We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but great food”

Svejk Restaurant U Karla
Ranked #565 of 5,536 Restaurants in Prague
Price range: $4 - $18
Cuisines: Czech, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Nove Mesto (New Town)
Description: Restaurant with a typical Czech meals (also in gluten free variation) and good Czech beers (also gluten free).
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cheap but great food”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

As I was desperate to try the local Goulash we decided to visit this restaurant which was round the corner from our hotel. It was not busy, though I suppose we were eating rather early. The goulash was delicious, there was plenty on the plate and the bill was a nice surprise. We were full by the end of the meal.
We spoke to another couple who went every night as the lady had to eat gluten free meals as they were provided there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maggiemaysc0tland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    242
    86
    44
    79
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Nice restaurant - and gluten free!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Nice, traditional Czech restaurant, with the added bonus of having a gluten free menu (they even asked us if we needed one, this is a first!). Good food, good beer (as always in Prague).

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ketilelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great meal in Prague, CZ.”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Our group of eight seniors had been to several well rated restaurants and just not satisfied with local food in a Family atmosphere. On our way to Old Town we came upon Svejk Restaurant. It was crowded with locals and that was our clue to try it. Our waitress was great and the service was quick. The evening turned into a wonderful experience and a great meal in Prague.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnkathy2029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Gluten free :) traditional Czech food”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We found this place online and tracked it down in the city. The food was so good. I am Czech and grew up eating steamed Czech dumpling before being diagnosed with a gluten allergy. Their GF Czech dumpling with pork roast and sauerkraut was perfect! Service was friendly, good amazing. No complaints!

Helpful?
Thank HanLando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesund, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cheap and good gluten-free food”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Very cheap and excellent service here - I just looked at the waiter after I'd gotten the normal menu, and he gave me the gluten-free one before I got to ask! The restaurant is more like a pub in the looks of it, but the food is really good and as a celiac you can be sure that the food you order is gluten-free, because they add a flag that says "gluten-free". It was very nice to taste traditional czech food even though I have celiac disease.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chiccabom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Svejk Restaurant U Karla also viewed

 
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to Svejk Restaurant U Karla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing