We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice apartment - but not a true 2-bedroom privacy; a few other issues too”
Review of City Apartment

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
City Apartment
Ranked #99 of 656 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Finland
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“nice apartment - but not a true 2-bedroom privacy; a few other issues too”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This review is about a 2-bedroom apartment at V Lesicku 7 (the same company manages several locations around Prague), where we stayed for 4 nights, as part of a little family reunion in Prague.

The place was nicely furnished and spacious, good location and reasonable value for money - add a long list of glowing reviews on the internet and you would be crazy not to book it. Or so you think.

Unfortunately there were a few issues - maybe we were just unlucky... but those problems need to be mentioned.

1) While advertised as "2 bedroom apartment / 4 adults", it did not really have the privacy of two bedrooms - one sleeping area was "separated" from the combined living room / kitchen with... well... a curtain (see the attached photos). This could perhaps be acceptable for "family apartment - adults with children", but this one was explicitly tagged as "4 adults" and the pictures published on the booking site were taken a bit creatively so that they would not reveal this "little detail". Not a nice surprise at all.

2) There was quite a "respectable" layer of dust on top of the furniture. Sure, you wouldn't normally notice it - we only discovered this because we put a bag with fragile stuff up there... Still, this is not how one does the cleaning, right?

3) The staff is not very professional - at least not in internet communication. There seems to be a surcharge 10e for "late check-in" (which is anything after 6 PM). When I commented that it is a bit awkward to charge this fee on top of a booking that is already almost 500e value, I received a rather rude answer "If you think it is awkward, nothing prevents you to give us more money." Oops. It happens that in my position, I also deal with our company's clients from time to time - and I know that if I ever did something like this, I would loose the job rather fast. It seems that the surcharge is used to pay the person who needs to stay and open the door - so it was apparently taken as a personal attack on one's salary. But as a guest, I really don't want to be involved in employer-employee issues - my assumption was that I communicate with "City Apartment - the company" and my whole point was that anywhere in the world, the advertised price of accommodation must cover all "normal" expenses related to it - for example cleaning... changing the sheets... and yes, check in.

4) Upon arrival, the person welcoming us was actually very friendly and helpful. I was also told that based on my comments, I don't need to pay the surcharge. Plus points, I thought. Well - not quite. I paid with a credit card in the local currency - and their exchange rate calculation actually resulted in 15e higher cost on my credit card bill than the price listed during booking.

So the overall experience was not that great.

I can imagine that a couple booking a single-bedroom apartment and being spared of my internet email exchange would give this place 5 points - but in our case, this was far from that. What a pity.

Room Tip: Be careful if booking a 2-bedroom apartment: it may not be what you expect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the_vj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    8
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
22
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

There doesn't seem to be a distinction between the different locations of these apartments but thought I'd review as, as have others, about staying at City Apartments on V Lesicku 7.
Great value for money! Huge apartment with great bathroom, washing machine and dryer and kitchen appliances. Also freeWifi. I specifically chose a place with a washing machine as I was travelling around Europe for a month and this was my half way point. It meant I didn't get the features of a hotel like breakfast and sightseeing advice, but this didn't matter and in fact had a very good intro to Prague and the apartment location from Jana upon checking in which was great. It's not a busy lively area, and in fact quite quiet after dark but felt safe and was only a short walk from the tram stop. There is a tesco express just around the corner and a large one just a short tram ride down to Andel - so easy access to food for apartment living. It's a bit of a walk to the main tourist areas, but not a bad one during the day. Petrin tower and it's surrounding park are just nearby and in my opinion, is one of the best vista points of Prague! Over all I would highly recommend these apartments for a stay near but not super close to the main attractions, and good value for money. The only downside was the lack of air conditioning in the 30 degree heat!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwigirl001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed at a 2-bedroom apartment at V Lesicku 7 in late June 2012. The apartment was huge, bright and extremely clean with gleaming Miele kitchen appliances, complete with a Nespresso machine. A small supermarket was within walking distance so grabbing some food for breakfast was easy. The beds were very comfortable. The staff were very pleasant to deal with, gave good advice for sightseeing and spoke English well. The location was good - a bit fair for walking to the major sites so we often took a taxi. Parking was free and right outside our building. The location was a bit eerie at night since the streets are dark and deserted but we felt safe. Wi-fi was good. Overall great experience and would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josieshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We had a great stay with an apartment and a balcony overlooking the old town square spires. They are very very thorough in their management with a 24 hour services. The apartment was huge with all facilities and the reception staff really helpful in explaining all the details and tips for handling prague as a tourist. Had a warm welcome with a bottle of wine and chocoloate goddies as a surprise. Would definitely stay again in residence masna.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor with balcony if selecting residence masna
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayantadas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

we stayed one week on the third floor of RESIDENCE KAROLINA and we enjoyed it very much . The location is great ...not too far from everything . The appartement was a 2 bedroom , renovated , with very high ceilings . The room service was excellent .
We loved the city of Prague . The staff of city apartment is very professional and help you with any questions you have about your trip .
The only critic we have is about the choice of TV channels ....we like movies and we didn't find any good channel ( HBO ,...) .

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lamboil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a week in July. I cannot tell you how perfect it was. THe space was a luxury. We had A/C, washer, full bathroom and a full living room and kitchen. We were on the top floor of Residence Karolina and we had a great view of Prague Castle. THe old building was charming but the apartment had all modern amenities including wi-fi. The residence was close enough to walk to most of the points of interest in Prague but steps away from the potential noisy banter of tourist hubs. The residence was such a nice refuge after a busy day of walking. It was also nice not to have to eat out all the time as we had a kitchen to use if we wished and supermarkets 2 blocks away. The Prague City Apartment offices were not far away and if needed we could stop in or call to set tours, get information or set up a taxi. Very convenient, spacious and affordable. We were so very pleased with our stay there that we would reommend it to anyone going to Prague.

Room Tip: If needed ask for a balcony or a to floor apartment with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SummerTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

We have just about finished 6 nights in Prague and stayed in PRague City Apartments Rybna apartment 11. These units are 1 st class well presented, clean, comfortable and could not be located better. The staff were excellent and more than willing to assist. Make sure when you travel into Prague if by airplane you ask PCA to arrange a pick up. Cost is very reasonable and it takes a lot of drama out of the transit. Could not recommend this apartment highly enough. Ps has a washing machine as well!

Room Tip: Room 11 fully self contained
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
Botel Admiral
Botel Admiral
#255 of 649 in Prague
231 reviews
Praha 8
Alwyn
Alwyn
#179 of 649 in Prague
185 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Claris Hotel
Claris Hotel
#354 of 649 in Prague
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Herrmes
Herrmes
#223 of 649 in Prague
224 reviews
Praha 5
Prague Holiday Apartments
Prague Holiday Apartments
#46 of 656 in Prague
122 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Rezidence Muzeum Prague
Rezidence Muzeum Prague
#427 of 656 in Prague
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Apartment

Property: City Apartment
Address: V Lesicku 7, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 656 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — City Apartment 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Apartment offers accommodation in luxury apartments in the centre of Prague. Our philosophy is creating home atmosphere for travellers who have a business or individual trip with accordance to the concept "Home away from home". City Apartment**** is situated at the border Prague 1-Mala Strana and Prague 5-Smichov. Home away from home is quality extended stay accommodation in the centre of Prague. City Apartment**** is placed in a complete reconstructed Art Nouveau building from end 19. And beginning of 20. Century. Each apartment is full-equipped with kitchen, TV sat and Internet. This offer is special for firm's employers who need to be in Prague for a long period of time or individual tourists who wish to have home cosiness during stay in Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your City Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing