We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go somewhere else” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant U Tri Pstrosu

Restaurant U Tri Pstrosu
Ranked #1,130 of 5,316 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: European, Czech, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hampshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Thought I'd try the lunchtime special - goulash followed by roast duck. Waiter was not the friendliest one I have encountered and When the bill came - it was not 2 • 240 = 480 but 528, service automatically included - not optional it would seem. I can understand why this might be done , judging by the standard if food and service. The goulash soup was ok, perhaps more meat and potatoes would have made it better. The duck was the main course , with dumpling and cabbage - I can only assume that a batch of ducks had died in a fire and then been kept cooking overnight! They were dry , very dry, and the dumplings were anot like others I had eaten whilst in Prague. Like any review, one can only judge on what was presented , and on the evidence of the duck, it has to be to go somewhere else

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank salsakarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    73
    34
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
292 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great location, Great food, Small portions, Tourist prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

The location is fantastic at the edge of the charles bridge - right in the heart of the most toured area of Prague. The quality of the food was exceptional for all 4 main dishes ordered. The portions were small and the prices a little high but that was to be expected at the very touristy location in a very touristy restaurant. Service was acceptable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Etienne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
549 reviews
350 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 800 helpful votes
“good food and pleasant service - don't miss the ostrich goulash!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a nice meal here last night. I had the Mediterranean fish soup (2 bowls actually, because the portion was not really big and the soup was very hot and tasty - a clear, light broth with fresh delicious fish, served piping hot). My husband had the traditional soup with poached egg and dill and really liked it. I think having poached eggs in soup is genius - the combination of flavors is awesome and the idea works for almost any soup. I had their grilled/roasted fennel and veggie salad as my entree (very fresh and flavorful) and stole some chunks of ostrich goulash from my husband :) Now that's a dish not to be missed. Fantastic, flavorful, lean meat with horseradish on the side and two large bread pudding-like dumplings with bacon. An absolute delight and highly recommended. We also split a local dessert - I forget the name, but it was like a potato flour based dumpling (3, actually), filled with plum jam, boiled, and served hot with brown sugar, nuts and a bit of melted butter on top. My husband tried a local red wine and thought it was alright. Altogether, and with mineral water, all this came to about EUR 60 (we didn't have enough crowns with us and the exchange rate wasn't great - using the actual exchange rate it would have been closer to EUR 53). Good service too, and of course good location.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank giulietta429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toledo
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food, but a bit more upscale price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I had a great meal here, and the service was very good. Compared to other restaurants in the area, it was a little more money, but then again the food was amazing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dmiller148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Somewhat underwhelmed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We used the garden or patio restaurant right off the Charles Bridge. Food wasn't bad; setting was fun.

Major note. In the outside restaurants most will not take credit cards. Our waiter became quite, um, unpleasant when we asked to use plastic. Which is something to note. Friends living in Prague warned us not to expect warm welcoming service at restaurants. They were 50% right. Some servers are so unfriendly you want to apologize for being there. Then there are others who are so nice. TIP THE LATTER. We need to encourage Prague servers to put on a smile.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant U Tri Pstrosu also viewed

 
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to Restaurant U Tri Pstrosu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing