We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Czech steaks with excellent Slovakian wine”
Review of Cestr - CLOSED

Cestr
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Czech, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Nove Mesto (New Town)
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Czech steaks with excellent Slovakian wine”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is a must go restaurant, very close to the Wenceslass square. They serve steaks from Czech bred meat; you can choose the cut depending on your taste and for a good price as well. My favorite combination is topped with perigord sauce, spinach and mashed potatoes. Dont forget to try the Slovakian Alibernet or ask sommelier for his advice!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michalkakkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    727
    310
    70
    37
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great for meat lovers”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We came for lunch to celebrate our daughter's birthday. We ordered a different cuts and shared those to taste as many as we could. Knowing Texas steaks and prime dry aged beef in the US, we were a little cautious at first, but totally surprised with quality. The beef was definitely different in a good way -less marbelised (therefore less fat) yet very tender and delicate. The carpaccio was to die for. Staff was excellent and winemaster offered an excellent choices which paired great with meat served -red wine from Slovakia called Dunaj was exquisite. The place is a little difficult to find for non native, and you would not definitely pick it based on looks from outside. But heaven for sophisticated meat lovers.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“For meat lovers”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This restaurant is great in making beef dishes, we loved the food and staff was very nice and helpful, i would recommend this place for nice weekend lunch. Interior is very simple with outside sitting for summer and good location close to Prague centre

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great farm to table pre-opera dinner”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We went to Cestr looking for a quick bite before going to the Opera. Once we saw the menu, we knew we'd found a restaurant that would make to meat-eating foodies happy. We had heirloom cow and local wine. It reminded us of being in the steakhouses of Argentina.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patras, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very tasty food, very helpful stuff, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The restaurant serves mainly meat dishes. You can choose excactly a specific part of the cow body. Our dishes' meat was VERY tasty. You could cut the meat with using only your fork. It was the best meat dish we had on Prague. The stuff was very helpful and friendly. The atmoshpere is very good. It is located very near the State Opera.
It was the best restaurant during my stay in Prague. On my next visit in Prague, I will sure visit this restaurant again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gtsip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cestr also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing