We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostel Centre Prague
Ranked #384 of 660 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Folsom, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

The place is downright eerie. If your looking for a cheap stay that has the look and feel of a 1960's horror film in the backdrop of a convalescent home, you my friend have come to the right place. Whispering seems to be the norm and do t even think about making eye contact with another tourist. The place is downright odd. Spend the extra money, enjoy yourself. Don't let saving a few crowns ruin your time in Prague.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan52382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    23
    2
    7
See reviews for
2
9
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This hostel is very good value for money- it was the cheapest we stayed in out of 7 cities and it was definitely not the worst. The rooms were clean, spacious, and we didn't have to make up the bed linen which was great (we had to do that several times in other hostels and is not what I want after overnight buses with no sleep!).
Despite staying in mid June, the hostel was pretty quiet so me and my friend had a 6 bed dorm to ourselves- a massive bonus! There is a large common room with sofas, TV and a small kitchen area (fridge, coffee etc). There is no oven/hob to cook your own meals but this is not a massive issue. If you carry the hostel card with you, you can get a 10% discount at the nearby pizzaria and Czech restaurant which are both fairly cheap anyway.
It is a good location as well- about a 15 minute walk from the heart of the city centre and there is no need to use public transport.
One of the only downsides is that you have to pay a deposit which you can only get back in Czech Crown when you leave. As no other countries use this currency, it was a bit of a problem for me, especially as I was travelling on a budget. It was worth about 20 euros but when I exchanged back into euros, I only got 5!! So I won't be doing that again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed in a double room for four days in this hostel this month, and were quite happy with it. The room price is in the mid-to-low range of hostels, and you get what you pay for: relatively clean room (cleaned once a day), and a borderline bathroom (take flipflops with you!). But overall, it is a good place for staying cheap in Prague.
The staff was very friendly, and helpful. It is close to the metro and tramline. Also, at walking distance from the train station, and the city center.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zsolt I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niteroi, RJ
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Unfriendly people, dirty bathroom and terrible beds. The only advantage of being in this hostel was the locality. Me and my boyfriend had to give money in advance for everything. A terrible experience...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laisramosrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Prague hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Well, the centre hostel prague is surely not expansive, and it is really located nearby the station and the centre of Prague. The rooms are clean, the common place is nice, and the wifi is free and passwordless.

But dear god, what an ugly hostel, from outside it might look as well as an old dirty 80's building, it looks like a prison!! Inside it is also quite ugly, but well I don't book youth hostels for the loveliness of the place, but this was by far one of the ugliest one I've been to.

The showers are also pretty horrible, three cabins with no possibility of locking and little place to lock your stuff, I've heard many people swear because their clothes fell into the water...

The staff is quite unfriendly and most of them have a really poor english, I didn't appreciate the fact that they told us "15€/night" and when we said "we'd like to pay in Czech Crowns", she made up a huge price and thought we would believe her. It didn't make sense, we told her, she refused to lower it, so we finally paid in euros. I don't think it is a good attitude to rip off every customer that comes through your door, if you go there, you should definitively be careful...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jotelet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

interior is extremely dated, its like walking into an old person's home in the 80s. My room was dirty, had to make my own bed. the window was broken, and when i complained and asked to be either refunded for just one night, i was told that i had to wait til morning to talk to the owner about it because no one else could refund us, but that the owner spoke no english so there was no point and therefore no one could deal with it. appalling! when i asked to be moved to another room, i was told it was impossible because then they would have to move everyone else. the room was also in the smoking area/main entrance, and had sugar paper for curtains. so everyone out for a smoke peered into my room and sat on my window ledge, meaning i couldnt get changed in my own room and the smoke drifted in. disgusting. the room was freezing because of the broken window, and loud. the wifi worked, warm showers, only good quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiamhQuinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Basic, clean and close to the centre.
This is a perfect summary of this hostel, if you're just looking for a bed and somewhere to store your stuff then this is place. It's a 5 min walk to the centre of Prague. Friendly staff who clean everyday.
Would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dribblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Little Quarter
Little Quarter
#21 of 660 in Prague
335 reviews
Praha 3
Sleep Easy Hostel Prague
Sleep Easy Hostel Prague
#180 of 361 in Prague
36 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mojo Inn
Mojo Inn
#49 of 660 in Prague
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 3
Hostel Marabou
Hostel Marabou
#332 of 660 in Prague
82 reviews
Praha 2
Sokolska Youth Hostel
Sokolska Youth Hostel
#372 of 660 in Prague
102 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Travellers'Hostel
Travellers'Hostel
#127 of 660 in Prague
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Centre Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Centre Prague

Property: Hostel Centre Prague
Address: Sokolska 464/29, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Hotel Style:
Ranked #384 of 660 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostel Centre Prague 1.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Hotwire so you can book your Hostel Centre Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing