We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm”
Review of Hotel Praga 1885

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Praga 1885
Ranked #399 of 649 Hotels in Prague
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old world charm”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

A little distance from the main city sights but it was no hardship for a 5 min walk for either a tram, bus or metro, ticket system very easy to master. The room was clean and comfortable with daily maid service, the buffet breakfast offered a wide choice and the decor inside the hotel was a nice susprise, as a single traveller it offered everything I wanted

Room Tip: I slept at the rear, the front could probably be noisy but what do I know I'm deaf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martin a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    64
    30
    6
    9
See reviews for
17
72
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Our family (parents with 3 kids) stayed for 4 nights in the hotel in October. We got a double and a 3-bed-room right next to each other. The rooms were well furnished and the modern bathrooms very clean. WiFi is free and at good quality.
The breakfast buffet offered a large selection was was always well (re)filled. The breakfast staff was very attentive. At the first day we asked for hot milk: all the other days hot milk was already ready for us. We wish the receptionist would have been more friendly.
There is a tram station nearby with frequent connections to the city centre and metro. Unfortunately the tram is also very loud at night, thus sleeping with open windows is nearly impossible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Kroko H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

First that needs to be said is that this hotel guarantees satisfaction of 4-star hotel, in spite of what others say.
Hotel: historic building from end of 19th century near to rush street, which provides briliant view to every day prague life. The goal of the hotel is to make atmosphere like in black and white movies }furniture, music in lobby and restaurant, whole style of hotel)
Rooms: clean rooms with everything you need (fridge, bathroom accesories, tv, wifi)
Location: 30 minutes of walking to very centre of Prague (old town sqaure), but we should'nt forget about nice sightseeing in district of Smichov, where is hotel situated.
Service: if it was some coincidental problem, staff were about to solve it asap.
I'd like to give this hotel excellent ranking, but I'm still waiting to hotel of my dreams ;)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robert_Nezbeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

very nice hotel, a little aside from center - 30min by foot. Free wi-fi and parking slots, good breakfast which is rare for Prag. Rooms are nice and clean, old-fashioned ambience - we liked it. Frontside rooms are loud when window is open, when closed - OK. Beds were too hard, this is probably the only real issue. The rest is very very good.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vladb67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Stayed here for five nights. Room was outstanding so no complaints there. Breakfast was good too apart from when the waitress took my plate away from under my nose without asking me. When I went to leave there was a very simple misunderstanding regarding the bill yet the so-called lady on reception was vile in the way that she spoke to me insinuating that I was trying to leave without paying my bill which was very far from the truth. I will never stay there again after this incident - you have been warned!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moldovia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

good service in reasonable price. Renovated old building, room clean equipped with all stuff what you need durign short business stay in Pague. Quite good choice for breakfast - buffet. NOTE! If you keep window open during night it is imposible to sleep, due to trams.
REMEMBER! close the widdow :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank atusia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Stayed here only one night, (transferred from other hotel wich was over booked) very nice room, clean, comfortable bed slept well. moderate breakfast. helpfull reception Staff. Wish we had booked here for weekend

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Worthwaitingfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hotel Augustus et Otto
#308 of 649 in Prague
320 reviews
Praha 5
Angelis
Angelis
#98 of 649 in Prague
409 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Golf Depandance
Hotel Golf Depandance
#227 of 649 in Prague
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 4
Hotel Nabucco
Hotel Nabucco
#246 of 649 in Prague
300 reviews
Praha 3
Novum Hotel Vitkov Prag
Novum Hotel Vitkov Prag
#350 of 649 in Prague
463 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Union Prague
Hotel Union Prague
#278 of 649 in Prague
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Praga 1885? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praga 1885

Property: Hotel Praga 1885
Address: Plzenska 560/29 | Prague 5, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #399 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Praga 1885 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Praga 1885 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing