We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking distance to everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Charles Bridge Apartments
Ranked #73 of 656 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Walking distance to everything!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I just stayed in one of the Charles Bridge apartments. The staff was really helpful, the rooms were clean and had everything, they promised. The only complaint is, that the apartment was too close to the Charles Bridge, which is too crowded to cross, when going to the old town from Mala Strana. Luckily, there's not a long distance between the bridges in Prague.
Outside the window on one side of the apartment, we stayed at, there was a restaurant. Through another window, we could see the Kafka Museum, so it's very urban, very central and the only time, we didn't just walk to our destination, was when we left the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kjartan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    64
    20
    13
    9
See reviews for
61
34
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

After reading other reviews ( half good half bad ) i went with mixed feelings but was very pleasently suprised how good it was, i travelled with five friends and we stayed in the apartment just near to the American Embassy, about 5 mins walk from Charles Bridge, it was very clean, spacious and nice and quiet, we felt very safe and the lady in reception was really friendly, i loved Prague... such a fantastic city to visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Minesabeer582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Very polite and helpful lady at our late checkin (10PM). Our apartment on Templova street was middle of an old town without parking, but garage is just minutes away (25EU/day). We got 3 rooms, 2.5 baths all renovated with modern new amenities. For 2400Kc a night you won't find much better deal. We were very happy with the stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apatahunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Don't use these apartments!
The images on booking.com and other sides lie. The apartment they gave us, feels dirty, old and ugly! And it smelt bad! We tried to cancel without any cost, but they refuesed.
It is very difficult to find a parkingplace in the area, and it was a loot of noice form the street..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Olav_Sandnes_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2013

All in all a great apartment for the price.
There were 6 of us booked, when we got to the apartment I was a little put off due to the fact that we were staying above a bar/restraunt but it was surprisingly quite. The location was great and for the price you can't complain.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomt1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I had read all the bad reviews and decided to go ahead and stay here anyway. Because of the bad reviews I proceeded with caution. I knew they had several apartments in the area so I asked specifically for photos of where we were going to stay. They had no problem giving me these details and forewarned me that it was a 3 story walk up apartment.

After arriving I guess we were lucky that they were in the office but if they are gone it truly would be a short wait for them to return, they would just be showing another guest to their apartment. We were led to our apartment which was the closest they had to the bridge! We booked a studio so it had a full kitchen as well which was a great bonus. The room had a very quaint feel and a lot of character, something you just won't get from a hotel chain.

We loved that it was so close to the bridge and that the entrance to our building had no signs. That made us feel even more like locals and added authenticity.

Now the downside. I am speaking of our specific apartment and I am sure mileage varies depending on location you stay. Around midnight some other people checked into the apartment next to our (I guess it is a 3bedroom and usually the adjoining door opens and they rent it as a 4 bedroom). It was very easy to hear them even if they where just talking. The other con was that the bathroom was small and our shower had low water pressure, but I will admit we are used to very high pressure.

Overall I would love to stay there again! If you want to know exactly what you are getting before you show up then go with a hotel chain. However if you want some place that has an authentic local feel and are willing to take the good with the bad I highly recommend the Charles bridge apartments.

We were only able to stay for 2 nights due to availability and had another 4 star hotel we moved to after that. We are still in the second hotel and we find ourselves wishing we could have stayed At the Charles bridge apartments. Yes the room in this hotel is more modern and it has an awesome bathroom but location and feel is not nearly as good.

Room Tip: Just ask for specifics on what they are offering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jnjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Booked this accommodation 4 months before travelling based on the location and value on hotels.com Travelling as a group of 4 in couples we had booked 2 separate apartments for 3 nights. Flight got in early afternoon perfect timing to check in and get lunch. However on arrival we were told by reception that there was only one apartment for two people at the location we booked. They had another two bed a few minutes away. Alternatively there was an apartment for 4 people the far side of the castle. Apparently there was water issues. they said they had texted us earlier that day....no good whilst we were flying and certainly too late for us to do anything about it. Obviously not wanting to be split and not wishing to share an apartment we went off looking for alternative accommodation. On searching we were advised that this is a regular scam with these apartments. They overbook all the time and push people into places all over the city. We found a beautiful hotel At the Green Grape just beyond the Irish and American embassies for €100 per nite with breakfast. We spent nearly two hours trying to find accommodation online and by walking hotel to hotel. Such a waste of a beautiful afternoon in prague and not the start to our trip we wanted. So warning to all travellers DO NOT BOOK THESE APARTMENTS.

Room Tip: Do not book these apartments it is a scam. If you booked for a specific location why do you have to...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlesBridgeBB, Manager at Charles Bridge Apartments, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear guests,
We are really sorry that you have chosen not to stay with us, but let us add some facts about your booking. You booked months in advance two double rooms. However YOU BOOKED TWO DOUBLE ROOMS UNDER TWO DIFFERRENT NAMES and the BOOKINGS WERE MADE ON TWO DIFFERENT DATES! There was NO CLUE FOR US to recognize that these two bookings belonged together. Plus the description of Charles Bridge Apartments clearly describes that APARTMENTS are in different historical buildings.

After your arrival when you explained you wished to stay together we had offerred you a little house by the Prague castle (within a walking distance) with two bedrooms (each with bathroom) and kitchen and living room. You rejected it as too distant. Although there was no apparent mistake on our side we agreed not to charge you cancellation fee if you cancel the bookings.

Now we read you spent a lot of time looking for alternative accommodation to end up in a distance similar to what we offerred you as a solution by the Prague Castle.

The water issue (reconstruction of the sewage system in the street and related reconstruction of water piping in the house of reception) made the exchange of apartments only more difficult, but the core of the problem was that we could recogize that you belonged together.

Renata Vaneckova
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Pava
Hotel U Pava
#181 of 649 in Prague
356 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Golden Scissors
The Golden Scissors
#74 of 649 in Prague
336 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Nicholas Hotel Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel u Schnellu
Hotel u Schnellu
#299 of 649 in Prague
138 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Trinidad Prague Castle
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Certovka Hotel
Certovka Hotel
#118 of 649 in Prague
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charles Bridge Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles Bridge Apartments

Property: Charles Bridge Apartments
Address: Cihelna 3 | Mala Strana, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 656 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charles Bridge Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charles Bridge Apartments are situated in the very heart of the old town of Prague, just a few steps from the famous Charles Bridge,the backbone of the city. Most apartments are situated in the picturesque Lesser Town (In Czech 'Mala Strana', just below the Prague Castle.Charles Bridge Apartments offer a wide range of apartments from small studio´s to spacious 4-room suites, all with private facilities and kitchens or kitchenettes.Each apartment is different in its character and furnishings, some are designed and renovated in a very modern way, some are more traditional however all comply with described standards of equipment. All Prague major sights are within a walking distance. Charles Bridge Apartments offer affordable, cosy and comfortable accommodation in the most beautiful and romantic part of the old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Charles Bridge Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing