sir Toby's Hostel
Sir Toby's Hostel
#12 of 686 in Prague
517 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Sophie's Hostel
Sophie's Hostel
#9 of 686 in Prague
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charles Bridge Economic Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles Bridge Economic Hostel

Address: Mostecka 4/53 | 118 00 Praha 1 - Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 686 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range: $17 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small charming hostel right in the very heart of historic centre of Prague, located literally right at the Charles Bridge, you can't stay more central. We offer tourist accommodation in recently remodeled and fully furnished apartments. All the rooms are equipped with a kitchen, TV and everything you should need during your stay. Tourist Information Centre in the lobby serves as a reception. We have great LAVAZZA coffee free for our guests and unlimited! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Charles Bridge Economic Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing