We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No negatives”
Review of Hotel Donatello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Donatello
Ranked #136 of 368 Prague B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Nice hotel, great service, very kind, helpful and bright reception. I've enjoyed my stay there and surely next time in Prague will be Donatello my first choice where to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bofa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 170 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2010

We visited this hotel with my wife in September and were pleasantly surprised by how cozy and close to the city center this hotel was.
The reception is open 24hrs and the staff was very friendly and helpful in recommending a good restaurant to enjoy typical Czech cuisine.
The room we were staying in was clean and quiet, as the hotel is located on a side street, so not even the rush of traffic nearby disturbed us at night.
Breakfast was abundant and tasty, well worth the price.
Nothing to complain about, really. We are looking forward to visiting this hotel again in the near future, perhaps even still this year, when we are returning to Prague for the Christmas holidays.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo_mayer65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

Clean rooms, helpful staff, nice place and really tasteful breakfast. I can recommended and I am planning to get back!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith85London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Aside from the large pleasant room and the location I would certainly not recommend this hotel.

I booked a larger 'honeymoon suite' for a romantic 4 day trip with my boyfriend. The room was advertised this way on the website: 'If you want to spend romantic weekend in Prague our hotel offers You Honeymoon Service in a double room with king size bed, luxurious bathroom with extra size bathtub for 2 and bottle of Bohemia Sekt, flowers and fruit bowl included in price.'

The fact that the 'fruitbowl' was a wine glass of (partly mouldy) strawberries was the least of our worries...

In addition to the bedroom, the suite comprised a tiny dank bathroom (with a broken shower head and hair dryer) and a very poorly decorated kitchenette. Once I stepped out of the bedroom I felt as though I was in a hostel.

The hair dryer was 'fixed' with sellotape when I mentioned that it was broken, and although they fixed the shower head it was still impossible to have a shower without completely drenching the floor.

The mattress on king size bed was very comfortable I was generally pleased with sleep quality, however, the bed broke in the middle of the night, waking us both up. When I mentioned it to the person on reception she responded extremely rudely with a shrug. I had expected an apology but none was forthcoming. I felt very upset by this so I suggested that they apologise, to which she responded 'well I didn't do it'.

The breakfast room, which looks lovely on the pictures is actually a terribly depressing room. The breakfast itself was not to my taste (being a veggie) but others might have been satisfied with it. However, I will say that the coffee was very weak and the bread felt stale every morning on each of the 4 days on which we stayed.

The hotel used their own exchange rate of 26.6 Czech koruna (rather than the 28.8 everywhere else during our stay). They couldn't take payment in other currencies which meant that I was actually charged £20 extra for the room than I had expected. Payment was taken on arrival - before we were shown the room. I now wonder whether this is because they are trying to avoid dissatisfied customers from refusing to pay the full price on departure.

I would definitely not recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salbuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

I would like to thank all the stuff!! they were very helpful. I spent 3nights with my fiancee in this lovely hotel. We had a room on the top floor and it was really quiet. Cleanness was perfect everytime! Very good breakasts with plenty of food. Prague was nice, even we were there when it was raining almost all the time. I hope we will have another chance to get back, to the hotel Donatello and to Prague!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xFerdnandox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

Were at Donatello for 3 days and felt comfortable. Nice receptoionists ready to help. WE bought a sightseeng tour from them.Everything was perfect. Rich breakfast with shampagne and gulash. We had nise big room with comfortable bed and 2! bathrooms. Was cleaned every day. Perfect location!
We enjoyed our trip and would like to say thanks to Donatello staff! see You next Year!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w_pata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

It was my first visit to Prague. Excellent hotel, decor, rooms, staff, breakfast buffet were all 1st class. Excellent location,it is in walking distance from major tourist places of attraction. Metro, tram station. Our room (double) was clean and spacious. Hotel staff is nice and helpful.Cheap price for quality of hotel. I'll recommend it to my friends. And also i will return!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azi-Istanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Sunrise
Hotel Sunrise
#172 of 646 in Prague
263 reviews
Praha 2
Alton
Alton
#278 of 646 in Prague
253 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Brixen Prague
Hotel Brixen Prague
#126 of 646 in Prague
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Beseda Prague
Hotel Beseda Prague
#218 of 646 in Prague
971 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Alveo Suites
Alveo Suites
#24 of 368 in Prague
43 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Residence Jecna
Residence Jecna
#42 of 368 in Prague
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Donatello

Address: Salmovska 1490/14, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 2
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 368 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range: $33 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Donatello 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Fastbooking, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing