We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scary as hell”
Review of Hostel ABEX

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostel ABEX
Ranked #475 of 660 Specialty Lodging in Prague
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Scary as hell”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

In the middle of nowhere in outer Zizkov, not quirky Zizkov, scary zizkov, the place is dark, behind an alley, creepy, and the staff doesn't speak English. The only reservation I have ever bailed on. Stayed at Hostel Marabou instead

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nasa258e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    0
    6
    3
    21
See reviews for
1
3
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We arrived by car and found that the hostel was very hard to find, possibly because it doesn't look like a hostel but an old warehouse tucked behind a big fence not really near anything. We walked into the main entrance passed a group shady looking people smoking and drinking out the front, not sure if they were staff or guests but no one spoke any English, nor did the very unfriendly girl on reception. We went upstairs to our room, which was stifling hot (no aircon) and were almost ready to turn around and leave. It was dirty and hot and felt very unsafe, there were a lot of scary looking characters hanging around which was very unsettling. The shower facilities are shared and toilets don't lock. If I weren't travelling with a male I would not have stayed! We unpacked our car completely because the area felt very unsafe and we didn't want anything to go missing. We barely slept during the night as it was hot and there was light coming in, bugs were flying around and crawling on me all night. There was loud noise all night and shouting which we assume came from the drunk people downstairs.The showers and kitchen had inconvenient hours of use and even when using the kitchen during these hours for breakfast we were treated like we were in the way. They only good thing about this place is the price and it isn't too hard to get to the city. Two trams and a short walk.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Prague hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Bad location (near some magazines), most of guests are truck drivers. Didn't like unlocked toilets and showers. After come back my whole clothes stink. My friends didn't got the room despite they had printet reservation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Konrad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed here for what ended up being 2 days, we were on a charity banger rally which was going badly as the car died. The receptionist didnt speak a word of english, but this was over come with Google translate. The room was booked asa 5+1, but they put 6 beds in 1 room to keep us all together, which was a nice touch considering it was the cheapest place we ever stayed. The beds were very clean, pillows and duvets supplied, the showers were clean and excellent if not a little old. The receptionist helped us no end in getting the car back on the road, and letting us store all of our kit in the room for an extra night was a god send! Its in a bit of a wierd area but is a 3 min walk to the tram lines which have you in the centre of the city in less than 5 mins, and it ticked all the boxes we needed. Clean, cheap and a fantastic service. A Pleasure to stay in such a nice hostel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rbubbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

when I first got the the hostel, I saw a bunch of older people (bogans looking very dodgy...) drinking alcohol...
then the reception lady.... she not only was incredibly mean but not helpful at all and didn't make any effort to actually make you want to stay in this place.
When I asked her how i can drive me car inside the "hostel area" she said " I dont know"... as she didn't know how to explain it in english. her language ability was very limited.
the whole hostel is on an old train loading ramp, looks disgusting!!
the bed linen has been washed and changed but i dont know if they have ever changed their bed sheets....
the place was full of drunk truck drivers and I guess this is the place where they stay as it's very cheap. they have a good company of some old women, who spend hours drinking with them in front of the main entrance to the hostel!

I would never recommend this place even if you are on a tight budget!! just find something cheap elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnieszka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here for one night only. The location is good, takes about 30 minutes to walk to the Wenceslas square (for those who prefer dislike walking and prefer taking a bus, transport facilities are good and easily accessible), a shopping center is located in 10 minutes walking time.
Let's talk about the hostel itself. The bathroom for people living in the hostel is situated next to the kitchen. That is not the biggest deal. There are 4 toilets and if I remember it well - 3 or 4 showers. I was surprised after discovering that showers were both for men and women. There IS a curtain...(Although I did not want to risk an intruder in my shower so I advise you to take one late at night or early in the morning.) There was a poster on the door to the bathroom, it said it was closed from 08.00 to 10.00 am due to cleaning. Count with this when planning your following day.
The kitchen consists of a fridge with a freezer, a sink, a microwave oven, a cooker, a kettle and a washing machine which you can use for 2/3 Euros (50 - 70 Czech crowns). I was not able to find any dishes nor forks, knives, glasses so you'd better pack some of these into your bag. However there were both cookware like pans, saucepots and bakeware, There are some food automates outside the kitchen where you can buy hot drinks, baguettes, snacks for a reasonable price.
The rooms are big and warm. I missed some curtains but I guess this depends on the room you get. Don't be surprised when you enter a different room from the one you wanted to have (I needed a single but got one with 4 beds). Both the bed sheets and the room itself were clean. The walls were not as white as they were supposed to be (but it is something you have to accept when entering a hostel). Unfortunately, they were a bit thin so I could hear those walking outside my door or laughing in those rooms around mine.
I advise you to take some things easy and not to forget about the fact, that you are sleeping in a hoStel, not in a hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are said to be warmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alisa248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Due to some unexpected events we ended up in Prague two days earlier so we had to find a last minute hostel. I was really relieved when we finally found a place to stay. But what a place... The walls of our room were supposed to be white but were covered in big, dirty grey and brown stains. The sheets of the beds weren't changed (in years i guess) and on the pillow was a nice layer of hair. No one spoke English (nor German) and you heard the old (and homeless-looking) czech people coughing (as if they were dying) almost permanently.

We almost didn't dare to come back after our night out.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeroen-vg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Budget Hostel
Budget Hostel
#410 of 660 in Prague
10 reviews
Praha 3
Hostel Marabou
Hostel Marabou
#332 of 660 in Prague
82 reviews
A&O Prag Metro Strizkov
#282 of 660 in Prague
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Sokolska Youth Hostel
Sokolska Youth Hostel
#372 of 660 in Prague
102 reviews
Praha 2
Hostel Centre Prague
Hostel Centre Prague
#384 of 660 in Prague
66 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Travellers'Hostel
Travellers'Hostel
#127 of 660 in Prague
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel ABEX? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel ABEX

Property: Hostel ABEX
Address: Jana Zhelivskeho 2726/2, Prague 130 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 3
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #475 of 660 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostel ABEX 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the ABEX Hostel ! The ABEX Hostel is Prague's favorite CHEAP hostel for a reason ! You've just found the best place in Prague to crash for the night. We are a full-service, fun, comfortable cheap hostel in the heart of Prague. People that love to travel, run our hostel. Our staff will take the time to help you, no matter your question, we have the answers. We know that our cheap hostel is the best value for your euro, dollar, or peso. When you stay, you feel like a part of our family. Our mission is to treat you better than any other place you have ever stayed before, to make your stay in Prague the best possible. If you need anything, all you have to do is ask. Our hostel offers affordable accommodation in Prague for individuals as well as for larger groups. In our hostel, you have the possibility of both short-term and long-term accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostel ABEX reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing