We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Really nice and not expencive place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Praga 1885

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Praga 1885
Ranked #403 of 667 Hotels in Prague
Ulyanovsk, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really nice and not expencive place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I visited this hotel this august with my girlfriend. We both really like it. However there was one main disadvantage, there is no air conditioner so if you close the window it will be hot and if not you will listen trams and cars but we lived with view on a littke street so we didn't really hear the noise from the main street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    62
    29
    6
    8
See reviews for
16
70
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Plus
Short distance to the metro
Some good restaurants around (see tripadvisor list of hotels)
The best bed we had on our three week holliday
Nice continental breakfast

Min
No airco (with 30plus degrees thats no tnice)
Since we had no airco we opened the window but that meant streetnoise ++++

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruud V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were lucky and got a free upgrade as all the standard rooms were booked, so had a superior room. It was very clean, we liked the decor and there was a balcony. The trams going past were loud and some people in the night were noisy going past the hotel, but I slept fine with my earplugs on. Bed was very comfy. The staff were mostly friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fine but the heat wave in Prague at the time of our visit was a bit problematic, a lot of the things on the breakfast buffet looked like they had spent too much time in the heat so I ate only a few things. Other than that, the selection was quite okay. Location is good, we liked Smichov "centre" about 5min from the hotel. Metro station there, shopping possibilities (including Tesco for food) and nice restaurants.
All in all, for the price, a great hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the street have a lot of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Silenci0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Four stars do this hotel no justice.

Room is very clean, has Internet, safe deposit box, mini bar, TV (which you probably would never turn on, but nevertheless it's there). The staff changes the towels daily.

Room decor is very pleasant, and in the 1885 mood. Breakfast is always delicious, with great variety of food, from cornflakes to eggs with bacon.

Location of the hotel is fantastic, regardless of the fact that it is located in district 5. Andel metro station is nearby, and the tram station which takes you to the city center is only 20 meters away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cptsudoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
537 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

fine hotel about 5 minutes from andel metro station ,and tram stop a 2 mins walk,old world decor which we love service was not very smiley as has been said before except the breakfast lady who was very nice, our room was large very clean and comfy but we were on the front so there was tram noise but with windows shut it was no problem,very nice varied breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

A little distance from the main city sights but it was no hardship for a 5 min walk for either a tram, bus or metro, ticket system very easy to master. The room was clean and comfortable with daily maid service, the buffet breakfast offered a wide choice and the decor inside the hotel was a nice susprise, as a single traveller it offered everything I wanted

Room Tip: I slept at the rear, the front could probably be noisy but what do I know I'm deaf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martin a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Our family (parents with 3 kids) stayed for 4 nights in the hotel in October. We got a double and a 3-bed-room right next to each other. The rooms were well furnished and the modern bathrooms very clean. WiFi is free and at good quality.
The breakfast buffet offered a large selection was was always well (re)filled. The breakfast staff was very attentive. At the first day we asked for hot milk: all the other days hot milk was already ready for us. We wish the receptionist would have been more friendly.
There is a tram station nearby with frequent connections to the city centre and metro. Unfortunately the tram is also very loud at night, thus sleeping with open windows is nearly impossible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Kroko H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Ambiance Hotel
Ambiance Hotel
#160 of 667 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Praha 5
Balkan
Balkan
#425 of 667 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Praha 5
NH Prague City
NH Prague City
#148 of 667 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 8
Galerie Royale
Galerie Royale
#127 of 667 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#185 of 667 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Praha 6
Hotel International Prague
Hotel International Prague
#212 of 667 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Praga 1885? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praga 1885

Property: Hotel Praga 1885
Address: Plzenska 560/29 | Prague 5, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #403 of 667 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Praga 1885 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Praga 1885 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing