We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check rhe concert hall”
Review of Rudolfinum

Rudolfinum
Book In Advance
More Info
$14.34*
and up
1-Hour Panoramic Bus Tour of Prague
More Info
$328.66*
and up
Musical Prague Private Tour
More Info
$62.15*
and up
Prague Buffet Dinner Cruise with Music including Hotel Transport
Ranked #4 of 138 Concerts & Shows in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Check rhe concert hall”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We wanted to go to a show in the large concert hall and the lady at rhe counter kept insisting thete was only one hall until we paid her the money. After that she merrily told us we wpuld be going to the small hall.

We heard a very touristy albeit good concert.

Helpful?
Thank indianlady
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    572
    301
    67
    15
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shawsville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Czech Philharmonic Concert”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We visited the Rudolfinium on Wednesday, December 19th, 2012 to see the Czech Philharmonic. WOW! Not only was the concert great, the auditorium was absolutely beautiful! If you get a chance to see a concert here during a trip to Prague, do not miss it. My husband and I jumped at the chance to get all dressed up and listen to world class music.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa_and_RobertP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Visit Rudolfinum and listen to one of the top thee orchestras in the world.”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Rudolfinum is in itself a jewel, it consists of the great Dvorak Hall, the Suk chamber music hall, a museum, cafe, and a large art center. But in this jewel dwells another, even more percious one; The Prague Philharmonic Orchestra! In the 1940's it was the worlds best orchestra. If you don't believe me, listen to the recordings of Prokofiev's Romeo and Juliet under the baton of Karel Ancerl.
Last year we went to a performance of Janacek: Mr. Broucek's travels, Dvorak's Ten
Biblical Songs, and Stravinsky's Petrouchka. It was in one word; incredible! The hall is acousticly wonderful, but difficult because of the three second reverb. The orchestra master this to the fullest. Their articulation is better than any other orchestra I can think of. You can hear everything, down to the tinyest detail. Bravo! They Bellona to the true middle-European orchestral tradition where presition is a matter of breathing together rather than being beaten together.
Their sound has the same wonderful quality as the Vienna philharmonic. We were mesmerized!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyer747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Consider before buying tickets for a concert”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Rudolfinum is one of the places that has heavily promoted concerts every night. If you go to a concert that is part of a festival or proper program that should be good, but it is more likely you will be offered tickets for one of the 'tourist' performances put on nearly every night. If so, think about it before going ahead. The cost is fairly substantial, between 700 and 1200 crowns, and what you get is only about 60 minutes of very familiar standard pieces, with a cutesy little encore at the end. Iam no expert, but I felt that the playing, though of a high standard, was just rushed through at a fast tempo. Also, for the Rudolfinum, be aware that the performance for these tourist concerts is not in the main hall but a smaller and less impressive secondary hall at the side. Personally I felt it was not worth what they charged, but if you just want to see a performance by professionals in a famous setting, go ahead.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gainesville georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Concert”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We attended two nights of the International Prague Music Festival. Beautiful venue and interesting to see the locals dressed for the evening.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank grits08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudolfinum also viewed

 

Been to Rudolfinum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing