We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect way to see the city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pavel's Personal Prague Tour

Pavel's Personal Prague Tour
Ranked #35 of 474 Tours in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: PAVEL'S PERSONAL PRAGUE TOUR. Daily at 11 a.m. Duration: 4 hours - all historic quarters - finger food & 0.5 L beer will be served - visit of the unique 12 century underground palace With many years of tour guiding experience under my belt and with a deep passion for Prague *I specialize in giving walking tours of the historical centre of Prague from a local and personal perspective. My tour last about 4 hours and we take in all the historical quarters of Prague. The wonderful OLD TOWN, the mysterious JEWISH QUARTER, the charming LESSER TOWN and the magnificent HRADCANY TOWN & PRAGUE CASTLE. On our way we also cross the gothic CHARLES BRIDGE. My groups are small, an average of just 6 people which allows really good personal communication. Our tour finishes in the oldest palace in Prague with a fantastic 12th century underground ! In the end you will be served finger food & 0.5L beer. I may even play live guitar songs for you. With warm greetings from Pavel
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect way to see the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had young, dreadlocked Vitas, who grew up in Prague, as our guide. He told wonderful stories and had so much knowledge of present and past history. We ended our 3+ hour walk at the castle and I have to say honestly that it was the best 3 hours of our week there. I can't wait to try this in another city, it seems to be a top notch organization.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bickles27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    30
    1
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
encino, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“great general tour, lots of walking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We joined the Free Tours, easily located in the Old Town Square by spotting the Free Tours umbrella at 10 am. Venca, a Czech, was our guide. Venca was very knowledgeable giving us great detailed information and a fast pace overview of the main areas of the city. Be prepared to walk and walk for over 3 hours, some of which was uphill to Castle Hill. At one point, he asked if we needed to use the restroom or get a quick take away beverage or food. In our ideal group of 6, we all kept up with Venca's pace. Actually, Venca appreciated this and went over and above.

He informed us of many local tips and activities including free events at the end of the trip. We found Free Tours a great way to get an overview of the city and determine what sites you wish to concentrate on. You determine if, and how much you wish to "tip" the guide at the end of the tour. Venca answered any question posed and spoke english very well. Based on this very positive experience, we joined Free Tours in other cities.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rose412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kos Town, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent start to a trip to Prague”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

With the words " Let me tell you a story...." Patel, your tour guide, takes you on a person journey of discovery in this beautiful city. His tour was enough for us to get our bearings. We took his morning tour of the Old Town, the Jewish quarter, buildings of note, a historical run down of the Nazi occupation, communism to the current time. Patel was able to tell the story of these times from the perspective of his family. This made his tour all the more memorable. The tour took around two and a half hours and concluded at the Charles Bridge. After Pavel'sguided tour, we were able to explore much of the city on our own.
We enjoyed this tour so much that we took his afternoon tour of the castle ... But that is another review.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan_Mudjimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PavelMichalovsky, Owner at Pavel's Personal Prague Tour, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you, I do the tours with joy and with some knowledge. I want Prague to make sense.. for the visitor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great tour of Prague- a "must do" when in this pretty city!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We took the Prague free walking tour today and really enjoyed learning about the history of the city and seeing the architecture.

Pavel was very engaging and knew a lot about the city. The tour ran over a bit and we started to get a bit cold as the weather is changing so make sure you wrap up warm!

Thank you Pavel, a great morning exploring Prague.

Thoroughly recommended-please tip appropriately as only able to survive through fair recognition of the service received-would make a great morning for anyone wanting to understand more about this city and Czech history.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lifeisshort82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
169 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great tour with Lann”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

I spent 3.5 hours going around the streets of Prague absorbing 2500 years of history from a great guide Lann. He really knew his stuff! Obviously he likes and studies his trade. We only had one full day in Prague and this made it feel as though we had studied up on it ourselves. We walked to most of the sites on the old city side. Learned about the Huns, the conquerors, the Jewish sad times, the Velvet Revolution, the Russia. Oppression and relinquishment of power, and more! Just great!! Thanks Lann for a great morning in the beautiful city of Prague!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mpn7330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pavel's Personal Prague Tour also viewed

 

Been to Pavel's Personal Prague Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing