We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Czech food I've had so far!!!”

Restaurant Pod Vezi
Ranked #80 of 6,264 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $45
Cuisines: European, Czech, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Praha 1 (City Center)
Description: The charming and cozy Restaurant Pod Vezi - in the heart of Prague in piqturesque Lesser Town, is calmly hidden in the shadow of Charles Bridge gothic tower. The Restaurant offers wide choice of delicious meals from Czech and International cuisine together with wide range of drinks and selected wines from domestic and foreign production. Whether it is your business meeting, lunch or fine dinner in Prague, our Chef and his team are always ready to provide you with their specialties and professional service. Get your culinary experience in charming atmosphere of our historical building while enjoying our suberb location in UNESCO protected area of historical city center of Prague. Restaurant Pod Vezi opening hours: daily 12:00 – 23:00 WI-FI connection in restaurant is free of charge.
Reviewed August 18, 2016

I was beginning to despair with Czech food esp. the kind you find in the super-touristic and super-crowded restaurants in the centre of Prague...
Well this is in Mala Strana just across the river in a better neighborhood - at least not as packed during August as the rest of the centre!
I had a perfect Czech duck plate which was recommended by the very polite and professional waiter , a strange salad with caramelized pear on green leaves (very tasty though) and a desert which was a bit mediocre - overall my best culinary experience so far in Prague!
Do visit - I know I will return.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank A_Rantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,719)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

642 - 646 of 2,720 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2016

We arrived in Prague and checked into the Pod Vezi our first night after a long day driving. We thought we would just have an average meal at the hotel restaurant prior to heading out for a bit to walk the city. To our surprise, this was one of the best meals we had during our stay in Prague! The wait staff was extremely helpful in assisting us to find an authentic dish we would enjoy as well as being very friendly. We were treated the same way for breakfast. And lastly, the location is right at the base of the bridge and the people watching is great. :-) Highly recommend!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ruthie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2016 via mobile

Wanted to find a good authentic Czech restaurant for our last night here. Right at the West end of Charles Bridge and there it was. We booked and whilst there was a little confusion with our booking the meal was excellent and the prices amazingly low, Eur 109 for 4 people. Food was imaginative and very well presented and you certainly did not come away hungry. Great location, great food and great price. Thoroughly recommend it.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank harryft211
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2016

Really good food for a really good price! Especially for guests of the hotel. I would recommend the aubergine bake and the little gem salad. Great service!

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank Rena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2016 via mobile

Just had a meal at this restaurant and to be honest we were expecting so much more after reading the great reviews. The place is in a great location, perhaps that is the reason it's so expensive. It's certainly not the food. The food was ok, but that's it, it was just ok. Nothing outstanding to warrant the high prices. Definitely would not want to eat here again.

Date of visit: August 2016
2  Thank Mancs12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Pod Vezi also viewed

 
Prague, Bohemia
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to Restaurant Pod Vezi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.