We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best beer and pork” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of U Balbinu

U Balbinu
Ranked #724 of 5,323 Restaurants in Prague
Price range: $13 - $16
Cuisines: Bar, European, Czech, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Nove Mesto (New Town)
Paleo Faliro, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best beer and pork”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

it is very nice restaurant with very good prices and everything that we ate was fantastic. the temperature of the beer is the right and we had a vey good time eating there

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ANDREAS K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    124
    39
    20
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Dry duck”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Great service. Enjoyed a yummy pate to get started... but the duck was ia disappointment: inedibly dry and tough.

Helpful?
Thank Bkreswatini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stumbled across this place whilst researching online only because they served Delirium Tremens on tap!

Place was amazing...atmosphere unique and service was second to none! If you want a very small break from the amazing Czech beer then you can even grab a stein of Paulaner and really soak up the ambiance. Cant recommend this place enough and so relieved I went out of my way to it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BarnesBrewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin P, Manager at U Balbinu, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear, let me thank you for your visit in our restaurant. I am very glad to hear that you enjoy all the ambiance in our restaurant, service, food and especially Delirium Tremens on tap.
We´ll look forward to your next visit.
With kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great authentic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stumbled upon this restaurant and could not be happier that we went in! The service was good, the food and beer even better. I had the potato dumplings and am still thinking about how good they were! A very clean, casual, and nicely decorated brew pub. (Also very inexpensive.) Hard to beat, our best meal in Prague.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank syonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Down to earth and tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We went here twice during our five day city break in Prague. We'd initially gone to U Pinkasu but were turned away because we didn't have a reservation. The waitress kindly recommnended U Balbinu as an alternative and we were not disappointed. We loved it enough to go back and we think we actually got a better deal than U Pinkasu, which didn't look very appealing to us. Anyway the food was so tasty and very very reasonably priced. Make sure you are hungry as the portions are huge and meat is the focus. So I'm not sure that this would suit vegetarians. The beer was good and the service was interesting (waiters are a bit kooky but that adds to the atmosphere in my opinion). If you're looking for fine dining then this will not be to your taste. However this is a down to earth, no fuss place to have a tasty meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hailey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U Balbinu also viewed

 

Been to U Balbinu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing