We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent to visit but dont make it your Highlight”
Review of Artbanka Museum of Young Art - CLOSED

Artbanka Museum of Young Art
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tue - Sun 9 am - 7 pmA Museum dedicated to young contemporary art with its presentation of the most leading figures of Czech art from the generation starting '68, as well as prominent representatives of the youngest generation of Czech and Slovak artists. The art is exhibited in the baroque palace, Colloredo-Mansfeld, with its space that offers astounding evidence of the construction work performed under the Communist regime on the historic monuments.
Castlebar, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent to visit but dont make it your Highlight”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I went there like many others when Part C of the exhibit was under construction so we could only visit A & B. The building is not in excellent condition but the whole point of the Museum is that it is used as an oppertunity for young unkown and unpaid artists to have a space to present their works without having to pay to exhibit their work.

The entrance fee isnt much and its for a good cause. Its not very long and some pieces are better than others. I wouldnt say it was the highlight of my trip nor would i go out of the way to visit it but it was entertaining for the time we were there. For the price, it deserved 4 stars.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    8
    6
    2
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Avoid avoid avoid!”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Save your money. The best part of this exhibition are David Cerny's Handguns outside, which is free to see. Pretty much every other piece in this gallery (if you can call a disued squat of a building a gallery) is poorly displayed, poorly signed, dreadfully executed and sparse to say the least. As one other reviewer put it, this is not a matter if taste, but a matter of awful skills and dated context and subject matter. At least half of the exhibiton was shut 'for technical reasons', which we were not told when buying our tickets. In addition, when we offered some friendly advice to staff, we were treated with hostility (including swearing) and disinterest. I would suggest going ANYWHERE ELSE in Prague rather than here. And this seems to be the opinion consistent with the other reviewers too.

Helpful?
Thank docemmettbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Save your money, give this one a miss”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I generally enjoy contemporary art -having enjoyed the excellent Kampa Museum earlier in the day we expected something of equal quality - the David Cerny guns in the courtyard looked interesting, and we thought this museum would also be worth a visit - how wrong we were. At 4pm it was getting dark outside, and it soon became apparent that this place is little more than a glorified squat. Several rooms were taped off, with signs apologising for the inconvenience. Two sullen students sat huddled around a plug in radiator. A couple of exhibits were viewable, but most were in near darkness, as the rooms were unlit, and it was impossible to make out anything in the gloomy darkness - a rug hung on a wall, another with a unidentified lump under it, and a collection of dolls(?) in a very dark corner.

After a long argument with the receptionist we settled for half of our admittance fee back, and left. It's obvious that the courtyard is bait to part tourists with their money in exchange for a very very poor display inside. Shanti, the elephant artist at the Kampa museum displays far more talent than what we could actually see of this mess.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Snotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Museum”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I discovered by Luck Walking around Praga and it was a great surprise. The building itself its a contemporary art and shows you bad how the communist regime trate the culture and the fine arts. It's grate that they conserve the rooms as they found after communist fall. I think the young artist are still influenced with the communist culture and most of the things are darks, hards, sexual aberrations, violence and things like that, that shows the repression of the population expressed by the art. It has been a grateful surprise.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DavidLHBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
Level 6 Contributor
540 reviews
256 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
“Very deceiving”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Contemporary art is challenging and innovative. It represents thinking out of the box, being creative and mastering the materials of an art piece. Installations or more formal expressions of sculpture and painting can surprise and involve the viewer. I was looking forward to see creative expressions at the AMoYA exhibit, and I was deeply disappointed and deceived. Except for a couple of works by David Černý (Saddam Hussein in a shark tank and four huge pistols at the entrance of the building), the rest is worthless, not only because it lacks of force and ideas, but above all because it is amateurish, badly executed and clumsy. It is not a matter of taste, it as a matter of skills, which most artists represented totally lack of. Any graffiti artists in the street would do much better. On top of it, the building is so badly kept and so run-down, that the non-functioning toilets or the holes on the wooden floor could also be consider as avant-garde works of art. They are as conceptually "challenging" as what you see in this very poor museum. Just look at the Cerny pieces (which are outside and free) and forget the rest.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Gumucio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artbanka Museum of Young Art also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing