We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“budget food heaven”
Review of Jan Paukert

Jan Paukert
Ranked #1,352 of 5,506 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: Delicatessen, French, Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Neighborhood: Praha 1
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“budget food heaven”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

went in for a tea, ended up with a sevond lunch - yea, it was that good.
the open sandwiches are just divine (better than all those i had in copenhagen and venice). rmb to go for something with goat cheese. dont think, just come.

Helpful?
1 Thank philip l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    28
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“delicious and inexpensive”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

During our stay in Prague, me and my friend went there twice for an afternoon snack. The hearty sandwiches, delicatessen and salads were just delicious and very inexpensive. The cakes and desserts were very good as well, though more expensive than the hearty dishes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank UrsulaRegoew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv District, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best tartlet in town”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

After passing this amazing looking place three times we decided to enter for breakfast.
The pastries here are amazing. both savry and sweet. Breakfasts are good and the coffee was excellent.
Good service and enjoyable atmosphire!

Helpful?
1 Thank anatza
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I read about Jan Paukert while looking for places to eat in Prague. Turns out that it was 2 doors down from my Hostel which made it even better!

It was a little confusing at first as all the open-faced sandwiches were pre-made and in a display case. You have to select which one you would like (while pointing to the specific one and trying to pronounce the Czech word!). From there, you pay, but if you would like dessert, you must go to the other side of the restaurant and point and pay just like you did for the sandwiches.

There is a seating area in the back if you would like to eat there, or they package your meal up so you can take it away. It seemed that there were many locals eating there on their lunch break, and many took it to go.

The sandwiches are almost like art..they are so beautifully decorated! Even better is the price! I paid approximately the equvilant of just over $2 Canadian dollar for TWO sandwiches. They aren't very big, so I ordered two. I ended up going twice in my three days in Prague because the price couldn't be beat!

If you have the opportunity, check out Jan Paukert. For the price, you really get a great deal!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank soconnor14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris County, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
1,063 reviews
483 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4,199 helpful votes
“U Paukerta - great delicatessen”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Known for its specialty -chlebicky- open faced small sandwiches, offering many choices and combinations. Over the years these little breads became so popular that they became part of food served at parties and on holidays.A tradition in our house for the New Years Eve celebration. The Praguers know the store and place to eat well, it's been in the same place for almost hundred years.
There is also an extensive selection of imported cheeses, charcuterie,breads, wine and cognacs. The sweet confections include handmade truffles and large selection of delicate cakes and pastries. It is a very nice and classy place in the center of town, convenient to stop in and have a snack or purchase a tasty gift.
We like to stop for a quick lunch at least once, every time we are in Prague.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Wenovo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jan Paukert also viewed

 

Been to Jan Paukert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing