We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty great time in Prague”
Review of Red & Blue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red & Blue
Ranked #74 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pretty great time in Prague”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I have just returned from a long weekend in Prague. We stayed at this lovely little hotel about a 20 minute walk from Charles Bridge and the Old Town, 30 minutes walk from the Castle and 15 minutes walk from the New Town. The Red & Blue is very clean and well presented with a small breakfast room and bar. Breakfast has a good selection of continental but could do with a better variety of hot food if possible. The rooms have everything you are looking for along with tea and coffee making facilities, a few biscuits would be nice as well as a suggestion. My only note to add about the rooms are the noisy bathroom fans as they are very loud. The young blonde bar attendant was very pleasant and welcoming as were the reception staff. We ate at two very good restaurants close by an Italian called Carmelita on the way to Charles Bridge of which I can recommend as the food here was lovely and well priced. The best place we ate was called Vidlicky A Noze which was just down the road from the hotel, the food here was fantastic we had 3 steaks, 3 puddings and a bottle and a half of wine for £40.00, amazing. The Old Town is lovely in Prague but I cannot say the same about the New Town as it is better for the young and lively in search of young nightlife!!!
I would return to Prague and this hotel as for the price we paid I cannot complain at all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozzac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,152
    541
    80
    9
    3
See reviews for
183
1,086
81
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yardville, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed at this hotel while we visited the Christmas markets and what a pleasant surprise it was!! We paid so little for this trip we weren't expecting too much, but this was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at The rooms were large and looked brand new and had everything we needed and more. The bathroom was beautiful with a huge bathtub which was so welcoming after a day of walking round. Location was fantastic we walked everywhere and did not need a taxi once. I highly recommend this to anyone wanting to walk round the city, and it really did make our trip so special - a beautiful hotel and a magical city!!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the park have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limavady, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Hotel is very clean, staff friendly and helpful.

Rooms - we got a blue room, had a bath and seperate shower, his and her sinks - they provided soap, gel, shampoo and body wash. Plenty of wardrobe space, safe, mini bar, kettle, desk and 2 chairs. Lovely room

Breakfast - can't comment we never ate at the hotel

Location - great we walk everywhere was unsure about the trams but again we love walking to see all around us. at the hotel there is a tesco near. Turn right and head toward the centre at the junction striaght ahead will take you to the river, left is in the direction of Charles Bridge and some great food places, right at the junction very little we found.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Competa, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Went on a 3 night deal to Prague and were very fortunate to stay at this hotel. The location is good. It overlooks the Petrin Park, is quiet yet only 20 minutes walk from The Old Town or Charles Bridge. Trams run at the end of the street and we bought a 3 day tram pass and used it constantly, great after a late meal to hop on a tram to the end of the road. The hotel must have recently been modernised. The decore, fixtures and fittings of the bedroom and bathroom are excellent, with towel warming radiator in the bathroom. Lots of electric plugs, hairdryer, kettle, mini bar. Very comfortable bed and pillows. A very nice bar area. We are not breakfast people but one morning I had scrambled eggs and ham, very nice. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would certainly recommend.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor. All the rooms looked the same except for the colour.We went in December an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill675682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We are currently here at the Red and Blue Design hotel in Prague. Lovely hotel! We are here for my birthday break for 5nights and we think we chose well: modern, clean hotel, staff are helpful and friendly. Breakfast is great: for those reviews that criticised breakfast I really can't think why: we haven't needed lunch for the past 2days! We have a blue room which is lovely, my husband's only criticism is that I now want a new shower room at home! Location: 20minute walk to Old Town which is fine for us.... Agree with the guide books: could do it quicker by tram, etc. But why would you want to, we are here to see Prague! only sad thing thing about Prague is the amount of graffiti on lovely buildings.... But otherwise a magical christmassy break....and still two more days to go! Excited :)

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StrawbUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk united kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4nights, lovely clean room & bathroom was spotless. The hotel staff were helpful and very polite & pleasant.
The location of this hotel is perfect for walking into all parts of the city, it took us about 20minutes to walk to the old town, it was nice to walk back after a days shopping or evening out and it be quiet & away from the crowds. The breakfast was nice with a good selection catering for all tastes. I would love to visit Prague again & would definitely stay here again!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank zedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. They told us about the local area and where we could buy tram tickets and where to eat locally. The hotel was very clean and the bedrooms were in good condition. We were on the sixth floor so it was a bit hot in our room. That was the only down side. The breakfast was very good. We thought we had a problem with our shower which was not the case but the receptionist came to our room within five minutes

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#66 of 649 in Prague
2,101 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 649 in Prague
1,609 reviews
Praha 8
Jurys Inn Hotel Prague
Jurys Inn Hotel Prague
#60 of 649 in Prague
2,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Occidental Praha Five
Occidental Praha Five
#112 of 649 in Prague
1,471 reviews
Praha 2
Park Inn Hotel Prague
Park Inn Hotel Prague
#57 of 649 in Prague
2,333 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#67 of 649 in Prague
1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red & Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red & Blue

Property: Red & Blue
Address: Holechkova 366/13, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Red & Blue 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Red & Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing