We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient with the tram”
Review of Hotel Otakar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Otakar
Ranked #518 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Noise from the tram required some time to get over or adjust to.
I stayed here for three nights thinking it was art deco and very near to the city.
This is not true.
There were a lot of youngsters watching football on the first night I stayed. Noisy buy fun.
It's not that bad, really, for it's price. But a little small.
But if you can get better rates nearer to the touristy spots, do that instead. Not a business hotel.

Room Tip: You can get A/C for EUR10 a night. It can be quite hot depending on the season. Rmbr this bit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank didieshuhaimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 261 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

We got sent to this hotel as our holiday supplier made a cock up with our original hotel and it was awful! It looks nice from the outside and the reception but we were given a room at the top floor which was facing the main road so it was very hot (particularly at night) and noisy. It also had a perculiar smell every time you walked in you would get a whiff of it.

When we first arrived and was given our key the room was very basic and it had 2 single beds pushed together (even though had requested a double) and the furniture was pretty wrecked (I could pick up a whole table with one hand, felt was made out of cardboard!) and paint peeling off the walls. The bathroom and the light by the door was not working and as there was no window in the bathroom it was pitch black. We went down to reception to tell them it was not working and they said would fix it the next day (which they did) but still had to use our phones as torches the first night. There was a bed side lamp which looked like was falling apart and the lamp also stopped working after 2 nights.

Most the staff were friendly and helpful except for one lady which we had asked for extra pillows was not happy to give us the extra pillows as she said they were meant for someone else! I also requested a hair dryer which when I went to use it didn't work so I had to wait until people checked out to use a hairdryer.

The breakfast was the worst! I wouldn't serve it to prisoners! They had a selection of meats & cheese which looked like been out for ages and baskets full of very hard stale bread! The first morning they had no toaster but luckily they had put one in for the rest of the stay, was a bit of a queue to using it as only a 2 piece toaster and a lot of guests. The only thing that was remotely edible was the cheap versions of cereal which they had (a selection of nesquik and what looked like bran flakes). The coffee was horrible and from a machine and the 'fruit juice' was like very weak squash. The tables weren't cleaned after other people using them so you wouldn't sit to a clean table.

Luckily we had great weather most the week but the last night it rained and when we were walking to the breakfast area in the morning there was buckets and wet patches and towels everywhere left to soak up water but was so drenched there was puddles around them. Luckily our room didn't leak!

The only good thing I'd say about the hotel is the rooms were fairly clean and the tram stops were very local. But I definately recommend spending a bit more and stay somewhere better!

Room Tip: If you decide to stay at this hotel then make sure you request a room at the back of the hotel so th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

As in previous reviews it states of problems with sewage, unfortunately true!
Happened twice in two nights!!
Location - 15/20 mins outside Centre of Prague by #24 tram.
Accomodation - our bedroom #5 was biggest out of 4 other rooms, beds were tired wooden.
I would presume a cheap place to stay but i didnt make the reservation.
Receptionist were all helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kieranpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed in this Hotel for one night and it was very nice & comfertable we had a good stat there. The service staff are really nice friendly. So i can recommend anyone when they go there that's really nice and straight to the hotel there is a Tram which takes only 10 Minutes to get to the center of the prague.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roman-barekzai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

this hotel is more like a youth hostel than a hotel.
the first few nights we were ok the room was acceptable, breakfast awful and stake food, the staff were rude.
the last two nights a group of teenagers booked in over twenty of them.
they were awake running around, singing, dancing, drink screaming causing general mayhem from 10 till 7 am. my partner complained about 12 as the hotel has policyno noise after 10.
I complained again about 6am, the staff were terrible saying what would you do, why don't you go back to England.
so rude and very unprofessional, it felt like student accommodation and the staff ignored it.
I would never stay there again it is not a place for families, couples or individual travellers.
it should be a youth Hostel.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 17,777,777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 10 days and it was an undertaking to arrange at least a kind of rest((. At first they gave us room with very poor Wi-Fi connection and no furniture!!!((( Next day they (fortunately!!!) agreed to change room for more appropriate one). The personnel is very helpful, but isn't everything in their power - hotel really needs renovation((. I can advise it only for 1-2 night, not more.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. On arrival the receptionist was very helpful and informative.The room was basic to say the least. The pictures on the website looked nothing like the reality. The windows shook each time a tram went past, which was every 5mins.The beds made the most noise of all, making even the smallest movement unbearable. After the worst nights sleep ever we asked if we could move rooms, something I have never done before. As luck would have it the room next to use had become free that morning so we were given there room.The new room was much better and we had 2 great nights sleep.
The hotel is about a 10min tram ride from the town centre so a perfect location otherwise. Trams stop right outside hotel. Breakfast was also basic, go in with low expectations.
If you are thinking of staying here make sure you ask for a rear room as you will not be able to sleep otherwise. Tea/coffee or any shower gel etc is not provided so be prepared for that.
Also, make sure you always have some change as most toilets cost around 10 czeck crowns to use.

Room Tip: Rear or side rooms are better due to tram noise at front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 4
Hotel Nabucco
Hotel Nabucco
#261 of 646 in Prague
344 reviews
Praha 4
Hotel Ostruvek
Hotel Ostruvek
#391 of 646 in Prague
450 reviews
Praha 4
Michael Hotel
Michael Hotel
#443 of 646 in Prague
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 7
Leon Hotel
Leon Hotel
#400 of 646 in Prague
80 reviews
Praha 3
City Lounge Hotel
City Lounge Hotel
#307 of 646 in Prague
126 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#363 of 646 in Prague
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Otakar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Otakar

Address: Otakarova 287/3, Prague 140 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 4
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #518 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: $34 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Otakar 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Otakar (formerly The Merlin) is a lovely, cosy, family hotel close to the historical centre of Prague. The architecture is beautiful, a typical local character style building situated in the centre zone of Prague and walking distance of Vysehrad, the Congress Centre, and 4 tram stations to the Museum and Wenceslav square. This charming hotel offers elegant decor, a restaurant& bar, sauna, friendly staff and spacious modern bedrooms. Nearby there are plenty of local restaurants, an internet-cafe and entertainment venues. Booking into the Otakar Hotel gives you a great location and comfort in style. Free WIFI, Lobby bar open 24 hours, Internet corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Otakar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing