We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommend! ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mosaic House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mosaic House
Ranked #62 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Highly recommend! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here during summer in a double room. Service was friendly, great location and a really nice room. The room was more like a hotel room than a hostel one. We enjoyed the comfort of aircon and the bed was spacious and comfy. I would definately stay again! The only complaint is that doing laundry there is quite expensive.

Helpful?
Thank Natlyon92
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,208
    468
    99
    39
    20
See reviews for
84
421
368
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

I stayed in the dorm bed here and heard that this place was posh but soulless. It wants to be a party hostel and three star hotel at the same time, and doesn't really seem to satisfy both.
The rooms were clean, the washroom could be a bit cleaner but it was new. The bed was very comfortable, with reading lights and a personal socket for electronics.
The bar downstairs seems like a great place to meet people if getting trashed and pub crawling is your thing. There was another small common room at the side which was uninviting.
The staff was good and helpful. A bit impersonal though. Not surprising with the amount of people coming in and out everyday.
I did like the location, not right in the old town but within walking distance to everything. The metro line and tram are very close by and easy to use.
The breakfast is a buffet for 150 crowns. Hard to say if it is worth it, with so much good restaurants in prague, I would skip the breakfast and hit up the restaurants nearby.
Don't know if I would stay here again. Nothing wrong with this nice and new place but just didn't have a welcoming atmosphere compared to other hostels and places.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
214 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

I booked a superior double room with terrace. The room was on one of the upper floors. The room had 4 separate areas - a foyer, a large bathroom, a bedroom, and a large terrace. The terrace overlooked the city of Prague. The large bathroom was ultra modern and very spacious. The bedroom was appointed with modern furnishings. The property was centrally located near public transportation, and a short walk from the main attractions in Prague. I really enjoyed my stay at the Mosaic, and would book here again.

Room Tip: You should know that, if you stay at the Mosaic, there are many young people who stay here and can s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DERICK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Seems to have a bit of an identity crisis. On the one hand, you have a building that wants to be a hotel or hostel with immaculate, clean rooms with great security, a reasonable location, and fair value. On the other hand, you have a "restaurant" / common-area (which desperately wants to be a nightclub) playing bad dance music all night long. Had some rude encounters with the staff; check-in seemed to be a big hassle for one, and another yelled at us for having the audacity to try and order food one night--the kitchen was booked for a private function, which I guess we were supposed to magically figure out from some reorganized chairs and a half-barricade. No "sorry for the inconvenience" or signs to explain anything, just frustrated glares. Had a hard time getting service at the bar another night since I wasn't an 18 year old girl ordering shots.

For the stag/doe groups that were coming in from the UK or Germany, I can see it being perfect...you have a club with decently priced drinks literally downstairs from some really great rooms, and a lot of pub crawl opportunities if you wanted to get out on the town. As a hostel or a hotel though, it falls short of its potential since you have to cater to the bartender's egos to get in the door, and there's limited opportunities to meet other travelers in the 'hostel' sense, since again, it's a club downstairs rather than a common area. If they could separate the club from the hostel a little bit more, and hold the staff to Western European service standards rather than the Prague standard, it would be an amazing place.

Room Tip: As high as possible: sound from the bar easily makes it to the fourth/fifth floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Hostel is in a good location. Very safe and quite central, we walked everywhere. Breakfast was very good! We had to pay for it. Room was brilliant, it had a fridge and really big comfortable bunk beds. Ensuite bathroom was really clean and very modern! Hostel has 3 communal computers that guests can pay for and use. Also has a Bar and Restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Had two nights here November 2012. Could not be more impressed with the hostel. There was some sort of spirit promotion going on in the bar, which meant it was out of use but to us that was just an excuse for a pub crawl. Girl was smoking an 'apple bong' in our room, which I got blamed for being the 'smoker'. Later they woke me an my friend up at 5am taking photos of us sleeping and playing blondie. Not the hostels fault but really impacted our stay (trains aren't fun at 6am after that nights kip!!) messed up our dates and hostel were fab about it, felt like we were in a hotel just paying a fraction of the price. Despite the fact that our experience wasn't all it could have been - it really was a lovely place to stay. People in reception were so informative about the city, wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hostel is run by St Christophers, a hostel group that I had stayed with before and been impressed by. Mosaic House didn't disappoint. We had a private 4-bed room with bathroom and honestly it was more like a nice hotel than a hostel, except for the fact there were bunkbeds - we had a TV, fridge, chairs and tables, and the bathroom was lovely, and included fresh towels every day. Staff were so friendly and helpful (especially when we first arrived and started struggling with the currency!). Breakfast isn't free but we thought it was well worth it - there's a selection of cereals, bread (plus toaster!), fruit, sausages, eggs (scrambled and boiled), mushrooms and potatoes, tea and coffee and juice. Location is good - there are some nice restaurants around, we ate in Café Royal just on the corner from the hostel which was really good. You can walk into the town centre in under ten minutes. You do have to pay to use the internet, which I think is a bit stingy in a hostel. But I would definitely recommend this hostel, to anyone from backpackers to families - it would suit everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Miss Sophie's Hotel
Miss Sophie's Hotel
#97 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Praha 5
Red & Blue
Red & Blue
#71 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
Praha 5
Aparthotel City 5
Aparthotel City 5
#4 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#29 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Praha 2
Amigo City Centre Hotel
Amigo City Centre Hotel
#192 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Boutique Hotel Seven Days
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mosaic House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosaic House

Property: Mosaic House
Address: Odboru 4, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Prague
#56 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#76 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#89 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mosaic House 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mosaic House is a new fusion of accommodation in Prague with central location, classy-modern design, La Loca MUSIC BAR & LOUNGE, a theater bar, common rooms, and a variety of accommodation options. Mosaic House also features some of the most sophisticated “green” technology in the hospitality industry including the first grey-water recycling unit with heat recuperation in the Czech Republic, room temperature controlled based on occupancy, bathrooms with low-flow toilets and rain-dance showers, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mosaic House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mosaic House Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing