We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real good Mediterranean food”
Review of Giardino

Giardino
Ranked #797 of 5,470 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Italian, Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Real good Mediterranean food”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Inside and outside you have a nice atmosphere. The food is excellent and the recommendations from the waiter for the daily special and the wine is very helpful. Compared to Italian restaurants in the center of Prague Giardino is at the upper level with really fair prices.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Johann1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    23
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Above average food - nice place , good service”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

When it comes to the actual venue and the offered service, i would say it was very good. The food is above average but could be a bit better in terms of finishing of the dishes - and some basic details on doing pasta etc. The price is ok. You wont be dissapointed but I guess there might be better Italian out there, if you really love Italian cuisine

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank apostolopoulosP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen,Scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Italian restaurant in quiet location.”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

This is a cosy, nicely furnished restaurant in a nice area,just out of the city centre.
The food was excellent,seafood tagliatelle for myself , lots of calamari and mussels and spaghetti carbonara for my wife,fresh and nicely prepared. Pleasant and friendly staff and a relaxed atmosphere. We were even present with some freshly seared pineapple as an extra. Well worth a visit, especially if want to get away from the centre.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graeme C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“delicious food and huge portions”
Reviewed October 28, 2011

This restaurant is indeed off the beaten track. You can eat either in the restaurant or out back in the garden. The food is really tasty and the portions huge. The seafood salad appetizer is a meal in and of itself, for example. Risottos are nicely al dente. We liked it so much we came back a second night but the service was a little less attentive the second time (the waiters did not bring us bread with dips, as they had the first night). Take the #22 tram to get to this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A quaint and cosy garden and overall interesting alternative, if you can find it”
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Giardino is not usually somewhere I would go to but we know people who are extremely good friends of the owner, so our curiosity made us seek it out. Away from the main tourist trail, and located in a very quiet part of Vinohrady Prague 2, you will find this restaurant after a few minutes walk from the No.22 tram stops of either Namesti Miru or Jana Masaryka. If going by taxi a better reference point is the very well known 5* hotel Le Palais, just around the corner

The restaurant is relatively new to Prague and upon entry you can see a fair deal of care and attention has gone into the decor which is tasteful. The main feature though has to be the rear garden which is really lovely - check out it's website. At the time of writing the Prague climate is still perfect for garden dining, so get here before it's too late.

Before you order your main meal the waiter brings to your table a basket selection of home baked breads, all of which were fresh and delicious, accompanied by a variety of dipping sauces. You do of course get charged for this but we enjoyed the olive bread with pesto so much we decided to skip starters altogether.
For main I chose the mixed grill. Because the meat of chicken, pork and beef is all you will find presented to you on your plate I also ordered a dish of fresh leaf spinach with ricotta cheese. I was not asked how I wanted my beef steak cooked, but all was prepared to my liking. The meat was tender and juicy but lacked that wow factor. The spinach was extremely tasty and this I would have gladly enjoyed on it's own.
For her main my girlfriend chose the gnocchi with mushrooms. This dish was an absolute dream. The rich cream sauce for this was a delight on the taste buds and I have seldom tasted something as good. I would be very interested to see if chef can maintain that consistency because I would return to eat there solely to have that dish again for myself.

We skipped dessert because the garden later on had suddenly filled up with less than quiet people and some of the ambience of earlier was spoiled a little.

Overall the experience was an enjoyable one. It would be interesting to sample other dishes to see whether there might be another gem like the mushroom gnocchi hiding in there. The service was very friendly and we experienced none of the issues I read from another less happy reviewer. Well worth checking out.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stef11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giardino also viewed

 

Been to Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing