We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One pot for everything”
Review of Chanchala

Chanchala
Ranked #3,720 of 5,543 Restaurants in Prague
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“One pot for everything”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My wife and I have an Indian meal every Saturday night at home, so even on holiday we like our hit of curry spice. The Chanchala looks ok from the outside so we were tempted in.

I ordered the Chicken Madras, I would say I got 10 very small bits of Chicken in a very very dark sauce, it tasted ok but certainly not a Madras I am used to. The plain rice was ok and I ordered the Nan Aloo which was a bit flat but tasty. I had a beer and my wife had a very small and as it turned out expensive glass of house red wine.

Overall you get more genuine Indian flavours opening a Jar of sauce.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wico32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    22
    24
    12
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food.. Awesome staff.”
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely amazing! The waiter was awesome... Great/cheap hookah and the food was the best indian in prague. I've been here for 6 months and i'd rate it one of my best experience dining.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lamar33
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Probably the worst indian food restaurant I have been too and I have been to a few poor ones. The staff and atmosphere is good, but there is nothing indian about the food. We tried a few dishes and left everything we had. Definitely avoid this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PLVGPLRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exceptionally friendly service and dining”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I really enjoyed dining at "Chanchala." The food was exceptionally good combined with friendly, caring service. I had a wonderful experience there. The food was served quickly, and with a smile. I greatly appreciated the ambience of the restaurant. It is decorated in Indian style with quite lovely combination of colours. I thank the staff for the exceptional service they have provided. Cheers!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food in palladium mall”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

This is so near to my hotel as i stayed in ibis old town and this reataurant is in palladium mall, Ordered chicken jalfrezi and basmati curry rice, i liked the quality and taste of the food, although its little pricey compared to others indian restaurants.
Waitress asked me the tips finally as she told me its not included in the bill.
This can be tried once if you are around this area

Helpful?
Thank Hareesh N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Chanchala also viewed

 

Been to Chanchala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing