We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food, excellent prices, not a rip-off for Prague” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant U Jindrisske Veze

Restaurant U Jindrisske Veze
Ranked #297 of 5,323 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, Czech, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Nove Mesto (New Town)
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“excellent food, excellent prices, not a rip-off for Prague”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had food twice there during our stay in Prague. We found it by chance walking around the side-streets of Prague because we wanted to avoid the tourist traps off Place Wencelas and everywhere else around Prague old-town. It is a no-frills restaurant, with excellent typical food, and mostly you find only locals there! Prices are very cheap for Prague, and portions are huge, service is good and quick. We recommend the smoked pork knew and the stroganoff. And one of the cheapest beers in twon! I hope it will never be spoiled by hordes of tourists!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anto_Seb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    98
    20
    5
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Maybe last hospoda downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

One of the last typical Prague "hospoda" in the very heart of the city. In most cases excellent & real Czech cuisine for really Czech prices (daily specials under CZK 90). When in Prague, I always go there for a well cooked and quickly served lunch or dinner. Of course it is not a high culinary art, but it is tasty and allays your hunger sucessfully. One remark: the only thing I did not like were "bramborové knedlíky" (potato dumplings) - they were rather tough and definitely not home made. The wood panelling and heavy wooden furniture as well as rich & original decoration on the walls - old pictures and clocks - create a special, almost cozy atmosphere,

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tomash10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
189 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A taste of local Prague”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Over the last 12 years this has become a favourite stop for lunch or evening meal every time we visit Prague.
Its a no nonsense local bar/restaraunt with reasonable prices for food & drinks located conveniently by Henry's Tower not far off Wencelas Square.
Visited three times over our stay - we were on Wencelas Square - so Jindriskka's location very convenient.
Staff always friendly and helpful English Menu available. Recently travelled with a large group which meant we needed to pre-book but not sure on numbers exactly.
Group booking of 18 adults one night handled with no problems.
Equally happy to see 8 of us on another night.
A true taste of Prague
We will be back on our next visit without doubt!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
176 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Perfect for lunch or a warming drink”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stopped for coffee and cake but didn't want to leave! The cafe felt so welcoming and in a perfect spot for a rest from the sites!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Andbain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
180 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

This is my favourite restaurant, daily special menu, reasonable prices, just yards off the Wenceslaw Square

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank AnnaKurcinova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant U Jindrisske Veze also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant U Jindrisske Veze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing