We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hostel”
Review of Ragtime

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ragtime
Ranked #154 of 702 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I enjoyed this hostel because its clean and spacious but there is a problem with hot water running out. For the light sleepers- this is not your hostel because you can hear everything throughout the hostel although people are very respectful and quite.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bab457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 100 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2012

By looking at this place from the outside you would think you're in the wrong neighbourhood. But don't fear this is a very nice place to stay. Me and my wife stayed here for 4 nights and had a room with our own bathroom at first. It was clean and well maintained and also very quiet. It also has its own kitchen which was quite handy. There are not so many rooms the people we stayed with seemed very nice, probably 5 rooms. We had to move the last night to a shared bathroom room(which we knew about) but had to go back to Hostel Emma which it seems is its satellite hostel. Ragtime does not have a reception but this is not a problem. The staff were friendly and helpful and I would definitely recommend this place. It is also very centrally located within walking distance of most places.

This didn't bother us so much. However Emma seemed to be full of British guys there for a stag do, which involved fancy dress and drunkenness. We were just glad we didn't stay there. It seemed rowdy and the opposite of our weekend. Different strokes I guess.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jozitraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed with three friends during a weekend visit to Prague. After arriving at Emma hostel (as instructed) we were told we would be picked up and taken to Ragtime. A man arrived who led us on foot to the hostel. I was a bit dubious at first as the front of the hostel is covered in graffiti and the lobby looks like a Siberian Gulag. However we were pleasantly surprised to find a spacious room with modern kitchen and bathroom (both shared). The rooms were basic but perfectly adequate for our needs. Be warned that the hot water can run out very quickly, especially when other guests take baths and long showers. There is only one toilet but it's cleaned regularly. There is also a 200 koruna deposit for each key you have, although this is returnable. All in all very good value.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pantherfan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We've never stayed in a hostel so clean, the location could not be better (less than a block from metro, tram and supermarket), the manager, Pedro orients you to the city and all of your surroundings, luxurious bathroom, huge bedroom, excellent cleanliness- pristine, great kitchen!!! Only thing to think about is 1 toilet and 1 bathroom if you don't choose "ensuite" so if it is full, then they can be busy, but it is perfect otherwise!!! Perfect hostel for couples/families/single travelers not looking to mingle or meet other people. Nice and quiet at night so you can actually SLEEP, so it was perfect for us. We will be back for SURE! Worth every Koruna!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRChang2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gloria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Azuba Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
Thank 746hideakit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#74 of 646 in Prague
2,454 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hilton Prague Old Town
Hilton Prague Old Town
#96 of 646 in Prague
3,357 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#12 of 702 in Prague
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 1
Hilton Prague
Hilton Prague
#147 of 646 in Prague
5,168 reviews
Praha 4
Occidental Praha
Occidental Praha
#179 of 646 in Prague
498 reviews
Praha 7
PLUS Prague
PLUS Prague
#22 of 702 in Prague
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ragtime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ragtime

Address: Opatovicka 26 | Prague 1, Prague, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 702 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range: $26 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Ragtime 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Ragtime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing