We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely spectacular”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Ranked #5 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Absolutely spectacular”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We enjoyed one of our finest stays anywhere in the world in this small boutique hotel with just 8 guest rooms. It is located in a privately-owned mansion that has been gorgeously restored and exquisitely decorated. The service is top-notch from the moment your taxi arrives and they open the door to greet you. They accommodated all our requests efficiently and with smiling faces. The rooms are as lovely as the public spaces and the beds are extremely comfortable. Breakfast is excellent. Non-alcoholic beverages from your mini-bar are complimentary, as is a daily wine and cheese hour each evening. The location at the edge of the Castle District is fairly convenient to many of Prague's highlights, including the Charles Bridge and Old Town. You can spend more to stay in Prague, but I doubt you can get more. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms here, but if I had to single one out, I would suggest avoiding the room on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ddesalez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucieNizka, Manager at Alchymist Prague Castle Suites, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Sir and Madam

The Alchymist Prague Castle team and I are very thankful to your excellent feedback.
Your words have served as an encouragement to keep on providing such high standard of services.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Lucie Nizka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    22
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
264
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago de Chile
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel is one more jewel of beautiful Prague. We travel a lot and we have selten experienced such a wonderful feeling of staying with good friends being at a hotel. We do advise many of our friends to share our enthousiasm.

Room Tip: No need to choose, all rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SantiagodeChileEdith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucieNizka, Manager at Alchymist Prague Castle Suites, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write this very positive review. I am very glad you have enjoyed your stay with us as much as you did. Our staff will do its best for all the guests that stay with us and they ensure that your stay is the best one you’ll ever have. Our goal is to always provide a "home from home" experience.

I do hope that you will return to stay with us again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Lucie and colleagues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Very wonderful hotel with exquisite rooms with old world charm. Staff was genuinely everhelpful and friendly. I stayed for 5 nights with my wife. Was indeed a lovely stay. In the middle of old Prague. Close to to most attractions yet quiet.. Highly recommend it...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chetan_Abhivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucieNizka, Manager at Alchymist Prague Castle Suites, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review, I am truly glad to read it, as it always brings me joy to know that our guests have enjoyed their vacation to the fullest.
I hope we will get to welcome you at our hotel in the near future.

Warm regards,
Lucie and colleagues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
263 reviews
218 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 755 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

TA HOTEL REVIEW # 227

MY TRAVEL STYLE: If possible, I try to stay away from business hotels and strongly prefer resorts that resemble the Four Seasons, Aman, and Oberoi but try to find similar properties at lower cost. I seek out the “wow” experiences.

LOCATION: Excellent location on a very quiet street (probably difficult to find a quiet street in Prague). A little removed from the main tourist area as we were constantly walking 15-20 minutes to ‘old town’ every day for dinner/sites. It was nice to come back to a quiet place in the evening.

BEST WAY TO GET THERE: We took a 4 hour train from Bratislava and then used the hotels free transportation for a 15 minute ride to the hotel.

TYPE OF ROOM: Standard.

BED/SHEETS/PILLOW: Bed was comfortable but not as good as a ‘heavenly bed’. Linens were of high quality.

LIGHTING: Very good lighting in bedroom and bathroom. Elegant chandelier in the bedroom was a great touch.

BATHROOM/SHOWER: Bathroom was a bit small (and we were told we had at the largest standard room in the hotel. Shower was also small and water temperature was a bit inconsistent.

TOILETRIES: Very high quality.

CLEANLINESS: Hotel is spotless except around the breakfast area where dirty plates were not picked up at many tables.

A/C: Worked very well and was quiet.

STYLE OF ROOM: Great! Very charming although the colors used were not my preference (but they restored the hotel to all the original details of the house).

COMMON AREA: Beautiful common area that is better than the pictures on line but not really a place that I would choose to hang out as it’s a bit formal. Couches don’t look very inviting. Breakfast balcony is nice to eat outside but the view is only of rooftops that are higher than your vantage point so not much to see (the castle is visable in the distance but I wouldn’t say it is a good view).

QUIET/MORNING LIGHT: Room is very quiet and all morning light could be blocked with curtains.

FOOD: Breakfast was OK and I would have expected better from an 8 room hotel. Items were left out all day (fruit in the windowsill with the sunlight directly on them). Why have a buffet when there are only 8 rooms? How about menus or just tell them what you want. They would prepare pancakes (crepes), eggs, and oatmeal if desired. There were dirty plates everywhere both days and it was under staffed. We would wait sometimes a very long time for staff to come, clean a table, and take our order. Wine and cheese at night is a nice touch but if you come near closing time, expect the items to be picked through and no one around to provide any service.

TV/INTERNET: TV is of good size (we didn’t use). Internet is free and of good speed.

SERVICE: Very mixed feelings here. All staff were incredibly nice but just don’t know how to provide excellent service. From dirty plates on the table and staff not around at breakfast or at the wine/cheese, it was disappointing. Staff also told us some wrong information that cost us 130 euros and they did nothing other than provide an extended checkout. Service here is really bad for such a small hotel… good thing the people are nice. In addition our room was not cleaned one entire day and there is no turn down service at night.

SUMMARY: Great location, very nice rooms (although probably not the right style for a younger couple) with friendly staff that don’t know how to provide good service. Would get a 5th star on TA if the service was good. With so many great hotels in Prague at a much lower price, I would suggest exploring options prior to booking a room at this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the room that is next to the breakfast area so it will be more quiet and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelSnob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucieNizka, Manager at Alchymist Prague Castle Suites, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write this evaluation of your stay with us.
We appreciate your feedback and are grateful for pointing out some of the shortcomings and omissions you encountered during your stay with us. We are always willing to address any issue a client points out or feels like needs attention.

We hope to welcome you back at the hotel on your next visit, and I’m very positive that your next stay will be to your expectations.

Warm regards,
Lucie and colleagues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This hidden jewel tucked between Parliment and the Prague Castle is now considered a top three hotel stay of my life. We spent three amazing days and nights with our two children 11 and 17 at this seven suite hotel that opened in early 2012. I hesitate to write this review as we intend to return and could be ruining one of Europe's new hidden secrets and future availability. Our two middle floor suites with full baths, amazing linens, great natural lighting, fresco wood beam ceilings, were adjoined by a common living room available to all guests. Each suite included amazing antiques, art and meticulous details. The mansion was renovated over the past few years by an Italian gentleman as a private residence, however his relationship with the Alchymist Hotel led to it's conversion to this ideally located hotel. From the wonderful reception by Lucie each day, the entire staff was ready and eager to assist with making our stay so special. Our stay was so comfortable. Located on a quiet street a block from the castle front steps and 5 to 7 minutes from the St. Charles Bridge your couldn't ask for more! thank you for the wonderful couple days and look forward to visiting again soon.

Room Tip: all seven rooms are unique and special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BDVino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucieNizka, Manager at Alchymist Prague Castle Suites, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this amazing review, I and the staff appreciate it very much. It was a pleasure having you at our hotel and we truly hope to see you back soon. I am truly glad to hear that Alchymist Prague Castle Suites made it to the "top 3 Hotel of your life", this is what makes all the hard work worth it.

Warm regards,

Lucie and colleagues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We spent in this hotel two weeks and feeled ourselves like at home. Brilliant location (near the famous Cathedral, Karlov Bridge and one of the best restaurant in the city), friendly staff, comfortable rooms, excellent bathrooms. We hope to visit Prague next time and will definitly stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: There are only 8 rooms in the Hotel and all of them are very comfortable, all of them are suites (se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria_Moscow_Cyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucieNizka, Manager at Alchymist Prague Castle Suites, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. I was so pleased that we met your expectations and that you enjoyed your weekend stay with us. I have passed on your very kind words to the great team I have here and do hope that you visit us once again very soon.

Kind regards,
Lucie and colleagues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The location (near the castle) was great, and the service was excellent. It's located in a quiet neighborhood below the castle and would definitely stay at the Alchymist Castle Suites again. The room as large and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uncvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucieNizka, Manager at Alchymist Prague Castle Suites, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review, I am truly glad to read it that our guests have enjoyed their vacation to the fullest.
I hope we will get to welcome you at our hotel in the near future.

Warm regards,
Lucie and colleagues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well Hotel
Golden Well Hotel
#3 of 649 in Prague
1,734 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,583 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 649 in Prague
743 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alchymist Prague Castle Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alchymist Prague Castle Suites

Property: Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Address: Snemovni 164/8, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alchymist Prague Castle Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alchymist Prague Castle Suites, located in a sensational historical mansion in the Malá Strana (Lesser Quarter) in Prague, provides you with the possibility of experiencing something truly unique and exclusive. This privately owned historical mansion, with the intriguing name of "At the Turk's Head," has been lovingly restored to suit a brand new concept of luxury accommodation in Prague. It is therefore with the utmost pleasure that we present you with the following invitation: You are hereby invited to become personal guests of the owner, Giorgio Bonelli, and to enjoy a stay in this magnificent 15th-century mansion, featuring 8 suites, a music room, library, fireplace room, spa and enjoying the services of a private butler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Alchymist Prague Castle Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing