We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again”
Review of Red & Blue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red & Blue
Ranked #75 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was our last of many around Europe and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Room was very comfortable and quite and modern. Bed was very nice and there was even options for you to request other pillow sizes. Great location - you can walk anywhere from here really! Great restaurants just 5 min walk away and 5 mins walk to a big shopping mall. Taxi service they organised us to the airport was very reasonably priced compared to another one we had organised ourselves. Breakfast was very good! And about 5 english TV channels which beat anywhere else we had visited in Europe. Thanks again!!

Thank Katrina T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,861)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

724 - 730 of 1,862 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

Had such a fantastic stay here. Just a lovely place to come back to after a day out and about.
Bathroom was huge with a nice shower (shower head a little low, but no big deal). Bet was so comfortable although I'm always confused why they put separate duvets on double beds.
Air conditioning worked well.
Easy access to the tram lines to the centre, although the walk is lovely.
Would love to come back!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in September. Location was very good across from the largest urban park in Prague. Quiet even though on a rather busy street. Close to transportation, about 5 minute walk to tram station. Staff was very friendly and knowledgable. Breakfast was very good with lots of selections. Ordered a taxi to the train station through reception for 10 Euros. Wifi was available in the room and they had a computer that you could use if you had no Wifi gadget. Checked in early in morning, around 11 AM and room was ready. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Olle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in September, the hotel is only a little walk away from the Charles bridge leading into the historical centre, perfect really, nice and quiet away from the crowds.
The hotel is very modern, all the facilities were fantastic, bed comfy, nice sized room and some English speaking channels on the TV!! Catch the number 9 tram there very easy, we found the girls in reception very helpful, they gave us maps, explained the best things to do and best way to miss the busiest time to see the many sights.
I would stay again if I return to Prague, great value for money. As previously mentioned in other reviews, doing a free walking tour is a great way to learn about all the historical sights in the city, there are a number of them where the Astronomical clock is, we took 1 of these tours which a number of people just disappeared pretty early on during the tour. Our tour guide was actually still drunk from the previous night watching the football, he was very animated and pretty embarrassing, we stayed for the whole tour more out of pity. I think I would do a paid tour if I went back.

Room Tip: Stayed on the 6th floor, nice view of the park. Blue room nice big bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Not going to go into much details on the points everyone has already covered - good location, 20 minutes walk one way you're at Charles Bridge, 30 minutes the other way you'll be in Wenceslas Square. Large covered shopping centre (M&S etc.) just a few minutes walk away (ask at Reception), just in case you need a pharmacy etc.

Hotel itself - clean and modern, not sure about the plastic chairs in the breakfast room, makes it look a bit cheap. Breakfast is a bit hit and miss, okay on two mornings not so on our last day.

We had a room on the 6th floor - veluxe roof window so no view to speak of (unless you stand on tip toe) overlooking the park. Very quiet and pitch black when the window blind pulled down which for us was great, bed not the most comfortable but that's down to personal choice. You can request a different pillow from the 'pillow menu'. TV in the room will say 'no broadcast' on the BBC news channel which isn't correct, just click and it's there.

Staff were very helpful trying to trace our lost luggage and supplying an adaptor and basic amenities - we were in Prague for three nights and spent two of them without our bag but that's another story! The hotel management left a box of chocolates in our room on our wedding anniversary - a nice touch.

Return airport transfer booked easily by e-mail with the hotel, efficient service at a competitive price.

We took one of the many 'free' walking tours offered from the Astronomical Clock meeting area, a good way to see and learn about things that you would probably miss walking around on your own. Please make sure to give a tip, for a lot of the guides this is their full time job. A few people on our tour just 'disappeared' towards the end - that's just mean and rude.

Nice Italian restaurant, Carmelita is within easy walking distance of the hotel - great when you don't want to walk far or get a taxi.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim-Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Found this hotel on the internet and it lived up to its good reviews. Helpful and efficient staff. I asked in advance for a blue room with a bath which I got. I also asked for help with transfers to and from the airport which were arranged through the hotel about 40 euro return with no hassle. Check in was fast and efficient the staff work efficiently without fuss. The room on the 4th floor was very clean, plush carpet and with views over the park/gardens which was refreshing. Everything looked new and was stylishly designed. Beds were extremely comfortable and had great nights sleep (3 nights). There is a menu if you want different duvets or pillows. Can't fault it. There are welcomed coffee & tea making facilities in the room. All mod cons provided. The bathroom is relaxing with deep bath and waterfall shower, nice toiletries provided. Reception staff were helpful with maps and tram tickets and also posted our cards for us on the last day. The breakfast room is bright, modern & clean with a wide variety of rolls, cereals, cakes yoghurt, fruit, czech sandwiches even things like pasta as well as 3 cooked items each day of either scrambled egg, fried egg, bacon, sausages etc., good coffee. Can sit outside and enjoy a sunny side up breakfast! Bar area is comfortable, quiet and relaxing and had well served tea.Hotel is away from the main centre so is peaceful and very quiet but is only about 15 minutes walk to St Nicholas church and Charles bridge & main sites from there. There is a tram at the bottom of the road number 9 goes to the new town & the 22 is useful too think it goes to the castle area but did go round in circles a bit with the tram (the names all being in Czech! Simple once you know how though). Prague itself is excellent with different characters to the old town new town, mala strana and castle district as well as Kampa park which is very relaxing to have a drink by the Vltava & boat trip. There is an interesting museum in the park opposite the hotel about how the people used to live. Can walk up to the top of the gardens/park with fabulous views over the city. Highly recommend this hotel with its comfortable pleasant facilites, well designed and plush rooms with good quality items and furnishings, attention to detail and well run. Also very quiet. Would definately use the hotel again & may well do as get a discount for use in any of their other hotels in different cities. Thanks Red & Blue for a great stay in Prague.

Room Tip: Can request which room you would like eg red or blue -with bath, hotel is accommodating, nice view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sojourner2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We loved this hotel, we had read ahead of time about the location.. it is about a 15-20min walk to the old square and the touristy part of Prague. This turned out to be great for us because despite it being September, there were SO many tourists in the Old Town Square and on the Charles Bridge. We really enjoyed being away from that area, felt more "authentic", and right across the street from the park!

PROS:

Brand new hotel, very clean and very modern.. designed very well
Location - for us, the location was a bonus as we were sick and tired of being trampled by other tourists (so as long as you like to walk, you'll enjoy the location).
Breakfast had best variety I've ever seen in Europe - still Euro-style, but had rotating selection of hot foods like eggs, bacon, sausages (which us North American's liked)
Staff were very friendly
We had a room on the 6th floor (top floor), which had a skylight which you could open. We had fun peaking our head out and overlooking the park.

CONS:

Shower lost hot water during the morning times (around 8:30-9AM), not sure if this is an issue in Prague in general or just overusage in the building. Also, my partner is 6'1 (tall guy) and the slop of the top floor made the shower layout a bit awkward - the shower head came up to his armpit! This was awkward for him, hilarious from my perspective, and was not a big enough issue to cause us to not return.

Overall, I'd recommend this hotel very highly to friends and family. We booked using booking.com or hotelsclick.com something like that, and ended up paying 89/night Canadian. So may be worthwhile to check discount sites instead of booking with them directly (a sign at the hotel said rooms were $120 euro/night and upwards. The only potential negative could be location for someone who wants to be in the heart of the Old Square. I think to be out of the city ( a little bit) to get a brand new hotel, is well worth it. Plus, there was awesome graffiti and neat things to photograph in our neighbourhood since the streets were empty in comparison to the busy tourist areas. Very safe area, no issues at all.

P.S. on your walk into town, you pass a Mexican restaurant called Catanas (or something like that). You must eat there (but make a reservation on a weekend). I know Mexican food isn't something you'd expect in Prague but I had the best Mexican food I've had (outside of Mexico) and their Mojitos were the best I've had in my life!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Park Inn Hotel Prague
Park Inn Hotel Prague
#49 of 646 in Prague
2,484 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 646 in Prague
1,697 reviews
Praha 5
Occidental Praha Five
Occidental Praha Five
#111 of 646 in Prague
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#65 of 646 in Prague
1,842 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#97 of 646 in Prague
907 reviews
Praha 8
pentahotel Prague
pentahotel Prague
#84 of 646 in Prague
2,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red & Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red & Blue

Address: Holechkova 366/13, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: $55 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red & Blue 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red & Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing