We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend!”
Review of Hotel Donatello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Donatello
Ranked #90 of 365 Prague B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Very cozy, quiet hotel, which fully corresponds to 4*. Staff is very friendly. We liked especially Spa - it was just incredibly nice and for a good price. Candles, champagne - just a romance! Also at the hotel they offer massage, you need just book in advance. Of the disadvantages would like to mention so weak WiFi and phone didn't work in the room, as well as not quite more diverse breakfast, although pancakes were cooked awesome! And the next visit we were promised to fix everything!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsy_Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 167 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2011

We spent a romantic honeymoon at this hotel. We liked the spacious room with king size bed, on which I slept well. it was also good, that the hotel is located in a quiet street, but it takes about 5 minutes walking to the city center (Wenceslas Square).

Breakfast was delicious, especially I liked the sweet pancakes.

The hotel offers a range of additional services, we have a massage.
It was nice to take advantage of a jacuzzi after.

Overall, we really liked this hotel . We had a good time there. And the next time we'll be in Prague, we will stay at the hotel Donatello.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waldemar_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

We spent the romantic weekend at hotel Donatello.We booked the Honeymoon room.It was wonderful decor, king size bed with very big cornet bath.We was very glad to have a breakfast in the room in the morning without any payment.
The hotel is in the center.But we did not hear any noise from the street.It takes 10 minutes to get to the main street.
In the hotel you also can use the new opened jacuzzi and masage.
I think,we will stay at this hotel next time.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oleksandra_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Pros-
- Nice big rooms with lots of storeage
- No noise from traffic or people outside
- friendly and helpful lady on reception all day
- computer & wifi to use in reception
- beautiful decor
- great powerful shower and lovely bath

Cons-
-location wasn't the best for site seeing, it was a walkable distance into the city centre, but maybe not after a heavy meal or a few drinks. also maybe not somewhere I would like to walk on my own at night. Would have much rathered a hotel nearer the city centre, the wording of the location on the website is very clever. It is around a 20-30 minute walk to old square and the bridge etc.
-Breakfast was not good. There was a sign saying 4euro for orange juice, and if you did want any, there wasn't any. Milk for ceral was UHT, coffee was cold, room was depressing, cheese was stale.
- Unhelpful man on reception at night, we went down to ask for more shampoo as none was left in the room for us and he said "not here now" so I couldn't wash my hair that night.
- Cleaning of the room wasn't great- the first time it was cleaned the towels weren't changed, glasses that we'd used weren't washed, and shampoo wasn't restocked
- we had a double bed but two single duvets which wasn't good

Overall the location let this hotel down for us, which maybe is our fault as we should have done more research but it isn't nearly as grand looking outside as it is on the photo, and not the nicest of areas. we saw men going through the skip outside in the middle of the night on two occasions. The hotel is nice and very pretty inside, but definitely not four stars

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spikeandicey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

We stayed at hotel Donatello for 1 night during our trip.We liked this hotel,because it is small,comfortable and quiet hotel.It is good for family with children.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ksyuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Nice hotel, great service, very kind, helpful and bright reception. I've enjoyed my stay there and surely next time in Prague will be Donatello my first choice where to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bofa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

We visited this hotel with my wife in September and were pleasantly surprised by how cozy and close to the city center this hotel was.
The reception is open 24hrs and the staff was very friendly and helpful in recommending a good restaurant to enjoy typical Czech cuisine.
The room we were staying in was clean and quiet, as the hotel is located on a side street, so not even the rush of traffic nearby disturbed us at night.
Breakfast was abundant and tasty, well worth the price.
Nothing to complain about, really. We are looking forward to visiting this hotel again in the near future, perhaps even still this year, when we are returning to Prague for the Christmas holidays.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo_mayer65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Sunrise
Hotel Sunrise
#180 of 646 in Prague
251 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Brixen Prague
Hotel Brixen Prague
#130 of 646 in Prague
815 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#121 of 646 in Prague
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 11
Ibis Praha Wenceslas Square
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Cloister Inn Hotel
Cloister Inn Hotel
#86 of 646 in Prague
2,105 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Wenceslas Square Hotel
Wenceslas Square Hotel
#10 of 365 in Prague
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Donatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Donatello

Address: Salmovska 1490/14, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 2
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 365 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range: $40 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Donatello 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing