We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great renovated hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of 1.Republic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
1.Republic
Ranked #106 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
heerlen
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great renovated hotel”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Hotel First Republic is a 5 minutes walk from wenceslas-square and 2 minutes walk from IP Pavlova subway-station away.The breakfast buffet is simple but good. There are some computers in the lobby to use and there is free wifi-signal in the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyrille M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firstrepublic, General Manager at 1.Republic, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Cyrille
Many thanks for your nice comments.
With best regards
Filip Krischke, director of the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    195
    51
    14
    3
See reviews for
119
225
25
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Excellent value - a little concerned when first approaching the hotel - graffiti on some of the buildings but once inside that was quickly forgotten. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms are nicely decorated and furnished and the level of cleanliness could not be faulted - our room and bathroom were spotless. Breakfast was very good with a lot of choice and as much as you can eat. We loved it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilandAlla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firstrepublic, General Manager at 1.Republic, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for this five-stars review and for your choice to stay here.
Get the 5 stars is like the victory in a competition.

I have to agree with your comment of graffiti. It is the one of the worst problems of Prague and it is very shameful.


With best regards, Filip Krischke, director of the 1.Republic hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trnava, Slovakia
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Hallo, we visited with frends this pleasant hotel last week.
Historical building, room in art deco style, helpful and kindly staff, very good location, parking
and together with concert Bruce Springsteen ....., excellent

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lubos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firstrepublic, General Manager at 1.Republic, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Mr.Simoncic,

thank you for your choice to stay in our hotel during your way for music of Bruce.
We have many concerts in Prague...hope you´ll choose some other and stay with us again :)))

With best regards Filip Krischke, director of the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed in a standard room for 3 nights. I was disappointed with the size of the room, which was smaller than I had expected. Having said that, everything else was very good.

We loved the location. In a quiet street - 5 minutes walk from Wenceslas Square - 20 minute walk from the old town square - half an hour walk from the Jewish quarter. Plenty of restaurants and mini-markets in the area.

It was very nice that we were able to check in early, and that we were given complimentary cake and tea upon arrival, which was a nice touch.

The room although small, was stylish, and the bathroom was very modern and spacious. We rented a car through our laptop and my husband was so pleased that he could type out the voucher in the computer room of the hotel (which is also a children's game room).

The reception staff very professional and helpful, excellent English.

The breakfast was adequate, quite a lot of choices.

Would recommend this hotel, but only if you choose a larger than standard room, or if the size of the room is not a priority.

In all, very good value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hilshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firstrepublic, General Manager at 1.Republic, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear HILSHU,

many thanks for your positive comments as well as for one negative...never mind :)

It is really nice to read these reviews.

With best regards Filip Krischke, director of the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Two room suite was perfect for parents and two teenage child. Walking distance to old town and railway station was ideal for us. Breakfast was tasty, rooms were clean and everything worked like swiss clock. Only minus was, that i needed to ask remote controll for air conditioner from reception, but it really worked!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firstrepublic, General Manager at 1.Republic, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Petri J,

wonderful comment. Thank you!

And thank you for your choice of our hotel.

Hope, you´ll come back in the future again.

With best regards Filip Krischke, director of the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We travelled to Prague on the 30th April to 3rd May 2012 and stayed at this hotel for two of the nights.It is in a great location being about a 5 min walk to Wencelas Square and in easy reach to Charles Bridge etc. The hotel is very contemporary and we were very comfortable there. Reception staff are great, the rooms are a great size and the bathroom is modern and well lit. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayqueen0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firstrepublic, General Manager at 1.Republic, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear HOLIDAY QUEEN,

I appreciate of these nice sentences and thank you for that.

We will looking forward to you next visit :)

With best regards FILIP KRISCHKE, director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed every minute of our stay in Prague.What this hotel did was add value to our stay in prague which is awonderful city.The hotel and and the staff specially Jasmina and the housekeeping lady r great people who make our stay memorable.Thanx to them and everybody else.
We would love to visit Prague again and stay with u.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjeev A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firstrepublic, General Manager at 1.Republic, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear SANJEEV27,

I just want to say thank you for your nice review and for the choice of our hotel, especially thank you for short note about our staff!
We will looking forward for your future visit

With best regards, Filip Krischke, director of the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Archibald City
Archibald City
#108 of 670 in Prague
857 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Boutique Hotel Seven Days
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Miss Sophie's Hotel
Miss Sophie's Hotel
#95 of 670 in Prague
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Suite Home Prague
Hotel Suite Home Prague
#97 of 670 in Prague
703 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Bohemia Plaza Residence
Bohemia Plaza Residence
#246 of 670 in Prague
328 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mamaison Residence Downtown Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1.Republic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1.Republic

Property: 1.Republic
Address: V tunich 1625/8, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 2
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 1.Republic 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel 1. Republic is located in the very centre of Prague, some 400 meters from the Wenceslas Square, in a peaceful locality and within easy reach of the public transport. It has come into being by reconstruction of the first-republic house (built in 1925), has been awarded the star rating 4**** according to the standards of Czech Association of Hotels and Restaurants and is equipped in the style of the First Republic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your 1.Republic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing