We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best choices in Prague!”
Review of Cafe Colore

Cafe Colore
Ranked #362 of 5,543 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Central European, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Nove Mesto (New Town)
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best choices in Prague!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Spending a Valentine's evening in this restaurant, I must say that my girlfriend and I had an amazing time! Everything spot on from atmosphere to excellent, tasty food or very professional and friendly staff! You can tell that the owner as well as the staff really want you to feel great. We will definitely come back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GuilhermeLuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    477
    239
    59
    29
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The waitress was rude & dismissive from the time we walked in to the time we left.”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We had see the Cafe Colore close to where we were staying, and decided to try it after leaving a fantastic concert. Looking around after we entered the cafe we noticed that those seated at tables only had drinks in front of them. Since it was after 10 PM we asked the waitress if they were still serving food. She looked at us like we were nuts, sneered a little and said "of course". It went downhill from there. She was not welcoming, she didn't pay attention as we were ordering, so we didn't receive everything that we asked for, she never checked to make sure the food was to our liking and we felt rushed out the door. Nice decor and menu, but the food was just OK. Our waitress this night had really turned a wonderful night for us sour. Needless to say we won't go back again.

Helpful?
3 Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeColoreCZ, Owner at Cafe Colore, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Sir, many thanks for your review ans well as for your visit. I am sorry to learn that you had such bad experience with the waitress. As you can see we have pretty good position on the TA, therefore it is very important for me to analyse any complains. So I would like to ask you kindly to contact me directly on martin@cafecolore.cz. Many thanks in advance and with my best regards
Martin Novak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Modern Mixture Cuisine”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Found this place on TripAdvisor that seemed like a great place for breakfast/brunch. The place is modern looking and it would be good to reserve ahead of time as it got really busy with a lot of spots reserved.

Their breakfast didnt turn out to be all that great. The omelette was way to salty and their freshly squeezed orange juice was lukewarm and small portioned. Nevertheless if you veer away from the breakfast the food is quite amazing. I started with a traditional czech soup called kulajda (dill mushroom and potatoes) and then had the chanterelle mushroom ragout with fried veal cutlets on the top. It was so good. I usually hate carrots but i ate all the carrots in the ragout cuz it was that tasty. It seems more like a local cafe than a tourist joint as a lot a of locals are doing work and business there. There is free wifi but it's not very stable.

Great place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lynnie_poops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeColoreCZ, Owner at Cafe Colore, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Sir, I would like to thank you very much for your reviw on the TA and for your visits to the Café Colore! I appreciate the fact that you returned back and enjoyed your evening with us! In addition I would like to explain the matter with the juice, we generaly serve 2 dcl and it is sqeezed from fresh fruits from the bar. We do not use ice during the winter time but we would be happy to add as much as requested. So next time! :-)
Once more thanks for visiting!
Martin novak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good to great food / great value in heart of city”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Visited Cafe Colore for lunch based on a nice looking dessert cooler and TA rec's.

Had a nice lunch, my wife had salmon and I had a stuffed chicken in sauce. My chicken was decent and the sauce good (a little dry, but not terrible), but my wife's salmon was phenomenol. Service was decent - initially we were served by someone that didn't speak much english, this led to some creative ordering. She was taken over by someone later on who helped us get squared away for dessert and the check which was appreciated.

Dessert was equally solid and good coffee.

For the several drinks, dessert, meals and coffee we only paid US 48$ before tip. A good deal very near the heart of the tourist district of Prague.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KRSTWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So relaxed and friendly with top notch food at reasonable prices.”
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for a drink on the way home to our hotel. The staff were friendly and the atmosphere was nice so we decided to come back for food the next night. Very impressed. After a short stay in Prague this restaurant was the best we visited by a considerable margin. Leave room for some home made cake.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Souter17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Colore also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Colore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing