We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely apartment and hotel in a good location!”
Review of 1.Republic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
1.Republic
Ranked #118 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Trim, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment and hotel in a good location!”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had booked the Radium Apartment on the top floor of this hotel after seeing the positive reviews on Tripadvisor and Booking.com and we were not disappointed. The hotel is very well located, close to the tram 22 stop and the underground station (a 5 to 10 min walk).

The apartment was fantastic with views of the Prague Castle and Charles bridge. There is a very good size open plan living, dining and kitchen and three good size bedrooms. The only let down was that there was only one shower as one of the two bathrooms had a washing machine. Another shower would have made a big difference.

The hotel staff were very friendly and recommended a good local restaurant which was only a 5 minute walk from the hotel where we enjoyed a lovely evening meal at very reasonable prices on two evenings. The breakfast was good as well with plenty of choices of both hot and cold food.

We will surely be coming back here next time we visit Prague.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L0vetravelling80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    205
    56
    14
    3
See reviews for
131
230
26
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights at the Radium apartment. Situated on the top floor, it is a well furnished suite with 3 bedrooms, kitchen, dining room, living room, clothes washer ( no dryer) but only 1.5 bathroom with a single shower. With sleeping facilities for upto 8, a single shower was the only negative.
Hotel staff was very friendly and good breakfast included.
Located a close walking distance to the I. P. Pavlova station and Wencelas square, Tram 22 was close and the 3 day pass helped us get to any place in Prague in a jiffy.
Definitely would stay here again !

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stilrfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firstrepublic, General Manager at 1.Republic, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear STILRFAN,

this is really nice review. Many thanks for that.

With best regards

Filip Krischke, director of the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikkeli
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Good location, really good beds, clean (no bedbugs), excellent bathroom, quiet, rather good breakfast, good wifi at least in room 104, but not air cond., no view (by opening the rough-surface-window the wall of opposite house as a view) and room (at least 104) small.
In warm summer days the lack of air conditioning would be a problem.

Room Tip: Not 104, if you like space and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rampe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firstrepublic, General Manager at 1.Republic, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Rampe,

thank you for your positive comments as well as for the negative :)

With best regards

Filip Krischke, director of the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had the apartment on the top floor which was huge. It had three bedrooms all with double beds. It had cooking facilities and large living room including full sized fridge. It also had a washing machine and free WiFi. There was heated floors in the bathroom which was nice.

It was close to the central part of Prague and there was a good mini supermarket nearby which you could get drinks or food if you wanted to prepare meals in the room.

Room Tip: The apartment good value for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney190454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firstrepublic, General Manager at 1.Republic, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Rodney190454,

I appreciate that you gave us 5 stars. Thank you.

With best regards

Filip Krischke, director of the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

First trip to Prague so we relied on other reviews on Trip Advisor. Was a bit concerned but upon arrival, we were very impressed. It was a short walk from the I.P. Pavlova Metro to the hotel. Friendly greeting and very helpful staff throughout our stay. To say our room was large would be an understatement especially in comparison to other hotels we have stayed in throughout Europe. We had an entry way, large bedroom, large living/sitting room and full bath. After two weeks of just showers, the tub was appreciated. Good variety at breakfast. Location was a very short walk to tourist areas. All in all, a very good choice. Would definitely recommend it to others. Ask for the hotel's map of the city. It highlights the hotel's location and is much simpler to read than some others we picked up.

Room Tip: Room 203 was very spacious but there was a fair bit of early morning street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank webrunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firstrepublic, General Manager at 1.Republic, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear webrunt,

many thanks for your comment.

With best regards

Filip Krischke, director of the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is a very modern hotel, exceptionally clean, and in a great part of town. I would stay here again and have recommended it to others who will be traveling to Prague.

The decor is really stylized and the theme is followed throughout the entire hotel with custom art. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, always said "hello!" "good morning" etc. and helped us to book cabs, and even allowed us to borrow an umbrella when the weather turned wet. I enjoyed the breakfast quite a lot- I've found that many hotels around the world have been cutting back on their breakfasts, but 1 Republic offered a great spread. There were hot dishes, cold meat/cheese, cakes, fruit, yogurts, cereals, many types of breads, pate, coffee, espresso, etc. and even rose wine. Breakfast is from 7-10 and even at 9:45 they still had fresh food coming out which is really nice. So many hotels leave only cold leftovers for those who breakfast late.

Our room had a large bed and was very quiet, but the pace was set up oddly and wasn't very ergonomic. For example, while the bed is huge, the built in night stands are literally 4 inches off the ground, and the space between the walls and bed is so slight I could barely fit down them. Also, our room had a main area and a smaller closet type space separated by a door. When this door was closed, there was hardly any light and since this was where the only mirror (besides the bathroom one) was located, I had trouble doing my makeup. When the door was open, it swung into the bedroom area and covered the fridge and shelves, so we had to constant open/close/open/close to access anything/or have light. The Tv was really small by today's standards (but we don't use the TV, so it was fine with us). We did have a small table with chairs, which was nice. Overall the light in the room was poor. The bathroom was very nice and very clean. The cleaning staff was also very good and friendly.

We also found it a bit odd that there was no light in the corridors. I think they are trying to be Eco-friendly and save on electricity, but the entire hotel was dark and when you wanted to walk to your room you had to find light switched in the hallways.

I still think the hotel is Excellent, even with the odd room set-up (and maybe other rooms are organized differently). Great place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phoenixwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firstrepublic, General Manager at 1.Republic, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Phoenixwan,

thank you for all positive and negative points. This is really nice 5 star review.
Hope you will come back in the future.

With best regards

Filip Krischke, director of the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Archibald City
Archibald City
#104 of 649 in Prague
904 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Boutique Hotel Seven Days
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Suite Home Prague
Hotel Suite Home Prague
#93 of 649 in Prague
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hotel Brixen Prague
Hotel Brixen Prague
#137 of 649 in Prague
727 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Miss Sophie's Hotel
Miss Sophie's Hotel
#102 of 649 in Prague
689 reviews
Praha 2
Green Garden Hotel
Green Garden Hotel
#68 of 649 in Prague
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1.Republic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1.Republic

Property: 1.Republic
Address: V tunich 1625/8, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 2
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 1.Republic 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel 1. Republic is located in the very centre of Prague, some 400 meters from the Wenceslas Square, in a peaceful locality and within easy reach of the public transport. It has come into being by reconstruction of the first-republic house (built in 1925), has been awarded the star rating 4**** according to the standards of Czech Association of Hotels and Restaurants and is equipped in the style of the First Republic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your 1.Republic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing