We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem in Prague 5” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Artisan Restaurant & Cafe - CLOSED

Artisan Restaurant & Cafe
Price range: $10 - $52
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Central European, Italian, International, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Description: Hidden away on a small side street in Prague's Mala Strana Artisan Restaurant & Cafe offers fine italian cuisine, house made breads and pastas, quality boutique wines, and rich desserts, as well as great service and ambiance. Our experienced chefs prepare creative dishes from the best of ingredients. We hope you find our dishes to be skillfully composed of simple yet elegant flavors. We believe in letting quality and proper preparation speak for themselves.
Falls Church, VA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gem in Prague 5”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

The service was wonderful, and for two people with limited Czech skills, the staff spoke wonderful English and were very friendly. The food was lovely- great flavor and nice portions. The highlight of the meal was the dessert of 6 assorted pralines. They were so wonderful, we got some to go!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    56
    20
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Just left Artisan Restauratnt. I was looking for a place for an early dinner, but something nice. And this restaurant hit th,e spot. The signage to find the place was very good. I can only suspect they've had problems in the past as there were several signs.
As a starter the server suggested the burrata. Everyone must order if you love cheese. Lasagna was my main, nice flavor. 2 glasses of chianti, and I'm sold on this restaurant.
If in Prague, and want to get away from tourist restaurants, come to the Artisan.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraGM600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Somewhat disappointed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

I visited this restaurant a couple years ago. The foods and service were so wonderful that I went this restaurant almost everyday while I was in Prague for a week. I tried almost all the dishes and every one was excellent. I posted excellent review on this site.
I revisited this restaurant again hoping for the good dishes on 8/28/12 . Actually I invited 4 couples for the dinner. The menu was limited and the foods and service were not as good as it was 2 years ago. The dishes were different.
I learned that they have new owner and chef according to the waiter. Still food is OK but it was not excellent.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DongOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copenhagen
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good mediterranian style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Was recommende by the hotel. Professional service and fine, but pricy food and drinks.
However, for normal european pricelevel there is a good relation between quality and price.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank seniortraveller2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing Experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Based on other reviews I really looked forward trying this restaurant, but I have to say I got very disappointed. Went there as part of a business trip and we were 9 people. Arrived somewhat late, and there wasn't many people in the restaurant.

First expression was that the waiter didn't seemed to have taken a bath for quite some time. He smelled from far away. Then we had to wait forever for the food, which BTW there wasn't enough of any course on the menu for all to have the same starter or entree. When we received the food it was clear, that it had been prepared in a rush. I took the duck, and it seemed to have been heated in microwave oven, same for the potatoes.

All 8 of us was totally underwhelmed with the experience. Based on other reviews it could a single isolated problem; however, i wouldn't recommend anyone going there.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cvjepsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artisan Restaurant & Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing