We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel & Amazing Value!”
Review of 1.Republic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
1.Republic
Ranked #118 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Hotel & Amazing Value!”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights whilst visiting Prague for a stag do.

I have to say I was very sceptical about the hotel prior to arrival (we paid £18 a night for 3 nights for a double room), however when we arrived everyone in the group was pleasantly surprised.

The hotel is lovely inside and the staff at reception were more than helpful and even let us check into our rooms 3 hours early.

The rooms are a good size, clean and comfortable. The bathroom also had a nice powerful shower which helped in the -15 weather!

The hotel is walking distance from the main square (10-15 minutes) and also has plenty of local shops nearby if you want snacks or drinks, etc...

For the money we paid, you will have to work very hard to find a hotel of this standard. We had a great experience here and I would happily stay here again when visiting Prague!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Neel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firstrepublic, Manager at 1.Republic, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Neel.
Thanks a lot for you positive review. We will be looking forward to your next visit in Prague.
Alexandra Ticha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    205
    56
    14
    3
See reviews for
131
230
26
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We were a party of 6 staying for 3 nights, I was initially was a little worried when arriving and finding a small entrance covered in dark curtains. However a sigh of relief when arriving to the reception, the rooms were spacious, clean and the shower was nice and powerful.

The location is great, 10 minute stroll into Wenceslas Square and 15-20 minutes into Old Town, basically most sights are accessible by foot. The staff at reception were extremely helpful, they helped us organise taxis. planning our days and nights out, we even managed to borrow a number of DVD's to keep us entertained.

Stayed January 2014 (Minus Temperature!)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firstrepublic, Manager at 1.Republic, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Mani
Thank you for your time, that you spend by writting your review. We are glad , that you liked your stay in 1. Republic hotel and we are looking forward to yout next stay in Prague.
Alexandra Ticha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

travelling in Jan from Portugal. booked a 4 person, spacious, comfortable, quiet room.
Personal: without being the most likable I've met, they were polite (for me that is enough). We got no complaints at all.
Not a bad breakfast but milk should be stuffed more often (just an easily improvement detail).
not far from Muzeum and Venceslau square (5-7 minute walking). So not far from the Tube and also (turning left instead of right when leaving the hotel) not far from tram 22 who can take you to almost any of the main tourist places.
We had a nice experience and could choose this hotel to stay again without any problem.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_Filipe_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firstrepublic, Manager at 1.Republic, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear J_Filipe_M
Thank you for your time and that you shared your hotel review on Tripadvisor.com
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you were satisfied with our services. Thank you one more for your review and we hope to see you at the next Visite in Prague.
Alexandra Ticha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my wife from 26-29 Dec in Room 209. The hotel itself is quite centrally located just 10-15 mins walk from Wencelas and Old Town squares. The prices are quite reasonable at about 60 Euros/night. I liked the fact that it was clean and staff were friendly plus wifi worked really well free of cost in the room. The room was ok sized but not very modern, however, with the price, you can't complain.
The negatives about the hotel are that they don't provide free water bottles to drink in the room and the breakfast although with a good spread, was not very good in taste.
I would stay here in only for the cost and would recommend the hotel to anyone for that reason.

Room Tip: Try looking for rooms not facing the main street and away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sourabhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firstrepublic, Manager at 1.Republic, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear sourabhc.
Thank you for your time, that you have spent by writing your review. I am sorry that you were not satisfied with the quality of our breakfast. If you decide to stay in our hotel during your next visit in Prague, contact me please so than we can meet up your requirments.
Alexandra Ticha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here (couple) in December. Hotel is easy to find from the station and it's situated in a quiet street not far from the centre (7mins walk).
The room was average size and clean with a small average bathroom (no bath). As a couple we requested for a double bed but were given 2 singles pushed together which is fairly standard in Europe.The mattress was okay but you find yourself in the hole between the 2 beds. It was my girlfriend's birthday and the manager surprised us with a bottle of prosecco to say Happy Birthday which was a very nice touch!
The breakfast was good, wide variety of cheese, ham as well as omelette and warm sausages, quite a good selection of things overall!
Staff were friendly and accommodating, we would recommend staying here!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panpan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firstrepublic, Manager at 1.Republic, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear panpan85
Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted that you have with your girlfriend choosing our hotel. We hope to see you during your next visite in Prague .
Alexandra Ticha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sintra
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Location, beds and room sizes are great.
Noise in main street at night is loud, so avoid rooms facing main street.
Cleaning is average, but somewhat short of a rated 4 *
One night the air conditioning went on every 2 hours making a loud noise.
Night staff is argumentative and rude

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PauloContreiras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firstrepublic, Manager at 1.Republic, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Paulo
Thank you for you reviEw. We aree sorry to hear , that you were not satisfied with our night staff. I hope that is it mIsunderstanding, because this kind of behavior it was not typical for our staff. Thank you one more for your comments, that we will shared with our team.
Alexandra Ticha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lviv, Ukraine
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Older hotel. The room was a little dark. Great for families. Great price. Good location. Fantastic breakfast. We would visit this hotel again. Older hotel. Great for families. Great price. Good location. Fantastic breakfast. We would visit this hotel again

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ehud123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firstrepublic, Manager at 1.Republic, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for your time, that you spend by writting your review. We are glad , that you liked your stay in 1. Repiublic hotel and we are looking forward to yout next stay in Prague.
Alexandra Ticha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Archibald City
Archibald City
#104 of 649 in Prague
904 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Boutique Hotel Seven Days
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Suite Home Prague
Hotel Suite Home Prague
#93 of 649 in Prague
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hotel Brixen Prague
Hotel Brixen Prague
#137 of 649 in Prague
727 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Miss Sophie's Hotel
Miss Sophie's Hotel
#102 of 649 in Prague
689 reviews
Praha 2
Green Garden Hotel
Green Garden Hotel
#68 of 649 in Prague
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1.Republic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1.Republic

Property: 1.Republic
Address: V tunich 1625/8, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 2
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 1.Republic 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel 1. Republic is located in the very centre of Prague, some 400 meters from the Wenceslas Square, in a peaceful locality and within easy reach of the public transport. It has come into being by reconstruction of the first-republic house (built in 1925), has been awarded the star rating 4**** according to the standards of Czech Association of Hotels and Restaurants and is equipped in the style of the First Republic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your 1.Republic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing