We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Verny nice and convenient”
Review of Hotel Praga 1885

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Praga 1885
Ranked #389 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed here on business and got in on a Saturday evening. The hotel is very nice, clean, comfortable. Breakfast is buffet style and very adequate. The restaurant is not open on weekends for lunch or dinner, but there is a small mini mart store right next to it and a restaurant. Also the shopping mall is just 5 minutes away.
VERY friendly staff. Very helpful, they try very hard, speak English and German. There is free WIFI in the room as well as TV with Russian, German, English and Czech channels.
I would come back and can recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dolphinbaydiversfiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Praga 1885
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 150 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

This hotel is a bit more than I usually needed, pretending to be luxury hotel. As for me (I am not that luxury traveller, I must admit!) it is nice place to stay, well-connected to the old city. Good sleep quality and tasty breakfast, friendly staff. The only minus is an absence of dedicated parking place, however, I was lucky to find a parking slot in time (and didn't drove anywhere until we left Prague).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sasha817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Praga 1885 2 nights and i was totally satisfied. The room was really nice and clean, people were friendly and mostly smiling, breakfast was fresh and tasty. The hotel was far from the center of Prague and we had to use the car at any case. Nevertheless, we could find parking places relatively easy near the Hotel. The only negative aspekt was that smoking wasn t really forbidden, at least not at the reception area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kristalia1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I visited this hotel this august with my girlfriend. We both really like it. However there was one main disadvantage, there is no air conditioner so if you close the window it will be hot and if not you will listen trams and cars but we lived with view on a littke street so we didn't really hear the noise from the main street.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cherund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Plus
Short distance to the metro
Some good restaurants around (see tripadvisor list of hotels)
The best bed we had on our three week holliday
Nice continental breakfast

Min
No airco (with 30plus degrees thats no tnice)
Since we had no airco we opened the window but that meant streetnoise ++++

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ruud V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were lucky and got a free upgrade as all the standard rooms were booked, so had a superior room. It was very clean, we liked the decor and there was a balcony. The trams going past were loud and some people in the night were noisy going past the hotel, but I slept fine with my earplugs on. Bed was very comfy. The staff were mostly friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fine but the heat wave in Prague at the time of our visit was a bit problematic, a lot of the things on the breakfast buffet looked like they had spent too much time in the heat so I ate only a few things. Other than that, the selection was quite okay. Location is good, we liked Smichov "centre" about 5min from the hotel. Metro station there, shopping possibilities (including Tesco for food) and nice restaurants.
All in all, for the price, a great hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the street have a lot of street noise.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Silenci0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Four stars do this hotel no justice.

Room is very clean, has Internet, safe deposit box, mini bar, TV (which you probably would never turn on, but nevertheless it's there). The staff changes the towels daily.

Room decor is very pleasant, and in the 1885 mood. Breakfast is always delicious, with great variety of food, from cornflakes to eggs with bacon.

Location of the hotel is fantastic, regardless of the fact that it is located in district 5. Andel metro station is nearby, and the tram station which takes you to the city center is only 20 meters away.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cptsudoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
D'Angelo Hotel
D'Angelo Hotel
#368 of 647 in Prague
100 reviews
Praha 4
Hotel Nabucco
Hotel Nabucco
#258 of 647 in Prague
328 reviews
Praha 3
Novum Hotel Vitkov Prag
Novum Hotel Vitkov Prag
#370 of 647 in Prague
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hotel Union Prague
Hotel Union Prague
#280 of 647 in Prague
503 reviews
Praha 3
Three Crowns Hotel
Three Crowns Hotel
#339 of 647 in Prague
660 reviews
Hotel Augustus et Otto
#319 of 647 in Prague
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Praga 1885? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praga 1885

Address: Plzenska 560/29 | Prague 5, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #389 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: $48 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Praga 1885 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Praga 1885 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing