We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious meal, friendly staff”

Lal Qila - The Indian Restaurant
Ranked #814 of 5,506 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Description: Lal Qila, the people choice best rated Indian restaurant in Prague with the same old flavor of Indian food. We are trying hard to give the best and worth of money to our guest's by our taste of food and with our services. We named the restaurant on behalf of Red Fort located in Delhi which was built by the Emperor of India with a thought to safe the Indian culture in one roof, the same we are trying to do by giving best Indian food and taste with the blended flavor of spices from India.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious meal, friendly staff”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Doesn't look like much from the outside, but walk in and you are welcomed with a friendly smile and a wonderful ambience. The waitress was very knowledgeable about the menu, recommending what would go with what etc. We were not disappointed, I've had some pretty delicious Indians in the UK, but this was better than most of those. I took a South-Indian dish because I lived in southern India for 3 months, and the taste really took me back there.
The only downside is that it was more expensive than other reviewers suggested. Still good value though (£25 for two mains, two drinks, and some naan). Definitely would go again, but if you are more than two people, book in advance!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    107
    25
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I came here and was quite relived to find some good Indian food. The food was very good (much better than where I ate the day before). I paid 135 koruna, about $7 which is a great deal. I was a little put off when I found nan was not included in the buffet and I was only alotted 1 piece. Although it was a very large piece I ordered another for 40 koruna. Water was included so I did not order a drink so I still feel like for the 175 koruna I made out pretty good. The waitress was extremely nice and helpful. I was a little disappointed that the wifi would not work but the waitress was diligent to help try and resolve this issue, I can't blame the restaurant for faulty technology! The only other thing that was slightly concerning was I was directed to use the same plate upon returning to the buffet, this would make me uncomfortable if I wasn't the first and only person there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank knexster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Indian restaurant”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have been 2 times in this restaurant while our vacation in Prague and enjoyed very much. The atmosphere is very authentic, quiet and relaxing. The waiter was very friendly, helped us to choose the dishes according our request. The vendelo chicken and the homemade tomato soup are recommended if you like hot and spicy food.
The food was very testy and tested as the original we familiar.
The restaurant is only 10 minutes walking from the national museum (the museum station in the Metro).
If you like an Indian food this is your place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank irit s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Possibly the best Indian Restaurant in Prague”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My wife and I decided to have an early dinner at Lal Qila after getting take aways from them a few times. We were always very impressed with their take aways but dining there was even better. The food is fantastic and the staff are very friendly, efficient and willing to make you feel comfortable. We will definitely be going back there!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“What a funny experience!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I came to check out their "all you can eat" lunch buffet. It was almost 1 PM and the whole place was one big mess. No place to sit, few tables were not occupied but still loaded with dirty plates and glasses. So I decided to take a look at the buffet and wait for a table. That was poor sight. Eight empty containers with few little bits on the bottoms but huge spills and mess all over the buffet table and dirty serving spoons. Oh well, no service was available during 5 mins of my visit, I was hungry so I changed my mind and went to nearby Pind in Korunni. Food was great like always and the restaurant was clean and full of waiters taking good care of customers.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VoyageEstAmour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lal Qila - The Indian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lal Qila - The Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing