We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So noisy, can't sleep!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Leon D'Oro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Leon D'Oro
Ranked #30 of 661 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So noisy, can't sleep!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Family of 4 staying in cramped, smelly rooms. My two teenagers are cramped on a small sofa bed. The stench from the bathroom is disgusting, but worst of all is the constant noise from inside the hotel. Not outside. We can't sleep it's a constant racket. Don't be fooled by the pictures on the website, the rooms are cramped, dingy, (why put torn pictures on a wall). No satalite TV, thank goodness we are only here for 2 nights. We can't access the kitchenette as the sofa bed is blocking the fridge, stove and kettle. Very, very disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Winifred05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ERIC F, Director of Sales at Residence Leon D'Oro, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear customer, please let me take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to review the Residenc Leon d'Oro. in Prague, We encourage all feedback from our guests; as we firmly believe this is the only way to continue to achieve and maintain our high standards and to continuously make improvements.
I do apologise for any noise experienced throughout your stay, although this is one downfall of our vibrant location. We do have a full time maintenance manager on-site to assist with any issues that you may have come across in your room and our reception is available 24 hours a day.
I see you are not likely to stay with us again, but we would like the opportunity to change your mind. If you would like to take me up on this offer, please don’t hesitate in contacting me directly at the hotel.

Warm regards,
Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    413
    119
    48
    47
See reviews for
229
325
30
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Staff was accommodating and location is convenient to Old Town Square and Wenecelaus Square. I was happy to be barely a five minute walk from the delightful Astrological Clock. It is somewhat dark and old (very old) European, which is fine if you are prepared. I had a kitchenette to my surprise and the fridge proved to be handy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kb175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes / Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Nice hotel. Can get wifi in all areas. Breakfast is basic, hot food is scrambled egg, bacon and mini hot dog sausages. There's cereal, cakes, fruit and cold meats also however the toast takes about 10 minutes to get abit of colour!
From our room we could hear the astronomical clock every hour! And there is building work going on that includes Saturdays, 8am it started. No warning for this and did spoil our stay.
Easy to walk to all the sights, the rooms are bi, very clean and beds comfy!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kc_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ERIC F, Director of Sales at Residence Leon D'Oro, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Kc08, Thank you for taking the time to share your nice feedback on your recent stay at the Residence Leon d'Oro!

I am absolutely thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with usr It is always a pleasure to read such great comments from our valued guests.

I am pleased that you loved our central city location and its close proximity to all main attractions.

I would like to thank you very much for providing valuable feedback. Myself and the Residence Leon d'Oro team look forward to being your host again on future visits to Prague.

Kind regards,

Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Couldn't have asked for a better location, the hotel is conveniently placed between the Old town square and Wenceslas square. Easy walking distance to most points of interest. The room was basic but clean, there was an open drain in the middle of the bathroom floor which was over powering at times, the whole room smelled if the bathroom door was left open. All of the staff were lovely except for the grey haired chap on reception who was very rude and quite miserable, I dint think he smiled once. The breakfast was not suited to UK tastes but not inedible. A mediocre hotel but excellent location.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stevenclarkson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ERIC F, Director of Sales at Residence Leon D'Oro, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear client, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and I am so happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay at the Residence Leon d'Oro

I am delighted that you enjoyed the central location of the hotel and all that we have to offer in this busy part of the city, which is situated opposite the market, surrounded by some great restaurants and is easily accessible to other areas of the Prague.

Once again, thank you very much for your comments and I look forward to hopefully seeing you again on your next trip to Prague.

Kind regards,
Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Have just come home from a short break with my daughter. This is a fantastic hotel. It was recommended to me by a friend and I would recommend it any time. It is so Central to the old town Sq just two minutes walk away. Wencenlas square is just ten mins walk away. The hotel staff were very helpful and the driver of our airport shuttle car was very informative. Although there is no bar at the hotel the staff arranged for champagne to be brought to our room as a surprise for me. The view from the window couldn't have been better. We opened the curtains in the mornings to a spectacular view of the astronomical clock in the old square. Looking forward to my next visit to Prague and staying in this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank alison c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ERIC F, Director of Sales at Residence Leon D'Oro, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear client, Thank you very much for writing your recent review on trip advisor for Residence leon d'Oro. We were delighted that you enjoyed your time at the property and found that Leon d'Oro was a great base to explore Prague We very much hope to welcome you back soon, Kindest Regards
Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
189 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Stayed here for some days. Hotel has a great location in the city centre. From there you can just walk to most attractions. The rooms are quite big and absolutely no noise or whatsoever. Breakfast is quite simple but for me it was just fine. Would certainly see this as an option for a next visit to Prague.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimitry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Terrific breakfast and location. We were there when it was very warm and the lack of a/c was a problem. Functional and ok. Not fancy. No concierge and no frills. If you want help planning a trip, getting directions to a museum, getting a recommendation to a restaurant, etc. the staff is hit and miss.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Residence Bologna
Residence Bologna
#337 of 670 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Melantrich
Hotel Melantrich
#193 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Charles Bridge Palace
Charles Bridge Palace
#205 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#91 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#76 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#127 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Leon D'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Leon D'Oro

Property: Residence Leon D'Oro
Address: Havelska 496/29, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 661 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Leon D'Oro 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Residence Leon D'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Leon d`Oro Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing