We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value meal a stone's throw from the tourist trail”
Review of U Betlemske kaple

U Betlemske kaple
Ranked #702 of 5,506 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: European, Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good value meal a stone's throw from the tourist trail”
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

I came here purely by chance with my family after walking around looking for somewhere to eat. We were attracted by the relatively comprehensive menu and decent prices.

The restaurant is located very close to the old town and the new town, yet has the prices of restaurants located further out. The food was very good, and a vegetarian in my family was catered for. Our waiter spoke english and service was good.

This restaurant overall did it's job, and I can have no complaints.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adr11iano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    115
    39
    18
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice budget place to eat.”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We were recommended to this place by our Pension (Green Garland) just round the corner. We had a nice simple but hearty meal and a carafe of very acceptable house red wine and some beer. Nice atmosphere, no noisy people...seemed to be mostly locals minding their own business. All in all, we had a nice meal. Would have returned if we had stayed longer.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GomezandMorticia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A great small find in Old Town Prague”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

During a week's stay in Prague, we had two dinners and a lunch in this two room restaurant with attractive, carved wooden seating and wooden tables that is a short walk from the Old Town Square. We enjoyed everything, including the fried potato pancakes that were a relief from the bland dumplings that seem to be served everywhere else. Even the pike and the desserts were good. The friendly staff serve freshly prepared traditional Czech fare in a smoke-free and relatively quiet atmosphere. Dinner for three with ample food and beer cost about $55 - with tip. You can't go wrong here.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank longtimefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“good pork leg”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Great price and very tasty. Definitely recommend it. We did take away.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank thekhuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Worth the Visit”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We found this restaurant close to our hotel (Cloister Inn). It recommended itself because it was full and its patrons appeared to be, mostly, local residents. The menu is mostly Czech, lots of choice and very good value. With an entree (garlic soup - something new but very good and warming), two mains, wine, beer and a slivovice to finish off the bill was still less than 800 crowns including a tip. A warning - I had the slow cooked pork knuckle. It was moist, very tasty and with a rich sauce. Far too much for me to get through. I ordered it because I saw plenty of the locals ordering it. They sent back the stripped bone but I barely ate half of it.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WingerJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U Betlemske kaple also viewed

 
Prague, Bohemia
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to U Betlemske kaple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing