We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very traditional Czech cuisine, not recommend”

Plzenska Restaurace The Municipal House
Ranked #247 of 5,468 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Nove Mesto (New Town)
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very traditional Czech cuisine, not recommend”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This 100 years old restaurant it really nice in terms of its traditional view and atmosphire HOWEVER that's about it. The food was bad - very traditional Czech, we had better Czech food it's not where I would recommend to go... Very noisy and smoking restaurant which for us was a bit annoying... We will not go back and would have chosen a different place to eat Czech food.

Good luck

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reut H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    339
    117
    39
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tanvald, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We lunch here often. A steady food and service quality are to appreciate. Despite a large space you will feel homely in this beautiful art Nouveau style interior. Use this opportunity and take a look into all the building. Do not forget the coffee bar with original equipment next to the restaurant . Enjoy your meal!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goldec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Tree, Colorado
Level Contributor
276 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Wonderful Evening”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

A fellow cruise passenger pointed us toward this place. It was, indeed, hard to find--as we descended the stairway I thought we were headed into a subway. When we found the front door there was a sign saying it was closed for a private party. As we turned to walk away, the host rushed out and said in broken English that we could come inside in 15 minutes. I'm glad we waited. The placed filled up quickly, and then a man with an accordian and a woman with a bass fiddle struck up a sing-along of what seemed to be Czech folk songs. We didn't understand a word, but the staff made us feel extradorinarily welcome. The atmosphere was wonderful and so was the excellent and reasonably--priced food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TBearden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Family meal in a traditional restaurant”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I missed out on this restaurant a few weeks before when visiting Prague on business, so it was great to end a family day out in Prague this Christmas with a visit.

The first difficulty was finding it, there's actually café/bar and French restaurant as well in Obecni Dum, and at the main entrance you have to go past these on either side and then downstairs.

The décor was fantastic and very traditional. The food was good (traditional Czech) with a large variety with the menu giving pictures and descriptions in 7 or 8 languages.

Some of the staff were abrupt (even to the three Czech adults in our party), but the service was efficient.

Overall a great experience though.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leighcollett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
186 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Antithetic Czech Restaurant”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

In a beautiful palace in mid. Prague we went into a enchanted basement Czech's restaurant, which my friend in Israel recommend me.
The place is magnificent and huge. Decorated to Christmas and with An accordion player in the background.
Good service,
Home made potato soup with wild mushroom.
Beef Stroganoff with cream sauce, mushrooms and cucumber, served with rice.
Fried corn-fed chicken with mashed potatoes with butter and cucumber salad all washed in local Pilsner beer.
Food is good and on the mid. prices.
We enjoyed the evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GadiB69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plzenska Restaurace The Municipal House also viewed

 

Been to Plzenska Restaurace The Municipal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing