We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, nice staff”
Review of Royal Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Plaza
Ranked #319 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed May 11, 2009

First of all, don't get confused as there are two hotel in Prague with the same name Amarilis. The one I'm commenting is situated in (Stepanska 18, Prague).

The location is very good as is only 5 minutes from the center. The rooms are very modern and clean. Breakfast is quite good and the staff very nice.
Conference Room is large enough for 30-40 people.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlespaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 244 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2008

As soon as we got off our flight and got to the hotel we had a problem, aparantly we had to pay more than 630 euros because the rates weren't as good at the time(even though it said on our booking confirmation 630 euros) therefore ended up paying a further 120 euros.

The website lies, false information like flat screen TV.
large room, clean room, FREE WIFI (there is no wifi for about 100 miles), room refreshed daily (we had to ask for more toilet role thats how bad the situation got and even when we did get it 'refreshed' they just tidied the sheets up give us two towels between three of us and stole small amount of money which was in my drawer(luckily me and my mates took most of our money out with us.

So then came the end of the trip.... we were glad to get out of the hotel, but as we checked out the guy at the reception said where are you going you need pay towels, so we were like wht is he talking about???... he then started shouting at us saying you need pay 200 kourone for 1 towel missing. so we didnt have the time for this argument of towels because the flight check in started soon. we then went up to the room with the maids showed them our 2 towels we had along with one towel for the shower floor.. she was like 1 missing. we were like no thats all we had.. she started screaming at us... we then went back down stairs and we just gave in he threatened to phone the police because he thought we stole the towels which weren't even worth stealing... then we gathered the rest of our money and gave him 200 kourone. In addition to this the breakfast is continental, very basic and its not what's described on the website.

He then said boys what is this.?? pointing at our money.. he said 4 towels missing 800 kourone we were stunned we had little money left and he keeps threatning to phone the police.. we just gave up our minibus driver was waiting outside and we couldn't afford to miss our flight so we gave him the money.

if your looking to go to prague and explore the culture with your friends and have an awsome time... i would reccommend somewhere else near old town square one of the most beautiful places in prague not at this hotel as the area is not very nice either and the surroundings are not great.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Axlemcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2008

Prague is a brilliant city and we would have had a brilliant time if we had chosen to stay somewhere else. The rooms are not as advertised in the slightest! The staff were rude and the maid service was non-existant! Our rooms were cleaned once in the 7 days we were there, and they did not give us enough towels, which we later charged for. The charge was 200 crowns per towel which we got charged for 4 of them. When we tried to explain to the manager that we never had the correct amount of towels, he threatened to call the police. A flat screen tv? more like a 1980 tv from a garage sale. Cost of drinks in the hotel were outrageous, beds were uncomfortable and sheets barely fit them. Overall would of had a better time taking a tent to prague and sleeping on the street.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dan05011991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2008

Stayed in the Amarilis hotel for 2 nights. Had a very pleasant stay. Room was very modern, nice bathroom, good beds etc. Staff was very friendly and helpfull. Breakfast was good. There was free wifi in the lobby and restaurant.
Loaction is also great. You can walk easily into the centre.
Only negative thing I can mention is the shower without a curtain or wall which makes the bathroom very wet after taking a shower.
I paid €80 a night for a double room which I consider a very good deal.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WesselAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2008

Spent 5 nights at the Amarilis and was massively impressed by the quality of location, and the hotel. Very, very modern, clean, friendly. Booked single room -wasgiven large twin with air con/mini bar/phone/plasma tv (13 channels--CNN/BBC News in eng only)/amazing bathroom with bath/shower/hairdryer/v.clean and 'designer'-------------towels changed daily.
Breakfast was included---large buffet including-bacon/sausage/cakes/bread/toaster/cheese/meats/salad/juice/coffee /cereals//etc etc --really vey good (bacon was not hot enough!) huge choice.

There is also a health spa which costs extra --massage/hot tub/sauna etc. 24hr store opposite and plenty of restaurants incl chinese/indian/czech/irish bars, czech bars etc within 100 yds. Area is pretty quiet yet literally 5 mins walk from Wenceslas Sq. Superb value for the location, superb, quality choice ...think its a 4 star, which seems bout right. Excellent. Price was amazing for central location in Prague, in August with the facilities---cost £49.00 per night//310 euros//7518.20 CSK. You cannot go wrong---i did quite a bit of research through Trip Advisor and this hotel is quite honestly surprisingly excellent (outside shot does not do it justice!). Also down street is an art deco shopping mall--Lucerna- and plnty of shops/bars in there too. (I have also written brief review on Prague-tips n stuff on visits etc--so check that out too.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gizzgarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

This hotel is in a five storey block on the other side of the main road just behind the Museum at the top of Wenceslas Square. It's close enough to the centre to walk (10 mins to the old town) but out of range of the stag parties and general tourist mayhem. The staff were extremely friendly with varying degrees of English from fine to excellent. The room was large and really well refurbished, quiet and comfortable and an excellent rate. Don't know if they're all like this so ask for a new one. It's a solid old stone building so you're unlikely to be disturbed even in high season. Breakfast was good. It's also an excellent place to stay if you're travelling to or from Prague by train as it's four stops on the metro line from Prague Holesovice Station. Another metro line from Muzeum takes you into the old town or to the castle. There are at least three decent restaurants off the tourist trail within five minutes of the hotel. You cannot find good restaurants or bars in the centre by accident so read up before you go.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lon39don39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2007

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights at the beginning of a 6 night stay in the Czech Republic.

Would find it hard to fault the hotel and certainly, for the price we paid it would be hard to get better value.

The hotel has recently been refurbished and out room was spacious with modern fittings and an immacualte bathroom.

Our room was quiet with no noise from the hotel or outside.

Breakfast was plentiful and incuded Cappuchino etc in the price.

Great location within 5 minutes walk of Wenceslas Square.

Highly receommended!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank HerefordshireSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Alton
Alton
#276 of 649 in Prague
245 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Bohemia Plaza Residence
Bohemia Plaza Residence
#292 of 649 in Prague
362 reviews
Praha 2
Pension Brezina
Pension Brezina
#303 of 649 in Prague
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Deminka Palace
Deminka Palace
#149 of 649 in Prague
525 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Brixen Prague
Hotel Brixen Prague
#133 of 649 in Prague
793 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Sunrise
Hotel Sunrise
#195 of 649 in Prague
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Plaza

Address: Rimska 71/4 | Vinohrady, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #319 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: $40 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Plaza Hotel is situated in the immediate neighbourhood of the most famous and beautiful places in Prague signed in UNESCO, public transport stops and several nice restaurants with reasonable prices. The National museum and the State opera house are just few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing