We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent decor, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maitrea

Maitrea
Ranked #57 of 5,372 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Czech, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Stare Mesto (Old Town)
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent decor, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

A classy, calm and lovely vegetarian restaurant, with great decor and tasty food. There were some fun touches - the dipping stones to the indoor water feature, for example. The food and drinks menus were extensive, a vast range of soft drinks in particular. Only two beers, but ours was very good.. The mixed starters were delicious, light and tasty. I opted for a "Czech speciality" main, which was as typically Czech as a vegetarian can get - very tasty, a bit thunking, meat-sustitute in a sauce, "dumplings" (in fact bread, confusingly, but this is always the case in Prague), some cranberries, sour cream, no veg. But that's Czech cooking for you, and there were lots of lighter more vegetably options. We had an interesting fruity ice-cream for pudding, but I was too full by that stage to properly appreciate it. Not very well set-up for three - we had a rather small table that would have been great for two - but it was near the "stream" feature and not uncomfortable. Overall, however, I would highly recommend this place - a good choice for a special veggy night out.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zoe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,774 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,211
    413
    95
    24
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

We went there during a weekend-trip to Prague and it was lovely. Nice service, good food and fair prices. Of course, I ate the Goulash and had the lime-pie as a dessert. As being a vegetarian, this was probably my only chance to eat czech goulash and typical dumplings. And what can I say, it was delicicious.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great variety for everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Traveling with one who is vegetarian and another trying to avoid gluten this restaurant was a lifesaver. We went twice in our short stay. The service was not so great the second time, but don't let that put you off. Even meat-eaters will enjoy the menu with their variety of meals which contains fake meat. The vegetarian goulash is a must for someone who wants to experience a traditional Czech meal without meat.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jody v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our favourite place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

After arriving we were lucky to get a table, we ended up seated down stairs which has an amazing setting. The menu had a great variety but most of all the food was incredible, as a meat eater is great to go to a vegetarian restaurant and not miss meat. We enjoyed it so much we went back for lunch the next day, it was less crowded and our experience was even better. I highly recommend Maitrea, it's is a good price the food is amazing and in a fantastic location near Old Town Square. You must try the Raw Chocolate Cake!

Helpful?
Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings on Hudson, NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

As flexitarians, my family enjoyed our break from the typical Prague restaurant fare. Interesting atmosphere, wonderful food. Wish that they served Czech wine by the glass.

Only drawback was that we made reservations at 6:30 pm the day of. When we were seated, waiter warned us that we had to leave by 8, food arrived 5 minutes til.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kashohny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maitrea also viewed

 

Been to Maitrea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing