We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try it if u are in Prague.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amade Restaurant & Cafe - CLOSED

Amade Restaurant & Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: European, Czech, International, Mediterranean, Soups, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Description: Amade is in the heart of the old city of Prague in a superbly renovated baroque "Pachta" palace. The restaurant's name suggests a connection to Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (Amade being his nickname), who used to spent time in this palace during his visits to Prague. The Amade cuisine is as intriguing and unique as Mozart's music.Visit us for an impressive culinary experience, be it a multi course meal or just a coffee and an amazing plum pie. You can enjoy a beautiful view of the Charles Bridge in a private setting, whether you come for a VIP business lunch or a candlelit romantic dinner. To complement our a la carte menu, we also offer breakfasts and daily lunch menus for a very modest price.Contact us if you would like to book the restaurant for private parties, catering or gift certificates.
Budapest
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Try it if u are in Prague.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

The environment is wonderful. Food is great, liked the duck dish a lot. Tomas and Martin were very nice, great service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fedfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna_Pibilova, Public Relations Manager at Amade Restaurant & Cafe, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest from Budapest,

I would like to kindly thank you for your kind words and for sharing them with TripAdvosor's community. I will personally tell Tomas and Martin about it.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

With kind regards,

Anna Pibilova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    109
    35
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Vert good food and sweet service. Thanks to Tomas and Martin!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Had roasted duck leg which is typical Czech food and a good match with local ice tea. Strongly recommend. Also really close to Charles bridge. :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Siqi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna_Pibilova, Public Relations Manager at Amade Restaurant & Cafe, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Allow me to thank you for your kind words. We are glad you have enjoyed the duck leg and hope to see you again.

With kind regards,

Anna Pibilova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
403 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“Modern Czech Cuisine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Yes, Mozart slept here. However, that was more than two hundred years ago and the Pachta Palace is better known today for the Mamasion Hotel and the Amade restaurant. You'll find Amade in a large open space with wooden floors, grey walls, and minimal but elegant decoration.

What they mean by "modern Czech cuisine' is that your roast duck will come with red cabbage and gnocchi, not dumplings. I found the meal to be much too salty for my taste. However, the veal schnitzel was delightfully light and served with a traditional slice of lemon.

I was a little perplexed by the emphasis on imported wine ( especially French) on the menu. I suggest you stick with a fine local Riesling.

A fine choice if other restaurants are booked.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoctorM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna_Pibilova, Public Relations Manager at Amade Restaurant & Cafe, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest from Bend,

First of all I would like to take this opportunity and kindly thank you for your review. We highly appreciate you have found time to write it and pay attention to your words.

We know that Mozart is already a history, so we do not base on him. It is just a curiosity and inspiration for the name of the Amade restaurant. As you saw inside the restaurant are not any things connected with him and I am more than happy that you find our decoration elegant.

I would like to only specify our cuisine a little bit more precise. We propose our guests traditional Czech cuisine with (only) a touch of modernity and tasteful international cuisine. We believe that Czechs as well as tourists would like to try and enjoy traditional cuisine of the location, where our restaurant is. I am sorry that you find the meals too salty. I will definitely talk about it with our chefs.

Last but not least allow me to mention our wine list. We propose our guests Czech wines as well as foreign wines. We appreciate local ingredients and try to use local suppliers, because we want to offer the best of the Czech Republic. However, some people prefer foreign wines rather than Czech ones and we want to satisfy them, too.

Despite the mentioned comments I believe you have enjoyed your visit of the Amade restaurant and we are looking forward to welcome you again.

With kind regards,

Anna Pibilova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“Excellent romantic dinner in Prague city centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Me any my housband we visited this great restaurant during our stay in Prague while walking in the evening along the Vltava river. There was a stunning view of Prague castle so we decided for this restaurant. We took starter, main dish and dessert with wine and coffee at the end and everything was very delicious and tasty!! We asked the waiter for the recommendations and he was really helpful and set the menu for us. As mentioned it was excellent. The restaurant has a nice cosy atmosphere. Great value for money!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna_Pibilova, Public Relations Manager at Amade Restaurant & Cafe, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Marie,

I would like to deeply thank you for your kind review. We are more than happy, that you were satisfied, we highly appreciate that. We hope to see you again.

With kind regards,

Anna Pibilova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Had wonderful 3 days ate at Amade breakfast and dinner . Had Tomas and Martin, who treated us like Royalty .

Anything we wanted they got for us . Late late snakes were great also. Can't say enough great service from these 2 young men

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beard1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna_Pibilova, Public Relations Manager at Amade Restaurant & Cafe, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Allow me to kindly thank you for your positive review, we highly appreciate it. I will personally tell Tomas and Martin about your positive experience. We hope to see you in the Amade restaurant again.

With kind regards,

Anna Pibilova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amade Restaurant & Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing